We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Big Thank You”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Big Thank You”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We would like to thank Barb and her team for arranging the beautiful flowers and cake for our daughter who has just spent 3 nights staying at the Ponduk Ayu for her 21st Birthday.
She was so surprised and thrilled with them.
Nothing was a problem and we found their team to be extremely accommodating, friendly and the facilities were top class.
We want to thank you Barb and your team for making our daughters stay a happy and memorable experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank warrenjog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb_Bennett, Manager at Pondok Ayu, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you it was a pleasure for us all at Pondok Ayu to be able to add to the celebration of your daughters 21st.

Manager Gede Kataya and all staff at Pondok Ayu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    42
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
125
174
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here and for the price, it is fantastic. The room is nice, pool is clean and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. Everything was well organised and the staff go out of their way to be helpful. Sanur is great with a mix of restaurants, beach and night life. Will definitely be back next time we are in bali.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My friends and I had a very good time at Pondok Ayu. The resort was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Gede (hotel manager) and the team were very helpful and friendly. Gede took us to many different spots from 9am to 9pm almost everyday. He also helped me to order furnitures and even organised the shipment for me. All in all, the experience at Pondok was absolutely fantastic. I'll recommand the resort to my friends if they want to go Bali for holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I've been here quiet a few times now and what stands out the most is the calm and relaxing atmosphere. Yes it's 15 minutes walk to the beach yes it's hot and if you don't want to experience walking through the neighbourhood for some culture, stay at the Hyatt! It's not a guest house but a boutique hotel and that is the charm of it! The staff are lovely and helpful and the service is awesome. I guess for me I've stayed at many places before I discovered here and was relieved, no sewerage smells, beautifully kept and really relaxing. If the drivers are busy and can't pick u up it cost $3 for a cab which is what I do when I don't want to walk home with all my shopping lol. It's about 5 mins walk to start of markets so easy enough, they let you use Their push bikes too which was fun riding the backstreets and taking in local culture. It's about $80 for a night I think and well worth it!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was our first stay at Pondok Ayu and we cannot recommend it enough, a return visit is without a doubt a must now each time we return to Bali. We found the accommodation to be extremely clean and inviting, great value and attention to detail a clear priority. The rooms are extremely spacious and well kept, comfortable beds and we appreciated the small touches of this small boutique hotel and its relaxing atmosphere. We cannot fault the food, every meal that we had on the premises was fresh and delicious.
As for the staff, there are no words other than simply amazing. At every opportunity they are going out of there way for all guests, nothing was to much trouble.... absolutely nothing. The professionalism, warm and accommodating nature of each and every one of them made all the difference to our stay and we found it very hard to say goodbye. A very personalised stay in every aspect at a home away from home. We are very thankful for the service we received and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larrissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We spent 2 weeks at Pondok Ayu with our family over Christmas and New Year, our second stay at Pondok. The staff is always friendly and go out of their way to help and ensure that you have a wonderful stay. The rooms are large and are kept immaculate. We love the intimacy of the small setting around the pool, dining area and having a gazebo set up for all your pampering needs. Located in a residential area it is within walking distance to the beach, shopping and restaurants or a quick drive with the Pondok driver or taxi.
Thank you to the Pondok family for a relaxing and special holiday. We look forward to returning again soon.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Narelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent our first New Year in Bali at Pondok Ayu (have stayed there 5 times now) Again it was fabulous. We just love the whole set-up, the rooms are so clean and have everything we needed, the pool is perfect, staff unbelievably friendly and helpful. Food, drinks and laundry are very cheap and the food is so fresh and yummy. Thanks to everyone at Pondok Ayu. We will be back but book early as it's always very heavily booked. Terima kasih

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
0.5 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#2 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Property: Pondok Ayu
Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done direct with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur
Pondok Ayu Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing