We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish this was my home”
Review of Pondok Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pondok Ayu
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Bunbury Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wish this was my home”
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Enjoyed the most wonderful stay at Pondok Ayu recently with partner and friends. This is a small boutique hotel which would give most others a run for their money. I've been to Bali 22-25 times but never seen such a clean and well run little outfit. Staff are absolutely wonderful, very energetic, well trained, extremely polite and went out of their way to ensure all guests enjoyed their stay. Our rooms were perfect, even DVD players were provided, the pool was always clean as were the grounds, rooms, kitchen etc.Only downfall was the distance from the beach but a driver was nearly always available to run us there or to restaurants at night.
Made, Gede, staff and the owner Barbara are to be congratulated on Pondok Ayu and I would stay there every time if I could get in- it is just so popular.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlynn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    43
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
127
179
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2009

My wife and I stayed at Pondok Ayu recently and shared some of our time here with a couple of close freinds. Put simply, we had the best time - so much of it thanks to the wonderful people at Pondok Ayu.

We've been to Bali a number of times and always stayed at larger resorts in Sanur and Kuta, so this was a real change for us and one which we are thankful for. It was like being at home - you feel immediately welcomed and comfortable.

Pondok is small (only 4 suites), beautifully maintained, quiet and you wish for nothing - the staff will make sure of that!! Gede, Made and the entire staff are the most beautiful people and sincerely want to make your stay the best possible. Gede said to me "We try and make it perfect, but we know that is not always possible, but we still try." and they do - you will want for nothing.

Free transport in the Sanur area (until 10pm evert night) is such a great convenience, and it is always done with a smile. The staff are always full of helpful information that will make your stay stress free and so relaxing. They also have several push bikes available for hire, so it was a great experience to ride around Sanur at our leisure and experience yet another side of this great place.

The rooms are large, spotless and very comfortable (brand new air conditioning), the pool is welcomed in the heat of the day and the manicured grounds make it impossible not to relax as soon as you walk through the gate. They can even arrange a massage by the pool, which we indulged in several times - wonderful!

The fact that Pondok Ayu is not on the beach (an easy ten minute walk) will not suit everyone, but in never bothered us at all - it was always like coming home to a quiet secluded haven.

Our stay at Pondok Ayu was beautiful and if we had room in out suitcases we'd have been tempted to bring the staff home with us - they are special people you immediately feel at home with and make your stay something very special. Barbara, the owner of Pondok was staying while we were there - she is a lovely lady and her care for the staff and her attention to detail are to be congratulated.

Simply wonderful - thank you Barbara, Gede, Made and the entire staff.

We'll be back next year, so there's the best endorsement you can ask for!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthAustraliaDkaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

for anyone who wants to know where it is ( google earth ) lat 8 41' 10.25" S long 115 15' 26.5" E . its a great small hotel (4 rooms ,5 if they rent the residence) . its very reasonably priced . the cleaning and meals were very good . the complimentary transport had to be arranged in advance as it was usually on full day private tour. the walk to the beach at a leisurely pace took 35 min and required crossing the Ngurah Rai bypass. the staff were happy to call you a taxi which cost Rph 30,000 ( Au $3.50) to get to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan uk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Stayed at Pondok Ayu for nearly 3 weeks it was wonderful.The staff were superb really friendly and caring nothing was too much trouble.The guests come and go, all nationalities to make friends with at breakfast or when in the pool.A most memorable stay hope to go back soon to visit this little gem, small and beautiful describe Pondok Ayu.
Lynne and Tony Brisco
Hindley Green Wigan

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choengmon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at Pondok Ayu. This is our second holiday to Bali and has to be the best yet. We discovered Pondok Ayu two years ago on our first visit and all I can say is how incredibly lucky we were to have had the opportunity to be a guest there. Everyone at Pondok made us feel welcome from those that work there to the other guests. How fantastic to be greeted by your first name from the moment you arrive - and even a wave off from the gate when we sadly had to come home. We are already planning our next visit and hope to be able to stay at Pondok - it would be difficult to want to stay anywhere else!!

Lynn and Mark Dickinson. Leicester. Oct.Nov 2009

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnbalimark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Thankyou to Gede, Made, Putu and all the staff who helped make our stay so wonderful. We were travelling with our 2 1/2 yr old and I have to say it is the perfect place with children. There are only a max. of 4 other couples staying in the place so it's like a family. This is not the place to go if you prefer anonymity, or resort crowds, but we loved how friendly and small Pondok was. The rooms are very private, immaculately clean and with all the mod cons, even a DVD player! Walking through town to the beach was brilliant, food, shopping stalls, even a department store before you get to the balmy beach drag to relax at one of the many cafes. I have to recommend Pregina's restaurant for stylish balinese cuisine and Kojuk cafe just next to Pondok for brilliant local food and incredibly low prices. Gede will help with everything so there is nothing to worry about with Pondok. A most beautiful and memorable stay - Also a big thankyou to Barbara for being so incredibly helpful and accommodating with our booking - you have a beautiful place!!!

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank le_corb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Pondok Ayu has to be the most lovely hotel ive ever stayed in, the hotel itself only had a few rooms which makes it much more personal, and the pool and garden were just beautiful.

For the value the rooms are just awsome! they are huge and have everything you could possibly need, the manager of the hotel Gede and his family live on site and the most friendly family you could meet, they went out of their way to make our stay amazing and gede provided transport into and back from sanur at any time.

Sanur itself is packed with beachside restaurants, serving beautiful food and many allowing you to sit on the sand at a price u would pay for a takeaway in the uk!! Its a much quieter than bustling kuta but still has plenty to offer, we really enjoyed the orchid garden and we also met some friendly fishermen who took us out on their boat to do some snorkelling (would recommend you let them take u out because we tried to swim out ourselves and the tide dragged us out to sea!!)

Breakfast allowed us to mingle with other guests of all different nationalities, it was lovely and was cooked to order on site by the managers family.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.
Thank you to the owner and gede and his family for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwsjpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.4 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
0.5 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Ayu

Property: Pondok Ayu
Address: Jl. Sekuta Pudak no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Ayu is a little piece of heaven located in beautiful Sanur, Bali. We are a small boutique hotel that provides very personalised service by our wonderful friendly staff. Winning Trip Advisor travellers' choice awards for 5 (2011-2016) consecutive years and the honour of being in their hall of fame, also a second best budget hotel in all of Asia makes Pondok Ayu Sanur Bali a perfect place for your next holiday. Pondok Ayu can be booked on a room by room basis or you can book the entire hotel for a group or family holiday, this can be done directly with us or through a travel agent. We are surrounded by splendid gardens and a wonderful peaceful setting. As we fell in love with Bali many years ago I am sure you will do the same thing with Pondok Ayu and the atmosphere here. Sanur is in a very good position as it is at the start to most of your tours and central to Kuta, Legian, Nusa Dua and Denpasar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pondok Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Ayu Hotel Sanur
Pondok Ayu Sanur
Pondok Ayu Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing