We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want fantastic food, great service and peace & quiet, then this is the place for you.”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #69 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you want fantastic food, great service and peace & quiet, then this is the place for you.”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The staff were always friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were decorated beautifully and always clean. The food was amazing. The villas are away from traffic noise and it is so peaceful, all you can hear is the sound of the Ayung river. Have never felt so relaxed after a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelandSheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    94
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
534
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Our stay at villa Semana was everything we wanted, secluded, quiet, scenic with wonderful staff and great food.
Having first been to Bali in the early 70's and ten times since, we are always looking for
accomodation away from the tourists and traffic, and here we found it.
Well placed among the rice fields and the Ayung river and just off the beaten roads to Ubud is Villa Semana.
The rooms were well serviced twice a day, the restaurant food was marvellous (thanks to Chef Alit) and the staff discrete, prompt and friendly.

Room Tip: all rooms viewed were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guzunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2011

These villas are amazing, The pool is stunning. The atmosphere so relaxed. the staff incredibly friendly. I have honestly never stayed anywhere as amazing. I thoroughly recommend this for any couple looking to relax, enjoy each others company and bask in the delight that is Ubud.

Not a place for families, making it so much more relaxing for those looking for some quiet time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hayleyfaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Phils
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We arrived in Bali on the eve of Nyepi (Balinese New Year and Day of Silence). We were prepared for a boring time the following day since people are not allowed on the streets during Nyepi. We were wrong! It was a delight spending the whole day at Villa Semana - marvelous view, super fresh air and delicious food. Our villa was a sweet spot and our spa experience really divine. Jurg, the resort's amiable owner, entertained us with many interesting and funny stories. Anyone staying at the resort should plan on spending a day enjoying its environs and spa.

The staff are friendly and yet discreet. Janawan, the resort's driver who drove us around Bali was fluent in English and taught us so much about Balinese culture and family life. He was very patient and obliged our little whims, like going a bit out of the way for gelato or driving by Ketut Liyer's place.

We come from a country with beautiful beaches so we really chose to experience Bali's culture rather than its beaches. Villa Semana, with its proximity to art galleries, woodcarving workshops and dance performance venues, was a perfect choice for us.

One thing that can be improved is the quality of the mattress and pillows. They're comfortable enough but not yet 5-star hotel quality.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTraveltheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suter_Singapore_Bali, Owner at Villa Semana, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Thank you very much for your kind and constructive comments.
We much appreciate that you enjoyed your stay - especially over Nyepi.
And we have taken your suggestion for a mattress-topper at heart - already we offer the optional softener to our guests - anything to make the stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Thus looking forward to having your and your friends back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

The most wonderful staff made our stay at this magic location even more memorable. Buried deep in the rice paddies Villa Semana is a real back to nature experience with all the luxuries travelers are seeking. Wonderful food in an open air pavilion listening to the sounds of the river rushing by. Silent nights in our villa with late night dips into our own plunge pool. Magic massages in the riverside spa. It was all perfection. Not too fancy, not to rugged. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The 4 nights were great could not fault our stay fantastic location peaceful and scenic .Hotel food would be some of the best I have had anywhere you got to try the Bubur Ayam ‘rice porridge’ for breakfast to is just to good .plenty of shuttle bus time to choose from, the driver of the shuttle bus excellent for some people that feel uneasy about driving in bail he was very cautious and you felt safe with him. The owner and staff made you feel verry welcome and were interested in who you were and were you are from
Stayed in the paddy field villa “Villa Katalia“
I would not have any second thoughts in staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel 2nights, this was a good hotel we have stayed in our tour.Loved this hotel . Nothing much to add to previous rave reviews except that we got a fantastic offer for a grand deluxe suite where if we bought one night at full rack rate the second night was ‘free’. It doesn’t appear to be available now but worth keeping your eyes peeled as the suite was fantastic and at that price a complete bargain.
Breakfast was not included in this rate so we had coffee and fruit in our suite each morning we got exactly what we wanted, exactly on time and no where near as pricy as the buffet.
We will come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harryress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#25 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#67 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#22 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#52 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#60 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing