We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway into nature”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #74 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2011

the villa is beautifully placed amidst nature .....lovely rice fields and a river...
the interiors are pretty except for a few mossies and insects during the evening hours..
service was good ..overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: i guess all are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocKhushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

Overall the stay was excellent, the villa is beautiful and the grounds as well and very nicely kept. The service was outstanding and they tried to accommodate us with all our needs. The only minor setback was been in the outskirts of Ubud but their shuttle service was always available and punctual upon request so it made the distance a negligible point.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderforjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We were there for three nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Right from the Swiss proprietor Jorg who made it a point to spend time with us and give us valuable information about Ubud to all the other staff including the chauffeur we felt very welcomed and nothing was too big for them to address. We were able to use the shuttle as and when we needed it, even to pick us up after dinner or after a show in town.
Our room was a beautiful fusion of Balinese and contemporary decor. The beds and pillows were best we had on our trip . We loved that we had a private pool, the outdoor shower was quaint and interesting.
The restaurant was in a charming location beside an infinity pool at the edge of the hill amongst beautifully laid out Balinese gardens and gurgling brooks we just could not take enough pictures !
I am glad I did manage to squeeze in an experience at their superb spa, in a dream location beside a waterfall and the rushing Agung river.
We would certainly return and definitely recommend it .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank culturegalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I spent 5 days at Villa Semana in May, our first trip to Bali. Prior to checking in at Villa Semana we stayed at another hotel villa of similar size located in Seminyak. I cannot begin to tell you how unhappy I was with the Seminyak area, even though our villa was quite nice. Still trying to figure out why so many want to stay there. The beaches are not great, the traffic is horrible, and you really feel know you are in a third world country. Not my idea of a dream vacation, nor was it the image I had in my mind of Bali. Our vacation was for almost 3 weeks and I felt like I had made a horrible decision to spend this much time in Bali.

However the minute our driver pulled into the beautiful Villa Semana property my heart lifted. The setting is stunning, right on the Ayung river. Our villa had a view of the rice paddies, the river and gardens. It was lovely. The staff is absolutely exceptional in every way, from the adorable young man who checked us into our room, to the efficient, always smiling dining room staff ("Ani" is so sweet and Sukarma is a character), to the drivers. All are better than any staff at the Four Seasons, Aman resorts or anywhere else. The owner seems to be a tough guy to work for as he demands perfection, but it does pay off. The hotel and grounds are absolutely pristine. The food in the dining room is outstanding and it's as good as any we had in Ubud. (Especially the Thai selections). Breakfast is amazing, you can order almost anything. The shuttle to Ubud runs quite often and it's only a 15 minute trip. Loved staying outside of town for the peace, quite, and the natural beauty. (The hotel is in the Sayan area outside Ubud). We had spa treatments every other day. Don't miss the spa! The ladies there are also very well trained and you will not experience a more delightful setting. The massage beds are just above the river. There is a waterfall you can see and hear from the massage area , and sometimes you see Balinese washing and swimming in the river from the spa. We also saw this daily life on the river from our room-just fascinating.

This is the real Bali in our opinion. Vila Semana will not disappoint unless you want non-stop nightlife, crowds, and noise. It is also a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thesurfmeetstheturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

As this was my first visit to Bali, I wanted to stay somewhere different from the multi rooms hotels that we were so used to. We were pleasantly surprised with Villa Semana. From the moment we meet the driver at the airport, we know the hotel has set a certain high standard. We were given cold towels and drinks in the car which was refreshing after the flight to Bali. Janawan the driver is a careful driver who gave us a smooth ride to the hotel. The hotel grounds is nicely landscaped and we had a good view of the Padi fields and the rushing Agung river. We has Balinese massage at the spa which was so relaxing. Service was ver good too. The staff at the restaurant were always so welcoming and they speak good English. Food served was delicious too. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat to relax in a natural Balinese ubud, this place is it ! Free shuttle service is also provided to go to ubud town. The hotel owner, Jurg also offered us good advice on places to sightsee or eat in Bali. This is one hotel you will love to stay and will not disappoint. Wished we had stayed longer. Will come back again. Our trip to Bali was made memorable mainly due to our stay in villa Semana.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

property was simply superb.. the villas were limited but location n services were excellent. no doubts in its services. we had veg food n they managed for us. the location of villas, pool n spa is delightfull. one can simply get out of the world n relax to the fullest. had great time n would highly recommend to go for a stay. the area is hilly n beautiful. one can enjoy the pleasure of a hill station in ubud,bali.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaidehibhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

It is an ideal example of hospitality... Service was beyond the expectations. No doubt property was not very very big but the location of villas, pool, restaurant; out standing service; joyfull staff and romantic spa left the marks of memories for ever. Staff was very co-operative in all manner and specially as far as veg food. If you get avaibility of Chemapaka Villa don't miss it...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KParikh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 199 in Ubud
657 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#19 of 199 in Ubud
436 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 199 in Ubud
841 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#56 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#63 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £102 - £485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing