We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place in the Balinese countryside”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #76 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We spent 3 nights at Villa Semana and wished we had a least one more night to have the time to just relax at our villa and enjoy the amenities of the resort. We booked one of the rooms that shares a common wall with another room. Each has a separate entrance and it's own pool. The room was beautifully detailed with art and personal touches (a sweet baked every night for guests was left during turn-down service), and the bathroom was spacious with a deep tub and tropical outdoor shower. The only drawback of our villa (called Lily) was that the common wall with the other half of the duplex was thin so sound traveled very easily. We actually needed earplugs the first night when our neighbors arrived late. And their morning alarm actually woke us up too. Other than that, our stay was relaxed and we enjoyed the seclusion and quiet of the countryside.

We had no trouble with Villa Semana being 20-30 minutes outside of downtown Ubud. There are many interesting little neighboring villages that were less commercialized and had better quality arts and crafts. We also wanted to get away from civilization a bit. We had a little trouble finding Villa Semana when arriving from Amed (had spent 3 nights there diving), but our local driver just kept asking for directions once we felt we were in the general vicinity. (Their map online isn't too detailed, not that there are street signs anyway!)

Room Tip: Stay in an individual villa if you can afford it...sound travels between the common wall in the dupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearl-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

Off the beaten track location, a few km off central Ubud, after having walked our way through beautiful gardens up to our villa, we finally reached for the central pavillion hosting the restaurant of Villa Semana (only a few tables, a very quiet place). From there, your sight is caught by an infinity pool overviewing a fantastic scenery : the river Ayung lies 50 m beneath, its waters lazilly passing through a wonderful curve, just in front of the place !!!
At 5 pm, you can here the laughters of the children bathing in the river echoing in the woods.
Special mention to Villa Semana staff, trying anything to please you and serve you better.
We were lucky enough to be welcomed by the Owner, a very pleasing person with nice stories to tell about his long experience as expatriate ; plenty of nice recommendations about Bali/Ubud.
May we recommend the romantic spa cession for 2 persons, in the privacy of a traditional joglo pavillion along the river...
Our stay was an enjoyable one, and will remain a nice memory.
We'll come back !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altaslr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My partner and I stayed in august for the start of our trip to bail. The rooms were spacious, very clean on combatable and the villas pool was lovely. Check in was easy, they provided fruit everyday and afternoon tea to your room each day. It is only a short trip from the centre of Ubud and they provide a shuttle every hour. The day spa is magical, a must if you stay here. There was so many staff to help you with any of your requests at anytime of the day, they were all very friendly. Such a relaxing place to stay, it was the high light of our trip, although it is more suited I think for couples..... The only down side was the wifi in the rooms was a little slow, they did have a computer for all guests to use at the restaurant which was much quicker.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MishEl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed here over the summer and were very impressed with the hotel and our room. Villa Semana is in a beautiful setting--it's peaceful, quiet, and right in between the river and rice paddies. The staff is kind and hardworking.
Two drawbacks--it's a 30 minute ride into central Ubud (even though it's only a few miles, it consistently takes 30 minutes to get there) which isn't a HUGE deal, but sort of annoying when trying to plan dinners, etc. They have a shuttle but it only runs at specific times. Otherwise you take a cab (which is pretty inexpensive).
The main drawback is the owner, who we and other guests at the hotel found to be overbearing and arrogant. He hung around constantly to hobnob with the guests, some of whom seemed to find it appealing and others who couldn't stand it (two other couples staying at the resort mentioned to us how much he bothered them).
Even the staff looked miserable around him and, while they didn't openly criticize him, did make several comments about how he is a tough person to work for.
He pushes the activities that are offered by the hotel and badmouths activities run by outside companies. He doesn't seem to have much good to say about any restaurant or activity that he doesn't recommend. And the biggest problem is that he is always hanging around, to the point that we avoided spending time in the beautiful common areas of the hotel because we were tired of talking to him. Introducing yourself and welcoming guests is one thing, but everyone is there for privacy and peace and quiet, not to hang out with the hotel owner.
All in all, we'd recommend this place, and would go back, but would make sure it's during a time that the owner is away in Singapore!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
9  Thank Annika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We heard a lot of good things from our friends and how beautiful the resort was. Now we have to agree 100 % with them. We stayed at one of the Villas called "Villa Cempaka", It was a 2 story villa with a pool and a view of beautiful river run through.

The management team and all the staff treated us like their VIPs. They made our stayed very special with 5 star-service.

We highly recommend Villa Semana for anyone who look for an exclusive getaway with wonderful local and western cuisine , wonderful spa treatment at a wonderful serenity resort.

Room Tip: An exclusive resort with beautiful view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mar k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My husband & I had a wonderful stayed at Villa Semana. The resort is very beautiful and exclusive place. Our Villa was one of the prefect place that we ever stayed. We had a pool at our villa with looking out to the river with running through our villa.

It was the most romantic sunset we had ever seen.

We highly recommended any couples who want to celebrate their 1st, 2nd honeymoon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ang_Kana84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is not a big hotel (10 villas) and this is great as you feel in a small village !
The staff is very friendly, the service is quick.
You have to experience the spa ! Great situation near the Ayung river.
We also experienced the morning walk which was nice as the hotel guide is very friendly.
I had a yoga lesson, one of the best I never had ! The teacher comes to the hotel and the yoga lesson takes place in front of the river...magic !
The shuttle to Ubud is also very efficient.
We liked very much our 3 nights there. This is a good address that we will recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 199 in Ubud
660 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 199 in Ubud
850 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,046 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#58 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#65 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £121 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing