We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own private estate”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #74 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and it was like having a small private estate with staff. Villa nice and comfortable with paddy field coming up to pool, in the countryside and lots of nature. Lots of butterflys. The major excitement of the day was the farmer coming to check his field. We were able to watch the odd firefly from the pool at night. Service discreet but comprehensive. Jurgen the owner probably a bit of a perfectionist as gardens and Villas tastefully kept and he made sure everything went well. Staff really felt welcoming. Good food and prices reasonable by European standards. We didn't feel the need to go wandering during our stay as was very comfortable. It is reasonably convenient to Ubud if you do feel the urge, about 10-15 minute shuttle or taxi ride. Great location by the river and unique spa location. Hardly ever saw other guests as quiet period and only a small number of Villas in the estate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Villa Semana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

my husband and i we spent 4 days of our honeymoon at villa semana Dec. 2012 , and really cant describe how much this place is amazing . not only the place and its location but also the people are very welcoming and soo helpful and can provide you with all the information you need , also the owner of villa semana is really welcoming he helped us with sooo many tips that really helped us throughout our stay and he guided us to places to visit and from where to buy souvenirs that arent so much expensive as well as villa semana provided us with amazing services the free shuttle for the center of ubud with really nice drivers as well as the professional cook and really delicious food at reasonable prices you can also find them at anytime and they are really willing to help you and make your stay as comfortable as they can . simply all i can say you ll miss alot if u dont visit this place while ur stay and honestly it worth every single penny .
P.S: villa semana staff has the best smile ever :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eman y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

An incredibly wonderful experience ... Fine attention to detail in rendering an authentically Balinese atmosphere. The room was immaculate and the staff splendidly warm, genuine and attentive. A special commendation must also go to the Owner/General Manager, Jurg Suter, whose meticulous customer service levels raised the bar for us irreversibly! Utterly charming visit! We shall return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DineshSenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

A very special place, fantastic attention to detail, and a continuously personal note.
Highlights of my stay were a massage at the spa overlooking the magical river which was one of the best massages I have had, and several yoga classes with Lily, a most insightful yoga teacher!
Impatient to go back already!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We had three nights at Villa Semana staying in the Kamboja residence. As a family of four with my wife and two children aged 17 and 12 we differed from the usual couples demographic that provides consistent praise through Trip Advisor. That said we did not at any stage feel out of place would thoroughly recommend Villa Semana to families with older children. Some of the highlights were:
Our villa - comprised a king sized bed on the ground floor and a queen upstairs. The is a beautiful bathroom with outdoor shower downstairs and a small ensuite upstairs. The arrangement gives ample privacy to all. Outside there was a private pool and sun lounges allowing us the option of private swimming if we did not feel like using the main pool.
The personal touch. Within 30 minutes of arriving we were greeted by name by staff in the restaurant. Immediately staff took the trouble to learn all our names and use them in greeting us on our many visits to dine. Full marks to Swastika, the head waiter, who did this so well in addition to providing us with immaculate service. In taking our personal details when we checked in staff noticed that our eldest son was celebrating his birthday during our visit. He was greeted at breakfast by wishes of "happy birthday" and later, in the afternoon, three staff delivered a cake to our villa singing happy birthday to him. We had not said a word about his birthday - it was entirely at the instigation of the staff.
The location. Whilst the villas are 15m or so out of Ubud the shuttle service is excellent. The drop off/ pick up point is in central Ubud allowing plenty of flexibility. It runs like clockwork. The actual location of the villas, overlooking the Agung River and rice fields is just so idyllic that it is difficult to describe to adequately do justice to its beauty. We spent many an hour just soaking up the views and truly relaxing.
The food. We dined at the restaurant once at night, twice for lunch and fore each of our three breakfasts. It is was not unusual to be the only guests dining but this only added to the intimacy and personal attention that we received. Breakfasts had a good range of fresh fruits and cooked dishes and none of these disappointed. The same could be said of the lunches and dinner. All that we ate was beautifully fresh, well cooked and skilfully presented. A nice touch was the afternoon tea that is served every afternoon.
There is so much more that I could say and again without really giving villa Semana true justice. It was a wonderful start to our Bali trip and one that will give us memories that we will cherish for ever.

Room Tip: Villa Kamboja has a beautiful outlook with its own private pool and very suitable for a family with...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snorlaxxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Villa Semana by far is the best hotel I have stayed in on my travels and i have traveled to over 15 different countries worldwide!!!
The scenery is breathtaking, the food is organic and amazing and the staff are so friendly and helpful with anything you need. I would wake up each morning looking forward to the breakfast and I have never stayed in a hotel looking forward to breakfast like I did with Villa Semana. They will individually cook for you whatever is on the menu, Eggs Benedict, Croque Monsieur, Croque Madam!!
My husband and I were enjoying our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a better setting to enjoy it in.
I am already thinking of when I can go back there next and longing to be in this Villa!!
Anyone thinking of staying in Ubud this is definitely the place to stay nestled among the rice fields it is truly exquisite!

Room Tip: I would suggest before you book to email the staff at Villa Semana as they are very helpful and they...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Our honeymoon stay at Villa Semana was flawless and made truly special and personal by attentive staffs, and insightful conversations with the owner. 3 nights at Villa Semana was just too short and it made us promise to return and request a stay at Cempaka Villa. The service was prompt and efficient, and was not the least bit intruding. We could really not ask for more. The food prepared by the chef was awesome and ingredients used were fresh and meticulously picked. We tried almost everything on the menu and it never disappointed us once. It was truly an wholesome experience which we could not get enough of... From the meals, spa, room service, personalised treatment from the owner and staff... Villa Semana is a sanctuary not to be missed!

Room Tip: We stayed in Alamanda which overlooked the Ayung River... A beautiful sight to wake up to and have b...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelholic_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#35 of 199 in Ubud
638 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.5 mi away
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.7 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#22 of 199 in Ubud
240 reviews
1.9 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#95 of 199 in Ubud
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#56 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#62 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £117 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing