We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Semana
Ranked #65 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredibly relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel feels very private and secluded as it has only ten villas. You hardly see the rest of the guest and the staff to guest ratio is very high, hence the service is excellent.
The location is great in the outskirts of Ubud, overlooking a river and the rice fields. We were lucky that we happened to be there for the harvest, it was very interesting to see the farmers collecting the rice in the traditional way just outside of our villa!
There is a free shuttle to and from the hotel to Ubud centre once an hour or so, it is very handy as even if taxis are cheap it is quite a pain to negociate a price with the drivers.
The food is amazing although quite pricey; is worth following the owners recommendations for restaurants in Ubud, he really knows what he is talking about.
We tried the spa and the cooking class. I highly recommend both, the cooking class was particularly great fun.
Overall a great experience, this is the place to go to recharge batteries.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    94
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
532
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Apart from the culture, Villa Semana would definitely be a main reason for us to visit Bali again. It was way beyond what we had thought it would be. We had booked for a deluxe private pool villa but to our surprise, on arrival we were upgraded to their Presidential river-facing private pool villa- Villa Cempaka and we couldn't have asked for more. We can say it had the most beautiful view, and set up. There was a spectacular view from every corner of the villa, right from the veranda to the pool, to the rooms, even from the bathroom,the view was awesome. The owner Mr. Suter, a very knowledgeable and friendly person, has many stories to share about the local culture and happenings (do take his handy advises). He would give a personal attention to all his guests. What was even more commendable, was the staff. Villa Semana has a very friendly and professional staff who would take great care of you.
They have some lip smacking range of food which my wife still craves for and their inhouse freshly baked banana cake during tea time is a must have. The decision to stay at Villa Semana was solely based on reviews on tripadvisor, and now we can say based on our personal experience that it was the best decision we made. We highly recommend Villa Semana to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJKharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Villa Semana is truly a place of amazing service. How many ways can we express our gratitude for their constant catering to our every desire. They know how to make someone feel like royalty and give the VIP red carpet. The entire staff greeted us by name anytime we saw them, and they knew our itinerary for the week. At breakfast we would be asked how we enjoyed riding the elephants the previous day, or how we liked our spa treatment, etc. We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary and booked the Rekindle Your Romance package. This package was Fabulous! The spa down by the river is a must, the morning yoga session was delightful, the chef prepared dinner poolside was delicious, the list could go on and on. The actual villa was very peaceful and relaxing. We always enjoy outside showers for an exotic feel. The private pool was wonderful and we used it every day. Also, the drivers arranged for us did an excellent job touring us around the island. One of the perks was visiting with our delightful host. He always had great advice and good stories. He answered our questions, sometimes before we even asked them. If you are considering Villa Semana, trust us, BOOK IT!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2OurTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were really happy with our stay at Villa Semana- the reviews were all true and our villa ( Allamanda ) was perfect . The very private plunge pool was a generous size and we could sit by the edge and watch the river flow below us. The room was kept perfectly clean- the restaurant served wonderful food and we ate there on several occasions on our 4 day stay. Could not fault the staff and would like to thank them for making us feel very welcome. Should we visit Ubud again we would look no further than Villa Semana.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ranster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I am usually a budget traveler, looking for the best 'cheap' hotel I can find. This trip was for our anniversary, so we decided to splurge. Based simply on reviews, we picked this hotel and I crossed my fingers. It was easily the best hotel experience I've ever had. (I have also stayed in traditional 'five star' places for work, and they just didn't compare.) I didn't think I'd really like the service -- in general, I don't like service, I'd rather be left alone and just do my own thing. The sincerity and overall helpfulness of the staff here blew me away, though.

I was also nervous about the reviews that talked about lizards and frogs... My wife, especially, isn't a real "country" sort of girl, and we're both more computer-types. However, when we heard a few frogs in our villa, it was charming. We actually named the frog who sat on one of the flagstones near the pool; he was a constant friend, and we saw a few little baby frogs one night! The few lizards were just tiny geckos, also cute and very unobtrusive.

After spending some time walking around downtown Ubud, we were especially glad for the short remove that kept out hotel experience pristine and peaceful. The balance was perfect for us.

The hotel drivers -- for shuttles and for a longer, most-day tour we took -- were outstanding. They had chilled towels for us, and cold bottles of water that were most welcome. The tour we took was personalized by the hotel owner for us, and it perfectly met our desires. (We had looked at the pre-packaged tours, and told him none of them quite worked, so he made up a new one on-the-spot.)

My only 'complaint' would be the spotty Internet connection. There was free wifi in each villa, but I could only connect one out of every four of five attempts, and the connections dropped too frequently to allow a Skype conversation back home. However, I ultimately decided this was probably for the best -- we went on vacation to relax, and this was the ideal place to be away from it all. So I'm still going with a solid five stars, best recommendation I've ever made for a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampang, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We chose Villa Semana and stayed in Vanda for our honeymoon last April. The villa has no lobby and we found it was a pleasant surprise to be directed straight to our villa upon arrival. We were also served with great refreshments (fruit punch and the local appetizer tempe) that were delicious. I have to say that we really didnt mind not going out to eat, because the food served at the villa was simply great and was reasonably price as well. I cant stop thinking about their breakfast jam platter! It was my first time tasting the local fruit 'salak' made into jam and it was delicious.

Moving away from food talk, the villa that we stayed in looked quite 'antique' as the walls had moss on them from the humidity. Its probably a bit of an eyesore to see certain parts of the walls being placed with green moss/black stains. (This is the one of the reasons its not getting a 5 star rating). Also, this place is not for the faint-hearted. In our Vanda Villa, we encountered huge lizards and countless of frogs as there was a mini pond. It was interesting for us as we didnt mind nature visiting our place. For the room, we found it to be a bit dark and lacked adequate lighting. Would prefer for it to be lighted better. (This is the other reason why its not getting 5 stars).

Lastly, the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Their service was excellent. We also went for the spa by the river. No words can explain the calmness and serenity! A must try!

We simply had a great honeymoon stay at this place. If ever I go to Ubud again, I will definitely visit Villa Semana at least for a quick bite! Big thanks and thumbs up to the staff and owner for making our stay an amazing experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zurkaristic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

It was our first stay at Villa Semana. On our way from the North to the South of Bali we spent 3 day in Ubud. We were looking for the private villas hotel, distant from the busy center of Udud and with a good restaurant. And we found this and much more at Villa Semana. We suggest booking the deluxe pool villa with the paddy fields view. I enjoyed the villa’s outside living room greatly. The territory of the hotel is very beautiful, and the view from the pool/restaurant area is amazing – green trees, flowers and the river below the hotel are very picturesque. You will enjoy every minute of your time there. The restaurant is very good, great quality and variety of the food served. You will also enjoy the open-air Spa located near the river – a very relaxing place, you can have your treatment and listen to the water-fall…
And if you want to go to Udud, the hotel offers you a free shuttle. Aprx. 20 minute drive.
And I would like to thank the owner of the hotel for making our stay there special, for all the advice and special attention he gave to the guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#27 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.3 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#61 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#56 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing