We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Semana
Nearby Hotels
US$278
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$864
US$804
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$812
US$719
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$375
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,331
US$1,255
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$343
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
622
96
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
96
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsayung riverprivate poolour honeymoonoutdoor showerrice paddiesshuttle servicepadi fieldsmain poolcooking classfruit baskethidden paradisefree shuttle to ubudspent nightsdowntown ubudmee gorengthe hustle and bustlespa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 736 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We found Villa Semana on trip advisor and listened to the overwhelming majority of people who experienced staying here rather than the 2 percent of people that want everything for nothing.

We had booked for 3 nights and 2 days before phoned to enquire about staying a 4th night. That experience alone set the tone. Even though we had booked through Booking.com the person we spoke to was thoroughly accomodating and very quickly changed our booking and emailed through confirmation.

On arrival we were met by a number of very attentive Balinese staff and shown straight to our Villa where check in was carried out - no waiting around in a lobby.

We stayed in a garden Villa which was truly a Villa. The room is spacious, clean and well appointed. The outdoor shower is a great touch. The private plunge pool and the sound of flowing water was serene.

The gardens here are a labour love and enjoying a gin and tonic over looking the river was a great experience.

This place is tranquil and peaceful - it is exactly what it says it is. The service is impeccable. By the time youve finished breakfast the room has been fully serviced.

The restaurant looks over the pool and out over the river. Breakfast was superb, the fresh juices are delicious and the breakfast menu divine.

The owner is constantly on hand with a wealth of knowledge of the area which he is only too wiilling to share. Having told him we were intending to head into Ubud during the day he phoned our room and offered us a lift as he was heading that way. Tell me anywhere in UK, US or NZ where you would find that?

The shuttle service to town is frequent and outside of that you can request transport at the cost of a few dollars.

No there isnt a TV but thats part of the attraction of an upmarket retreat surely?

Service, quality & price .... fantastic

o

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We spent 3 nights at Villa Semana at one of the pool garden villas.
On arrival we received a friendly greeting and were taken straight to our room where check-in formalities were completed.
My initial impression was that the location was peaceful and beautiful, lots of greenery and nicely manicured gardens - unfortunately the room was quite a bit smaller than I was expecting, and the online photos are deceiving in this regard.
The facilities in the room are adequate with minibar, kettle and tea, free water. There was no television, and only a basic CD player. The lounger was rather small and uncomfortable, not really suitable to sit on for any period of time. Bed was ok with mosquito net (which is definitely needed as there are large gaps above the doors) but this had holes in it. We received a nice little fruit basket every day and local sweets every evening which was a nice touch.
In the small bathroom, some toiletries were provided but unfortunately no conditioner which is usually always provided wherever we have stayed. The sink area was very tight and for 2 people with toiletries there wasn't enough space. The toilet was also broken on arrival and had to be fixed, but never really worked properly. The outdoor shower area looked very uninviting, it was dirty and looked a mess.
The personal pool and patio was also disappointing, it was in definite need of some TLC with paint peeling away and unsightly mould, also the pool water was rather murky; in addition to this there was no cushion for the lounger. Privacy was also poor here with people in the restaurant being able to see us.
Breakfast was ok, we were confused the whole time on what exactly was included and what we could choose. Overall we weren't too impressed with the food.
The pool by the restaurant was very nice with a great view, and also a good place to have the afternoon tea which is included.
We never tried the spa, but it looked great with some nice treatments, unfortunately these were all rather expensive, quite a bit more than at other resorts we stayed at and a lot more than those available in town.
On the plus side, the staff were all wonderful and very helpful and the included shuttle to and from town was very good.
All in all, although we enjoyed our stay, there is a lot of improvement that needs to be done, and honestly I think for the price, the garden view rooms are poor value. Looking back I wish I had booked the Padi Field view as I think these would be nicer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Pool Garden View (Mawar) and we were disappointed, not much privacy and small room. The Padi view rooms looked much nicer.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Villa Semana is very private and secluded, with a scenic view of the paddy fields and river. We were hosted here with our 2 teenage boys and spent a 5 days-4 nights family holiday in July, staying in the Duplex Villa which had two bedrooms, a small swimming pool and an outdoor shower. The villa was clean, comfortable and bug-free ( which is close to impossible in tropical Bali ). We loved that there was no television set in the rooms but appreciated that the wifi worked perfectly.
Though Villa Semana is located in the outskirts of Ubud, the shuttle services provided for guests to-and-fro Ubud Centre were most reliable and personalized. The Villa's staffs were well-mannered, attentive and flexible. My boys adored Mr. Swastika and his jovial attitudes. Foods at the restaurant were delicious and all ingredients used were organic. My boys had not have enough of the home-made ice cream and the triple-decked Club Sandwiches.
We chatted frequently with the owner, Mr Suter, who had many wonderfully interesting stories to share and had provided us with great tips on the good eateries to eat around Ubud and beyond. We had a super cripsy duck dinner at Bebek Tepi Sawa with a gorgeous setting to top it all, following the excellent recommendation of Mr Suter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catalina_Loh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Villa Semana. Our visit didn't begin very well as the villa we have booked was not what we expected, however the owner and staff quickly remedied the situation by providing us another villa which we're much happier with.

The spa here is fantastic. The massage quality is excellent and the environment is truly the best we've ever had. We began with a floral footbath and were offered a selection of 4 massage oils which I found to be very good aromatherapy oils. Then we laid down on the comfortable bed on the pavillion, which is set on a platform overlooking the Ayung river. The surrounding was completely lush and the sound of running water was so soothing. We're completely outdoor and we felt the cooling breeze - so nice compared to indoor treatment rooms with air-cons!

The hotel has very beautiful landscaping. Everywhere you turn in the garden feels picture-perfect!

We also love the Balinese coffee they serve at breakfast!

We're thankful that Suter the owner is flexible with our booking arrangement. I had originally booked 4 nights through Agoda, however my husband preferred to have more nights spent in a seaside hotel. Suter worked it out with Agoda and we could change our booking without penalty, which we appreciate.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Great place for honey month, comfort & recommend ... you will find excellence services during stay there, best villa in UBUD, Bali.
Please don't forget to try the best SPA in Villa Semana, will make your spouse more love you so much.

Villa Semana is rebound the truth love

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews