We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, wish we had stayed longer !”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #74 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We are a family of 5 with adolescents, we stayed 5 nights at the hotel and enjoyed every minute. Set just outside of UBUD, the hotel offers the most breathtaking views of the river and luxuriant greenery to one side and rice fields to the other, a very beautiful and tranquil location only minutes away from the town accessible via the free shuttle service if you want to experience more hustle and bustle. Ideal for visiting the rest of Bali, and relaxing on return from personalised visits and excusrsions organised with expert assistance from the hotel, nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant serves excellent food at almost any time and the breakfast is unbelievable, a great way to start a busy day. The hotel owner also gave us excellent advise on where to ennjoy local delicacies such as suckling pig. The rooms are very comfortable and authentically decorated.. The personal pools were a bit of a let down as very small, usefull for cooling off but not for a swim, however the main pool is fabulous and so is verything else! wish we had stayed longer !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Villa Semana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

This property is such a gem! Right from the on-start of liaising and communicating on pick-up, getting advice of best villa etc, everything was well coordinated and on-time.

On day of arrival, we were picked up from out of Ubud and ferried straight to resort. Along the way, sight wasn't much to speak about... but wait, this was a journey waiting to be uncovered.

Upon reaching the resort, we were immediately sent to our villa. No waiting time, no unnecessary queuing etc. We were also greeted by Jurg Suter, owner of V. Semana. He is an interesting host, with lots of stories and great advice for guests. He is also very ready to interact and mingle, just give him a big smile and you can sure he will make your stay a very happy and comfortable one. He is very hands on as well in organizing trips; specifically bike trips up the padis or around town. Unfortunately, we did not go along on one as we felt we weren't well prepared for it. But I do know of guests who have tremendously enjoyed themselves.

I had the luxury to stay in the V. Semana Cempaka suite which is the best of the lot and I have no regrets choosing this villa. Villa sits on a multi level tiered site, which means I have a outdoor cabana seat at the lowest level looking straight out to river Ayung flowing downwards. Next level up is a nicely sized pool plus an outdoor dining table. The main level is where the big living, sitting and dining area is. The villa itself has a lower and upper floor; with the lower for guest and en-suite bath. The upper level is the master with a very big sized bathroom. And again, views overlooking out to river Ayung. Take note that there is no TV in the villa, but hey, isn't this what you are here for? :)

Walking around the property, you cannot missed taking in the immaculate garden grounds and the thoughts behind the creation of this property. Number of ponds with carps and you can also hand feed them if you like.

The spa is placed directly at the lowest level just beside river Ayung, totally out of view from others. Also, the spa services one guest/ couple each time so be sure to book your slots. Also, having a spa treatment beside the flowing river, a waterfall and hearing sounds of the village kids bathing and playing in the river just meters away make a unique symphony + the cool air in Ubud makes you doze off within minutes of starting your treatment.

Food is also fantastic as they were all deliciously cooked. It is well presented and prices are reasonable. Wait staff are all ready on hand and ready to serve where possible. Staff all also readily greet you by your last name which I felt extremely uncomfortable in a good way for all the formality.

Also, property provides villa shuttle to Ubud town on an hourly basis all the way till last pick up at 2200hrs. So it is extremely convenient to get out and back.

I can go on and on and rave about this experience and till date, my wife is still fantasizing about it. I have so much to write but I rather you discover it yourself.

As for us, we are sure to go back and spend a longer time next time round. Thank you guys at V. Semana for the great enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: without a doubt, if you can splurge, get the V. Semana suite.... no regrets
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlvinTSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We found Villa Semana on trip advisor and listened to the overwhelming majority of people who experienced staying here rather than the 2 percent of people that want everything for nothing.

We had booked for 3 nights and 2 days before phoned to enquire about staying a 4th night. That experience alone set the tone. Even though we had booked through Booking.com the person we spoke to was thoroughly accomodating and very quickly changed our booking and emailed through confirmation.

On arrival we were met by a number of very attentive Balinese staff and shown straight to our Villa where check in was carried out - no waiting around in a lobby.

We stayed in a garden Villa which was truly a Villa. The room is spacious, clean and well appointed. The outdoor shower is a great touch. The private plunge pool and the sound of flowing water was serene.

The gardens here are a labour love and enjoying a gin and tonic over looking the river was a great experience.

This place is tranquil and peaceful - it is exactly what it says it is. The service is impeccable. By the time youve finished breakfast the room has been fully serviced.

The restaurant looks over the pool and out over the river. Breakfast was superb, the fresh juices are delicious and the breakfast menu divine.

The owner is constantly on hand with a wealth of knowledge of the area which he is only too wiilling to share. Having told him we were intending to head into Ubud during the day he phoned our room and offered us a lift as he was heading that way. Tell me anywhere in UK, US or NZ where you would find that?

The shuttle service to town is frequent and outside of that you can request transport at the cost of a few dollars.

No there isnt a TV but thats part of the attraction of an upmarket retreat surely?

Service, quality & price .... fantastic

o

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We spent 3 nights at Villa Semana at one of the pool garden villas.
On arrival we received a friendly greeting and were taken straight to our room where check-in formalities were completed.
My initial impression was that the location was peaceful and beautiful, lots of greenery and nicely manicured gardens - unfortunately the room was quite a bit smaller than I was expecting, and the online photos are deceiving in this regard.
The facilities in the room are adequate with minibar, kettle and tea, free water. There was no television, and only a basic CD player. The lounger was rather small and uncomfortable, not really suitable to sit on for any period of time. Bed was ok with mosquito net (which is definitely needed as there are large gaps above the doors) but this had holes in it. We received a nice little fruit basket every day and local sweets every evening which was a nice touch.
In the small bathroom, some toiletries were provided but unfortunately no conditioner which is usually always provided wherever we have stayed. The sink area was very tight and for 2 people with toiletries there wasn't enough space. The toilet was also broken on arrival and had to be fixed, but never really worked properly. The outdoor shower area looked very uninviting, it was dirty and looked a mess.
The personal pool and patio was also disappointing, it was in definite need of some TLC with paint peeling away and unsightly mould, also the pool water was rather murky; in addition to this there was no cushion for the lounger. Privacy was also poor here with people in the restaurant being able to see us.
Breakfast was ok, we were confused the whole time on what exactly was included and what we could choose. Overall we weren't too impressed with the food.
The pool by the restaurant was very nice with a great view, and also a good place to have the afternoon tea which is included.
We never tried the spa, but it looked great with some nice treatments, unfortunately these were all rather expensive, quite a bit more than at other resorts we stayed at and a lot more than those available in town.
On the plus side, the staff were all wonderful and very helpful and the included shuttle to and from town was very good.
All in all, although we enjoyed our stay, there is a lot of improvement that needs to be done, and honestly I think for the price, the garden view rooms are poor value. Looking back I wish I had booked the Padi Field view as I think these would be nicer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Pool Garden View (Mawar) and we were disappointed, not much privacy and small room. T...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Villa Semana is very private and secluded, with a scenic view of the paddy fields and river. We were hosted here with our 2 teenage boys and spent a 5 days-4 nights family holiday in July, staying in the Duplex Villa which had two bedrooms, a small swimming pool and an outdoor shower. The villa was clean, comfortable and bug-free ( which is close to impossible in tropical Bali ). We loved that there was no television set in the rooms but appreciated that the wifi worked perfectly.
Though Villa Semana is located in the outskirts of Ubud, the shuttle services provided for guests to-and-fro Ubud Centre were most reliable and personalized. The Villa's staffs were well-mannered, attentive and flexible. My boys adored Mr. Swastika and his jovial attitudes. Foods at the restaurant were delicious and all ingredients used were organic. My boys had not have enough of the home-made ice cream and the triple-decked Club Sandwiches.
We chatted frequently with the owner, Mr Suter, who had many wonderfully interesting stories to share and had provided us with great tips on the good eateries to eat around Ubud and beyond. We had a super cripsy duck dinner at Bebek Tepi Sawa with a gorgeous setting to top it all, following the excellent recommendation of Mr Suter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catalina_Loh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Villa Semana. Our visit didn't begin very well as the villa we have booked was not what we expected, however the owner and staff quickly remedied the situation by providing us another villa which we're much happier with.

The spa here is fantastic. The massage quality is excellent and the environment is truly the best we've ever had. We began with a floral footbath and were offered a selection of 4 massage oils which I found to be very good aromatherapy oils. Then we laid down on the comfortable bed on the pavillion, which is set on a platform overlooking the Ayung river. The surrounding was completely lush and the sound of running water was so soothing. We're completely outdoor and we felt the cooling breeze - so nice compared to indoor treatment rooms with air-cons!

The hotel has very beautiful landscaping. Everywhere you turn in the garden feels picture-perfect!

We also love the Balinese coffee they serve at breakfast!

We're thankful that Suter the owner is flexible with our booking arrangement. I had originally booked 4 nights through Agoda, however my husband preferred to have more nights spent in a seaside hotel. Suter worked it out with Agoda and we could change our booking without penalty, which we appreciate.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Great place for honey month, comfort & recommend ... you will find excellence services during stay there, best villa in UBUD, Bali.
Please don't forget to try the best SPA in Villa Semana, will make your spouse more love you so much.

Villa Semana is rebound the truth love

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#35 of 199 in Ubud
638 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.5 mi away
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.7 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#22 of 199 in Ubud
240 reviews
1.9 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#95 of 199 in Ubud
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#56 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#62 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £116 - £459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing