We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, amazing service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #66 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, amazing service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Villa Semana for 3 nights at the start of our trip. What a great introduction to Bali!

The villa was fantastic, the views unbeatable and I cannot speak highly enough of the service. The staff were friendly, helpful and incredibly attentive. No request was too much trouble, one staff member even took 2 hours out of his morning to take us for a walk through the jungle and surrounding village.

The shuttle service into Ubud town went every hour, meaning you could enjoy the quiet beauty of the area without feeling cut off from the hustle and bustle of Ubud.

We cannot speak highly enough of our stay. Hopefully one day we will be lucky enough to return and stay a little longer!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joliza81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    94
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
534
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We have rarely seen a place like this. The hotel is one of a kind for several reasons and it’s obvious that neither a novice nor an amateur runs it.

The setting is very special in midst of beautiful and wild nature by a river. The hotel is at the same time a part of and a contrast to the environment.

The premises are unbelievably pristine without being sterile in any way. On the contrary they feel very natural and harmonic but when looking further it’s obvious that nothing has been left to chance. Everything has been meticulously and very tastefully thought of. At the same time the way the buildings, the vegetation, the pool, the spa, the restaurant and everything else is arranged seems so effortless. There are flowers and bushes and trees and running water everywhere and everything is perfectly taken care of. A feast for the eye.

Our villa was beautiful inside out, well equipped and exceptionally clean. There was running water and flowers all over, a small pool and we had a view of the river where you could see the locals crossing once in while, washing every morning and sometimes hear kids laughing when bathing there. Just staying by the villa was wonderful.

The setting of the restaurant is very enjoyable and there is a choice between Western, Thai and Indonesian cuisine. Service is both friendly and impeccable.

We tried a Balinese massage at the spa and recommend it. The spa is in open air by the river and it was a unique experience.

Taking a walking tour with a guide was enjoyable and most interesting. If you do anything at all do that. You get to see “real life” in the environment, the amazing vegetation, farms and villages and people washing and bathing in the river.

There is a shuttle service to Ubud, the cultural centre of Bali, several times a day, which is very convenient.

Like mentioned above all service was exceptionally friendly and people are helpful and smiling. Nana (a.k.a. Lady Gaga) took care of all kinds of different things for us and was always prepared to solve problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent in villa semana the 3 most romantic nights of our honeymoon in Bali. The setting is paradisiac in the middle of the jungle facing the Rice fields, the service exceptional, the Spa incredibly romantic, the breakfast is generous, varied and tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joycyjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Located in a quiet little corner of Ubud, this resort makes for the perfect getaway from the hustle of urban Bali! The staff are very friendly and make sure you feel at home right from the moment you enter the place. We stayed in a one room suite with a spacious private pool.The room was tastefully furnished. We are vegetarian and the hotel staff managed to serve some great food. The owner is a kind man and would come over to chat during meal times, checking if we needed anything. He even got us complementary fries and crackers when we mentioned we were craving for some on a rainy evening! Overall a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShilpaSathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at Villa Semana for 1 night to celebrate my birthday. Photos of the property do not do it justice, stunning views of the river below. Total relaxation, we did not need to use the spa as the villa and views were relaxation in themselves. Locals come down to the river to bathe, wash their clothes etc. We had a candlelit dinner overlooking the river, with only the sound of frogs & insects echoeing all around us, truly magical, would recommend this property to anyone that enjoys beautiful surroundings and total peace, not just those that enjoy spa facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0line3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend for just 2 nights and loved every moment of our stay!! The staff is very kind and well organized. When we arrived the bed and curtains of our villa were already pulled down for us. The check in will be completed in your room and we felt very welcome. The bed is supercomfy with the serene sound from the waterfall. Breakfast can served in the room or beside the fabulous pool and the Spa is amazing as well! Will surely recommend this hotel to anyone!! Loved the midnight swim in the pool, which faces the river when looking up to the evening sky!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank K_anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

First of all if you are considering hotels in UBUD and you are looking for privacy and magnificent nature views while still having access to UBUD town then seriously don't look any further. This is THE PLACE !

We stayed at Semana for 4 nights in villa Kamboja. (This was a free upgrade as we requested river view and evidently they didn't have any on our dates so they upgraded us to a bigger one with river views - we were ecstatic about that) This villa is special as it is overlooking the Ayung River and the rice fields and jungle right on your balcony seriously a jungle, it's like a scene out of a movie and along with your private pool which is really a touch of luxury and adds to the intimacy of your holiday. Kamboja villa was a duplex villa with 2 bed rooms the main one downstairs with king size bed and coffee table with comfortable couch, the main bathroom is spacious with a bathtub big enough for 2 also works as a shower. step out from the main bathroom to a door leading you to the outdoor rain shower that was super fun .The upstairs bedroom is very cozy and has its own little toilet and sink.

Service at Semana was impeccable . The quality of the food was fantastic breakfast was seriously delicious you can enjoy an Indonesian or western menu in the privacy of your villa or at the main restaurant ( we went for western breakfast ) and saved the ethnic flavors for dinner. Food at the hotel of course is not cheap but not out of this world expensive either, it was totally worth it especially for us as this was our honeymoon and we were looking for convenience and relaxation time and proximity to the villa . We went to eat out on 2 occasions which was a nice change.

The service at Villa semana was just perfect. Villa semana is a boutique hotel. We were cared for as if we are the only guests staying there. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive to your every need always with a big genuine smile we love Balinese people. Nothing went wrong here , not a single thing. We also had free wifi in the room and entire hotel The owner of the hotel who was also very nice is very attentive. He personally greeted us and asked us if there was anyway to make our stay more comfortable. The free shuttle service is also a nice touch you just let them know when you would like to be taken to UBUD town for shopping / dining etc and just let the driver know when you would like to be picked up.

Our stay at this hotel was out of this world truly a piece of heaven here on earth. We thank everyone at villa semana for their effort and friendliness and making our honeymoon so special. We will be back for sure !

FYI : if you are one of those people that doesn't appreciate nature or wants to watch Tv or is looking to feed their technology addiction . Then this is not the place for you..

Thanks again
Zeinab & khaled
Suk-Sema & we will be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zeinab1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#27 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#65 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#23 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#57 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing