We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to not answer your phone and emails.”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #75 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

There's no other place where I can spend literally 10 hours in the same 10m2 area, smoking cigars and reading away the day. Meals are excellent, breakfast through dinner. And since there're no kids allowed there, and with an open minded host that himself lives there, things can get interesting without too much fuss. Just don't break the furniture.
There's absolutely nothing to not like about this place, except maybe a sandfly or 2. Love it, and will always come back to it.

Room Tip: If you going on a 'fucation', please don't get a pool facing villa :)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_Chia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
There are newer reviews for Villa Semana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

This resort provided amazing service. We arrived late at night to cool, fresh towels for our face and fresh fruit and dessert in our room. Our villa had a private pool, but we just as much enjoyed the infinity pool on the main property. The resort staff took the time to know our names and each meal at the restaurant was a delight. We especially loved the complimentary breakfast and fresh squeezed juices. The resort even planned our entire day from shuttle service into the town of Ubud to coordinating a visit to the elephant reserve and monkey kingdom. We could not have asked for a better stay. Thank you so much and we hope to be returning for a longer visit next time. Oh, and the villa's were beautiful as well... the outdoor shower was the best shower I have taken in my life!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just came back from this "nec plus ultra" place and I am still like on a cloud.
From the first step in and to the last step out, all went perfect.
Located a bit outside of the busy Ubu (they are regular shuttle and great drivers, very friendly, willing to give you tips, advices and to discuss even if you are foreigner), check-in was in the villa by Nana (great and professional lady, also ready to provide you all information you must know and this extra mile it is quite rare to find nowadays...), villa was just superb, clean, well maintained and plenty of little details to attract the eyes of fine connoisseurs... Yes there is no TV but who really care, this place is dedicated to relax, rest, romance and everything else you have in your mind except watching TV. They have a great selection of music inside of the villa and a great way to chill out. Evening turndown service was great, a bit colonial style served with so yummy and great cookies... Dinner was just perfect, facing the main swimming pool illuminated with plenty of candles who add a great plus for romance and a unique moment. Food was simply yummy, I do love Thai food and they have great dishes... My big woww will go to the spa, an experience to experience, I have to admit I love spas but definitely the spa of Villa Semana is an experience by itself, mostly outdoor, the Balinese massage was just simply something you cannot find anywhere else, the charming noise of the water cascade just nearby as well the river just invited me after this pure moment to have a try in the river, not much guests are willing to try as per the employees told me but it was the perfect way to finalize and complete my spa. Water was clean, enough fresh to wash out everything.
But "the nec plus ultra" will be definitely for Pak Jurg (Mr. Jurg in Indonesia), owner, manager or simply THE Ambassador of this so charming place. Hotelier myself, it is always a pleasure and becomes unfortunately rare these days to find a so helpful and willing to serve with a lot of "bon chic and bon genre) a real professional as Mr. Jurg is...
Nothing else to say and more than enough: Just go there.
If Paradise exists, I really do hope it is same.
Thank you very much to all for this great time...
One more point: they have mountain bikes, a great and so different way to explore around and meet locals...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Villa Semana spa, sitting high above the Ayung River valley in the traditional Balinese village of Semana. The resort is located just minutes from Ubud, the island's cultural heart. Upon entrance to the villa, I soaked in the beauty of farmers harvesting during sunset on the golden reflection of the paddy fields.

The secluded courtyards, spacious villas some overlooking the paddy fields, with its own private pool and private gardens make Villa Semana the perfect romantic getaway.

Then, there's nothing like sinking into a relaxing Balinese massage after a long day of travelling. You will find the spa through steps down at the bottom of the hill, nestled next to Ayung River. As I walked down the steps, I was already greeted by the sounds of the river flowing.

Offering a range of aromatherapy oil, from rejuvenating to relaxing to the intimate fragrance of ylang ylang, the massage therapist dap each of them on my hands so I could choose which I like best. I opted for the most popular choice - Rejuvenating.

Indonesian body massage is a relaxing and invigorating heritage massage with finger pressures and long stroking techniques, perfect for those wishing to lose some tension and overcome the body's response to stress.

The inviting decor, serene surrounding of the spa, sound of river flowing and skilled massage therapist totally enhanced the experience of a true Balinese massage.

After the massage, I proceeded back up to the villa's dining quarter next to the pool enjoying afternoon tea in true Balinese style. Had the honour to indulge in a good chat with the down to earth, Swiss sense of humour owner, sharing some fascinating stories of Villa Semana. Thanking him for his hospitality.

I will visit Villa Semana again - perhaps next on my honeymoon!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank gigglegiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just want to share with you my, all too short, recent stay at Villa Semana, Located just near Ubud is a sensitively designed, intimate environment located upon the bank of a bend in a slow moving river. A peaceful and remarkable setting to enjoy the special atmosphere of the rice fields of Bali. The Villas are both private and quiet, blurring the boundary between built form and landscape.The staff and management are both discrete and attentive, always willing to assist with your needs and specific wishes. For adventure do ask the athletic hotel manager about a bike ride through the rice fields at dawn or dusk. Do choose to eat in and enjoy the healthy and delicious menu selection ....yes tranquility found!

Room Tip: ask for your preferred view of the immediate landscape
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a great place to get away to - quiet and unhurried and surrounded by greenery and river. The villa was spacious and very comfortable with its own private swimming ppol. The restaurant serve excellent food with a lovely view of the swimming pool and greenery across the river. The staff were friendly and attentive. They were also very helpful - they helped me to recover my scarf I had left behind in a restaurant in Ubud. Overall it was a relaxing and refreshing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenTanLeeTiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Villa Semana have a complete package for everybody who seek some peace.
It was beautiful, quite, the food is great, and also have a great service.
It was an amazing experience stay at villa semana.
Love it very much.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indri_013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#34 of 199 in Ubud
638 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.7 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#21 of 199 in Ubud
241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#97 of 199 in Ubud
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#57 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#62 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £116 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing