We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of this world”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #66 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful beautiful place in paradise. I cannot rate this place highly enough. The staff and service was impeccable and I felt blessed to spend a few days here. It is close enough to ubud but you feel like your in the middle of no where. The spa is absolutely amazing. Thank you for a very memorable stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRI001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    94
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
534
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

From the moment we arrived to the property, we were awed by the attention to detail. The adjacent rice paddies make for serene vistas, as does the river gorge in the back of the property. The landscaping is so lush and colorful, we never tired of it during our week-long stay. Our villa was constructed with the highest quality materials and appointed with similarly elegant furnishings. The pillows did seem to trigger my asthma (though I am extremely sensitive to mold, and this is the tropics afterall). The privacy of the villa and pool and patio cannot be missed! We felt like we were in our very own paradise! The staff are extremely gracious and service-minded. They were attentive without being intrusive. We thoroughly loved our cooking class outdoors on the grounds! And the food we made was the tastiest we had eaten during our 2 weeks in Bali and Gili. The Swiss host/owner Jurg is amicable and welcoming, with an endless font of stories to share. The location away from Ubud town was actually a boon, given the chaotic pace in the town center these days. The free shuttle was punctual and very convenient.

Room Tip: Alamanda Villa has complete privacy even in the pool and patio, overlooking the river gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSCYNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The owner wanted to hear our suggestions for improving the hotel, but we could not think of any. The setting of the hotel, on the side of a deep valley surrounded by rice fields is lovely, and both the hotel grounds and the individual rooms are designed in the best taste. The food and service were excellent, with the ideal combination of Balinese charm and hospitality and Swiss discipline and attention to detail from the owner. He also provided excellent advice about trips, for which the hotel supplied very good drivers (who also provided the efficient free shuttle to Ubud town centre). The massage, in pleasant surroundings by the river, should not be missed. Finally, the whole stay was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_PL8313YW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at Villa Semana for four nights and we choose the villa with private pool for the duration of our stay. A lot of research went into selecting the perfect place to stay in Ubud, quite a feat considering the stiff competition. We were met upon our arrival not only by the owner but by one of the most spectacular rice terraces I have ever seen. I would be lying if I said we didn't feel a little smug about the great choice we had made.

Staff were incredibly helpful and any restaurant suggestions or bookings were taken care of with the greatest of ease. The rooms were ornate and beautifully decorated with cleaning taking place twice daily!! Breakfast was definitely a highlight and an extensive a al carte menu was offered, that and a bottle of the finest truffle oil to drizzle over your scrambled eggs if you were feeling decadent.

Two of our party availed of the spa treatment and we struggled to contain our jealousy after hearing about their experience at the picturesque riverside location. The sentence 'best massage experience ever' was uttered not once but on numerous occasions and believe me when i say they are speaking from experience!

I would have no hesitation in recommending Villa Semana to anyone who plans to stay in or near Ubud.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

High standard luxurious villas in a wonderful tropical jungle setting with views over rice fields. The grounds are beautifully kept and the service is kind and attentive service. Restaurant and room service are reasonably priced and the regular shuttle to Ubud is convenient and well run.

Jurg, the resident owner, is a mine of excellent local recommendations from ‘where to eat’ to ‘what to do.’ The Mountain bike tour of the local area, which Jurg guides, was a highlight of our stay in Ubud.

I have no hesitation in recommending Villa Semana.

Room Tip: Call in advance for advice on which Villa would best meet your requirements, particularly if absolut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteknightBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a beautiful place, we stayed here in a private pool Villa, it was an great choice, with so many hotels in Ubud it was hard to choose one but I am very happy we choose Villa Semana as part of our honeymoon! Definitely recommended :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gij0048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at Villa Semana for our honeymoon and it was a very pleasant experience. All the staff members were very courteous and helpful, and the resort was clean and comforting. I would highly recommend the resort to anyone who plan to stay in or near Ubud.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjmk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#29 of 195 in Ubud
579 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
674 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#63 of 195 in Ubud
349 reviews
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
1,812 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#23 of 195 in Ubud
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#57 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing