We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Villas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Semana
Ranked #65 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Villas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just spent 4 days at these quiet villas beside the river. They arranged a pick up from the airport and as we arrived late at night that was helpful. The staff were also helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The hourly shuttle into Ubud worked well for us. The spa beside the river was very special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    94
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
532
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were picked up at the airport as arranged, and arrived at the resort at night, so it was a bit of a different first impression since we couldn't really see the surroundings. At first we thought the place was rather small, maybe too small, since all we really noticed was the bedroom. After adjusting a bit and taking advantage of the outdoor living area, the space seemed perfect. We were afraid the outdoor living room might not be usable at night due to the mosquitoes, but with the ceiling fan on it was never an issue. There is a private plunge pool, but it's not heated and a little on the cool side. Refreshing if you want to quickly cool off from the heat of summer, but too cool for regular use especially at night.

You are literally in the rice paddies. They work the land all the way right up to within a yard of your window, so it feels like being in a different world. The surroundings are very tranquil, quiet in the sense that its natural, although you can always hear running water and insects and such. In the morning you can faintly hear some music and chanting coming from the local villagers as they start their day, which we found very interesting.

The actual grounds are very nice, very natural, organic, harmonious, rustic. The restaurant food is ok and service was very good. The operator was always available to accommodate our requests for transportation, food, tour arrangements, etc. They arranged a particularly nice dinner for us at one of the local restaurants in Ubud, Bridges.

The drivers were always prompt and courteous, and the owner was also on site and gave us a nice recommendation for a day tour which we did. We also used the spa services, and it was very nice, albeit a little pricey compared to spas located in town.

Overall, a very nice place to stay in the Ubud area. The drive to and from town takes about 10-15 minutes each way depending on traffic, and that may seem rather off-putting. But given the bus loads of tourists being dropped off in town, and the constant traffic, Villa Semana proved to be a tranquil haven.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa Heliconia and thought it was very nice and private relative to the other villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedwoodEmpireIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Me and the wife have had our fist stay here and it won't be our last. we can not recommend this place enough to everyone fantastic hotel and excellent caring staff. Stunning location and views to die for, the food choice and quality was far superior than most european hotels we stayed in.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked the 3 Nights Honeymoon Package at Villa Semana, and requested the pool deluxe villa with padi field view. A driver arranged by the hotel picked us up promptly at the DPS airport.

Our room package included one activity, one candlelit dinner, and one half-day spa... (see below)

Our activity was to be a day of white water rafting on Christmas Day (75USDpp). On Christmas morning, we had a lovely breakfast and discussed the upcoming activities of the day. We heard some commotion down at the river, and a staff member went down to check it out. Turns out that a local farmer's boy had gotten caught in the current, as the river was running very high. He was okay, but the owner of Villa Semana advised that we don't take our chances on the fast river that day. We reluctantly cancelled and took the owner up on his recommendation to go to Ibu Oka which is a restaurant known for suckling pig (located just behind Ubud Palace) and explored the markets of Ubud instead.

Our candlelit dinner was wonderful. They set up a separate table from the rest of the dining area, in front of the pool with an amazing view. There were rose petals and candles. The food was amazing... we were able to try many local Balinese dishes and enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine. Afterward, we sat by the pool with some spiked coffees.

Our spa day was absolutely fantastic. I have been to 4 spas in Ubud, and this one was BY FAR the best. The spa "house" is located down next to the river, at the resort. We had the entire thing to ourselves for our couples treatment. First they washed our feet and then they took us to the patio beds to get scrubbed. We chose our scrub/exfoliant type (warning: the coffee scrub looks a bit like poo when it's all over you). Afterward, we got into a large bath together and they gave us juice and snacks (very tasty) while we relaxed a bit. You quickly learn that there's no need or point in being modest around the spa workers. Then they had us lay down on a giant bed for our massages. They were so incredible that I actually dozed off! Absolutely amazing day.

Our villa was a pool deluxe villa (called Helikonia) with a rice padi view. We had a private plunge pool, indoor/outdoor living room, outdoor shower, large king bed, great air conditionining, etc. We were pleased with the room service. Breakfast in the morning was served by the pool in the dining area. We were blown away by the amazing breakfast dishes and the lovely juices and smoothies they made.

Villa Semana has two free shuttles to the center of Ubud. They try to coordinate guests to ride together, which we thought was great and not inconvenient at all. We could go into town for free whenever we wanted, and they would pick us up to return within 15 minutes of a request.

Room Tip: We absolutely loved our pool deluxe villa with a rice padi field view. The size was perfect for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Truly a hidden paradise in Bali, the atmosphere is so calm and natural. Especially in the backyard by the river, so calm and natural, only a few native Balinese natural bath in the late afternoon, a very rare sight at this particular time.
The staff are very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0uis142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in villa Cempaka for 3 nights.

Having stayed in Semiyak all the time we've been in Bali, Semana was like a breath of fresh air. The surrounds were beautiful, the staff were lovely, the spa and massage were great and the food was good too.

You can't really fault anything. It was not cheap for Bali standard but it was well worth it. I would go back for a week next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank de_la_fuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful beautiful place in paradise. I cannot rate this place highly enough. The staff and service was impeccable and I felt blessed to spend a few days here. It is close enough to ubud but you feel like your in the middle of no where. The spa is absolutely amazing. Thank you for a very memorable stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRI001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#27 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#62 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#22 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#57 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing