We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC! For the best place to experience the charm of Ubud this is it.”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #69 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC! For the best place to experience the charm of Ubud this is it.”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

There are boutique hotels and there are boutique hotels.. This is the place that does it for me. Its close to Ubud town (15mins drive) but defnitely away from it all. I love the fact the place is small and intimate. Staff are friendly and the owner/manager is engaging. You will never tire of the views from Semana as well-from the working padi fields to the Ayung River, everything about it has a calming but yet engaging charm.

There are a few different types of villas, all come with a private pluge pool. Styled in more traditional Balinese style without being overwhelming, when you wake up you know you are in Bali. Each villa offers a different view and its own lovely experience, but the Semana spa will essentially blow your mind away. When you walk right down to the river's edge, that's where you get your massage done. You will only hear the running water and look on to the flowing river; its so rare to find a place that gets you so close to nature and then you realise why they call Bali the Isle of the Gods. The Balinese have it good, and they know it.

The food at the Villa Semana restaurant is excellent-the restaurant looks over the main infinity pool and it very romantic in the evenings. Serivce is attentive but not invasive. Most important is that the staff try their best to give you what you ask for.

Then there are the cigars-Villa Semana has recently added a small but very good collection of Habanos in a very elegant display humidor. My best time spent in Semana were the afternoon coffees with a good Cuban cigar. Almost as good as smoking in Cuba itself!

This place's no children policy works wonders too-no screaming kids to annoy the crap out of everyone.

So if you're heading to Bali and want to have a taste of the real charm of Ubud, recharge those worn batteries, get a fantastic massage and have a real Cuban cigar thereafter-Villa Semana is it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumbleDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    94
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
536
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2010

excellent place to stay in ubud. we n joyed every moment of our 4 day stay. staff and owner very helpful and service above par. very clean and maintained villas with all facilities and amenities. located away from central ubud but ideal place to stay. it is away it is close to nature and along the river. Restaurant , Villas over viewing pool, river and greenery. pick and drop facility to ubud central is very good..will recommend and visit again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VipulModi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My partner and I wanted the villa experience in Bali and opted for a 2 day stay at Villa Semana because of the reviews from tripadvisor.com. As such, we had high expectations of the place. This place exceeded our expectations and beyond. Our entire stay there was incredibly romantic... we just felt so at peace and close to nature in the lovely environment that was Villa Semana.

Our villa was a corner one facing the padi fields, where we could watch villagers tending to their fields and chasing geese (!). Nothing beats the experience of sitting by the pool stargazing at night, with the sound of crickets and frogs in the background. In the mornings, we were woken up by the roosters crowing - really lovely. Initially, we had thought that having no TV in the villa would be a problem so we brought a portable DVD player; which remained unused for our entire stay there!

The restaurant was excellent - really, there is no need to eat anywhere else! We had all of our meals there as the food and service was so good and very reasonably priced. Everyone, including the other guests were just so friendly and wonderful that we felt right at home at the very start. Lovely little touches like the fruit basket, and chocolate cookies served at night just added to the incredible experience.

We also had a spa session at Villa Semana - a bit pricey but nothing beats getting a massage or a facial by the river. It was just SO good. Unfortunately, we could not extend our stay as it was the high season and someone had already booked our villa after we're due to leave.

I could probably go on forever about this place but you'd just have to read all the reviews to be convinced that this is a must-try experience, especially for couples and honeymooners.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasmin_m83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed here and wished we could stay longer. Amazing location, seclusion from other villas, exceptional service and very nice villas with their own plunge pools. Go for the package called the guest favourite. Would definitely go again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannybocxemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We took our honeymoon in Bali very recently, and the first place we stayed was Villa Semana. We only alloted 4 days here, but in retrospect we could have spent every single day here and never looked back.

First off the hotel is a little off the beaten path. Granted it is a 15-minute drive/shuttle ride into town, and though the hotel provides the service at no charge, the seclusion was very welcomed. Villa Semana is situated right next to the Ayung River in a large rice plantation. There are only 10 villas available and they fill up fast during the peak season (June-Sept). Each villa is wholly unique, quaintly decorated, and just perfect for a couple looking to get away for a while.

The spa is small, but superb. It is just 3 meters from the river, so the rushing current adds peaceful ambiance to your massage. The massage prices aren't too expensive, but are definitely above average by Bali standards. Still, don't let it deter you...it was one of the best massages we had there!

The food at the restaurant/room service was FANTASTIC. Truly. With both a Thai and Indonesian menu, you will not be disappointed with their eclectic offerings. I typically want to go into town and try all the local restaurants, but we were perfectly content just trying everything on the menu at the hotel!

There is a brilliant infinity pool near the restaurant, free wi-fi, business center (just one computer), and a slew of tourist information that you can even book through the hotel. We ended up booking a driver for the day and the hotel arranged all of the destinations for us. We saw myriad temples, Batur Volcano, Tegallalang, a coffee plantation (a must!!!) and even ended up at the Monkey Forest Temple, all within one day for a ridiculously low cost. They also booked an adventure tour with white water rafting and the Elephant Park through Bali Adventure tours for us.

Villa Semana: no expense spared, personal attention aplenty, and the greatest decision you will ever make in Bali.

Thanks again for everything!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffovadya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I have been living & travelling extensively in Asia for more than 12 years,
and Bali has always been a favourite destination to kick back and relax.
There are many excellent hotels in the Ubud area, but for me the “find”
of my last trip was Villa Semana. A true “oasis of calm”, this boutique
villa resort delivered exactly what it promised from the website.
Even though it was fully occupied at the time, the service level was still
very good, with well trained staff.
The small restaurant has wonderful views over the infinity pool and into
the river valley below. The menu is not extensive, however the standard
of the food was great...do not miss out on the duck curry.
Owner/manager Jurg Suter was fully engaged either making sure
service was as expected, or giving advice of the best rafting trips
to take...he is also a great story teller, so sit back and enjoy.
My wife and I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Words really can't describe this hotel! We spent four nights there while on honeymoon in July 2010 and knew it was something special the minute the car turned into the drive. There is no reception, just a shaded area, an incredible view over a rice paddy, and attentive staff to greet you and help with your luggage. We stayed in a one bedroom villa with a private plunge pool and it was wonderful, decorated with Balinese furniture, with a bedroom, upstairs lounge with views over the river, palm trees and paddies beyond, and a bathroom with an outside shower. Although there were other guests staying at the resort while we were there the villas are so well spaced and thoughtfully designed we felt we had the whole place to ourselves.
The thing that really sets the Villa Semana apart though are the grounds, the restaurant, the pool and the incredible views that all three afford. The resort is set on the edge of a sheer drop down to a river, banked by palm trees and rice paddies as far as the eye can see. The owners have made the most of this with the most amazing infinity pool set on the edge of the drop. The path that winds down the hill leads to a beautiful spa which we didn't look at until the morning we left - big mistake! A sunset massage here would have been fabulous.
The food was fantastic, we ate in the restaurant twice, sampling both western and balinese food, both of which were delicious. The breakfasts were a real highlight, again with a choice of local and international dishes. The staff were extremely helpful and professional, particularly the manager Jurg who kept us entertained through many a meal and also took us out on an exhilirating bike ride!
Ubud itself is really wonderful too, and the hotel provide a free shuttle into town on request. In fact, one of the best things about this hotel is its location as an out of town resort, yet with easy access to the centre. It really is the best of both worlds and somewhere to escape from the busy streets when it gets a bit too much!
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and hope to return someday to enjoy it all over again. Thanks Villa Semana - we miss you!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLSC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 198 in Ubud
604 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#77 of 198 in Ubud
355 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#26 of 198 in Ubud
210 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#21 of 198 in Ubud
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#52 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#60 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing