We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #70 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We couldn't have dreamed of a more beautiful place to stay in Bali. The villas, the river, the rice paddies, the gardens, the pools and the amazing staff!!! We truly relaxed and enjoyed the time spent at Villa Semana. Thanks Villa Semana!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiCat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    95
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
537
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

It was the first time I had stayed in UbudI was all amazed how beautiful it was. Villa Semana was located on a gorgeous hill just overlooking the river Ayung, with rice paddies within a short walking distance.

Although Villa Semana is probably more suited to couples, my friends and I had a lovely relaxing time and didn't feel uncomfortable amongst all the other couples. The villa itself was heavenly and quiet... exactly what my friends and I were looking for - a tranquil paradise that helped us relax and forget our busy lives for a couple of days. From our villa, I could see the fast flowing river, and the farmers working in the fields. Our private pool & sunning deck had sunshine over 80% of the day which was great.

I also experienced one of the most relaxing and enjoyable massages I've ever had. Considering I have massages on a weekly basis back home, this was a big call. But picture lying next to the river listening to the running water and faint jungle noises - it was lush. Highly recommend booking in a spa session. Other than the spa, you could go for bike rides, tours of Ubud and play golf at a nearby course.

The food was also delicious and very fresh - the owner even has his very own herb and rice padi fields so we were guaranteed to be served very fresh ingredients. On our second evening, we tried the "Special Indonesian Dinner" which was fresh prawns, duck and lemongrass pork - delicious and very filling.

Last but not least, the service was impeccable. From the staff at the restaurant, to the spa ladies - everyone was friendly, efficient and always smiling.

Thank you to the owner and his staff for making this a memorable stay. I highly recommend this villa to anyone who's looking for that extra something special and needs sometime to get away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heibronn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

An excellent place to stay if somebody wants to stay a little bit away form hustle and bustle of the very nice city of Ubud. A shuttle service brings you whenever you want to to the centre Very comfortable rooms and an excelent food.
Rooms, service and restaurant were excellent as well as the quailied massage!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisefan789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Our stay at Villa Semana was nothing less than perfect. Ubud is a busy noisy little village, especially when the tourists come from other parts of Bali to look at the beautiful arts and crafts for which it is famous. Our goal was for a retreat from our busy lives and restore some peace and tranquility and Villa Semana supplied all of that. Our villa overlooked rice paddies accompanied by the music of crickets, frogs, roosters and bird song (not motorbikes and tourists!).
Each villa makes you feel that the resort has been made just for you and nestles amongst the stunning, untouched and lush green country side.
But it is not the beautiful location or perfect little villas (complete with our own pool) or the cleanliness that sticks out in my mind, it was the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was undertaken with good grace to make our stay as easy and as comfortable as possible. I loved being able to talk to the drivers (of the shuttle bus - complimentary for you to get in and back from Ubud) or other staff, to find out more about their lives and experience the Balinese hospitable nature that I had read about.

We experienced the cooking classes, the riverside yoga, the dining (both at the beautiful restaurant and room service) and the spa services. Nothing could be faulted.

Villa Semana is a rare gem in this world of tourism.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbournemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed at the Villa Semana for three days during our Honeymoon in July 2010. This is a great hotel, with beautifl villas, in a superb lucation. The view from the rooms and the restaurant is trully spectacular. The hotel is located about 10 minutes from Ubud centre, and the hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service. The design of the villas is in traditional Balinese style, with all the contemporary amenities, coupled with finesse and elegant taste. The price per night was a bit on the expensive side, but if was worth it. The hotel's true asset is the staff: they all really went out of their way to help us, cover our every need and make sure this was an unforgettable stay. I woudl return to the Villa Semana at a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panoskaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2010

one of my best stays on a holiday...very friendly staff-,good restaurant, relaxing spa, prompt transfers to town centre, very ambient atmosphere. we were really sad leaving this place- we felt at home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

There are boutique hotels and there are boutique hotels.. This is the place that does it for me. Its close to Ubud town (15mins drive) but defnitely away from it all. I love the fact the place is small and intimate. Staff are friendly and the owner/manager is engaging. You will never tire of the views from Semana as well-from the working padi fields to the Ayung River, everything about it has a calming but yet engaging charm.

There are a few different types of villas, all come with a private pluge pool. Styled in more traditional Balinese style without being overwhelming, when you wake up you know you are in Bali. Each villa offers a different view and its own lovely experience, but the Semana spa will essentially blow your mind away. When you walk right down to the river's edge, that's where you get your massage done. You will only hear the running water and look on to the flowing river; its so rare to find a place that gets you so close to nature and then you realise why they call Bali the Isle of the Gods. The Balinese have it good, and they know it.

The food at the Villa Semana restaurant is excellent-the restaurant looks over the main infinity pool and it very romantic in the evenings. Serivce is attentive but not invasive. Most important is that the staff try their best to give you what you ask for.

Then there are the cigars-Villa Semana has recently added a small but very good collection of Habanos in a very elegant display humidor. My best time spent in Semana were the afternoon coffees with a good Cuban cigar. Almost as good as smoking in Cuba itself!

This place's no children policy works wonders too-no screaming kids to annoy the crap out of everyone.

So if you're heading to Bali and want to have a taste of the real charm of Ubud, recharge those worn batteries, get a fantastic massage and have a real Cuban cigar thereafter-Villa Semana is it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumbleDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 198 in Ubud
619 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chapung SeBali Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#23 of 198 in Ubud
219 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.6 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#43 of 198 in Ubud
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#53 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#60 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing