We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Ubud”
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Semana
Ranked #81 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Just returned from 5 glorious days at Villa Semana.
If you really want to sense the peace ,tranquility and feel of Bali , Villa Semana is the place !
Cannot fault the accomodation,food,spa,pool and location,but without doubt the amazing staff are the standout.From the shuttle driver through to the owner , all have a smile for you and go out of their way to make you feel fantastic.
If you are going to Bali.This is a MUST.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deejadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2011

We spent 3 nights in Villa Semana in Oct 2010 for our honeymoon. It was a wonderful experience for us. As they only have 10 villas, they are very attentive and the service are very good. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed the breakfast with the nice scenery. The porridge was yummy.
To avoid mosquito/insects, we chose to stay in the two storeys villa instead of single storey with an open area. As they only have "one" two storeys villa, you might want to book first to avoid disappointment.

We also like the Balinese furniture in the villa. They are very nice. They don't have television but they provide cd player with many nice cds. You can bring your own favorite cds if you want it. They also provide free wi-fi connection.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wnnylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This is an outstanding Villa, where you will truly enjoy the experience of having your own private pool, being close to nature and a very excellent customer service. If you want to get away from the hustle bustle of the city, Villa Semana is the perfect retreat.
The staff's forever wearing a big smile on their faces and greeting us with "I apologise, excuse me.."
The Villa is a tad off Ubud - we had abit of a surprise when the transportation provided with our boat transfer from Gili told us they couldnt send us there as its out of Ubud. Taxis are easily available from Ubud, at 50k(we did manage to bargain down to 40k). There are specific timings for the shuttle service provided by the hotel, if it helps.
We did hear that the Villa is well known for their Spa. Pity we didnt have a chance to enjoy the spa experience.
The Villa is great! - very delicious breakfast, comfortable rooms/beds, our own private pool with lounge chairs and a well sized bath tub.
We truly enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morph_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed three nights at Villa Semana after reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The property is simply stunning - lush greenery, gorgeous views to the rice paddies and the river, colorful flowers and traditional Balinese decor in a luxury setting. We stayed in Villa Vanda which was overlooking the rice paddies and was comfortable and tastefully decorated. We loved the private pool and the outdoor shower. The family room was open-air (only the bedroom and the bathroom was airconditioned) and we would have loved the open-air concept except we were there in December when Bali is very hot and humid. Still, we were very comfortable in the air-conditioned bedroom and bathroom. If you are looking for a large indoor air-conditioned space to lounge, you may prefer to ask for one of the larger villas.

Service could not have been better. Everyone was so friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. We booked the Guest Favorites package and LOVED the cooking class with Chef Alit. Definitely do the cooking class - it was one of the highlights of our entire trip to Asia!! We also throught the half day tour was great - our driver personalized the tour for us to our tastes and interests and was so friendly.

The food is incredible - breakfast was super fresh and we ate dinner there twice. Amazing! Chef Alit and his kitchen are very talented.

The property was a little far from the center of Ubud, but they run a free shuttle service every hour (15 min to the town). If you are looking to stay directly in the middle of town, you may be happier somewhere else.

We thought Villa Semana was a truly lovely place - very private, quiet, and personalized to us. The service was impeccable, the food terrific and the surroundings lovely. It is definitely a romantic place that would be great for couples/partners. There is no nightlife or anywhere close to walk to, so if you are looking for nightlife and social fun then it might not be for you. For us, it was exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chorea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Villa Semana was a beautiful resort, the staff was amazing and very helpful. The quality of the restaurant was excellent. We used the spa couples package and highly recommend it to anyone on a romantic holiday. The Villa has a daily shuttle into Ubud that was very easy to use and convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helpful_Chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Villa Semana is a magnificent resort just outside of Ubud. The villas are tastefully and comfortably appointed and have marvelous views of the surrounding rice paddies and the Ayung River. The food is exceptional; prepared using fresh vegetables from the resort's own gardens and served in the restaurant overlooking the infinity pool. A vast range of services are offered at the Semana Spa in a lovely outdoor setting on the Ayung River (the romantic Semana Harmony for two is highly recommended!). On the three occasions I have visited VS, I had the opportunity to stay in Villa Melati, Villa Vanda and the Semana suite (Villa Cempaka). All were spacious, lovely and extremely private. Villa Cempaka is perfect for honeymooners or anyone who wants to have their own private paradise amongst the resort's lush tropical flora and fauna. Tranquility abounds and if rest and relaxation are what you are looking for, there is no better place than Villa Semana!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCarl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Great location amongst the rice paddies and the gushing Ayung River below. Wonderful service and staff and a great free shuttle service into the centre of Ubud town on a regular basis all day long. Only a short 15 minute drive in a clean air-conditioned van.

The tour guides were very comprehensive and friendly and we had the pleasure of meeting the owner who pointed us in the right direction for a lovely day out seeing the best of bali. Our particular guide was very helpful in offering tips to avoid getting led off by hawkers which was invaluable.

Day Spa was memorable on the banks of the Ayung River. Very relaxing 3 hour pamper will be hard to forget.

They clearly take much pride in their food as they have an excellent restaurant serving Indonesian, Thai and Western dishes. We ate there one night for dinner and the food was exceptional as was the service.

We thorougly enjoyed our stay at Villa Semana and will most certianly be recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emwah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#28 of 200 in Ubud
662 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
4.3 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#79 of 200 in Ubud
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.6 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#54 of 200 in Ubud
427 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#60 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#68 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £74 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing