We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a quiet relaxing getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Semana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Semana
Ranked #65 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
2 reviews
“a quiet relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

small (10 villas only) independently owned, extremely attentive but not overbearing staff, wonderful chef, isolated location bordering river, forest and paddy fields.
A wonderful place to relax and do bugger all!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank troll10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    94
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
532
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

It was an amazing location set amongst the lush, working paddy fields. The villa was beautifully fitted out with our own plunge pool and everything else you’d require and with no tv & a nice supply of ‘chilled’ music it was both relaxing and refreshing.

The staff were fabulous and the food great. We indulged in a 2hr spa down by the river enjoying a glass of bubbles, it really doesn’t get much better than that!

I would highly recommend this property if you are looking to chill and enjoy some mountain scenery, Ubud is a lovely town with many funky restaurants & bars. Our only regret was we only stayed 3 nights – enjoy!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OB1Hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Villa Semana's location is a little ouside Ubud and very private but beautiful at the same time with adjoining rice fields. It was easy enough to get into Ubud with hourly transfers and pick ups.

The villa we stayed in was clean, comfortable and had a character quite befitting of the environment. The resort it self was well appointed with the highlight being the spa by the river.

Jurgen, the owner, made us feel very welcome and even took us on a mountain bike tour of the local area. The staff were always helpful and friendly, and we especially enjoyed our cooking lesson from the head chef.

Definately highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

The service was impeccable with everything you could want. The food, in particular was excellent. We loved the Balinese coffee which was thick and fragrant. It is vertainly different from the ones you can get elsewhere!
The staff were very attentive, kind and warm, with very personalised and thoughtful service. We were attended to by a small number of staff who remembered us and engaged us in conversations.
Rooms were clean and beautiful and felt very much like home. It was almost too good to bother to travel out for sightseeing!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

stayed at villa semana with my husband in january 11 for 3 nights , the villas are lovely with only 10 in the resort its very quite, our room overlooked the padi fields , rooms were very clean and service excellent by all staff, they couldn't do enough for you. i can highly recommend villa semana and the spa which we did use. location is out of ubud but they run a shuttle regularly day and night. the breakfast and dinners were very good as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamersydney_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We had the tremendous fortune of staying at Villa Semana for our honeymoon. It was a great decision. The hidden location in Ubud is gorgeous. It is settled quietly in between the Ayung River and local rice paddies and the views are down right jaw dropping. The owners spared no expense in maintaining the natural beauty of the location while providing for first rate accommodations. There are only 10 private villas at Villa Semana and so the area is tranquil. We had our own swimming pool, open air living room and separate bedroom. The service is also unrivaled. We never stayed at such an accommodating and friendly place. All of the people there go out of their way to make sure you are happy. Make sure you try the private spa and a bike tour with the owner, Jurg (be prepared for an intense ride!). Villa Semana is truly one with nature while providing all of the amenities of a 5 star hotel.

We can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ynsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Just returned from 5 glorious days at Villa Semana.
If you really want to sense the peace ,tranquility and feel of Bali , Villa Semana is the place !
Cannot fault the accomodation,food,spa,pool and location,but without doubt the amazing staff are the standout.From the shuttle driver through to the owner , all have a smile for you and go out of their way to make you feel fantastic.
If you are going to Bali.This is a MUST.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deejadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#27 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.0 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.3 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#61 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Semana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Semana

Property: Villa Semana
Address: Banjar Semana, Desa Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#15 Family Hotel in Ubud
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#56 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Semana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Semana & Spa is a hidden treasure deep in the Ubud area of Bali. It is located 7km or 15 minutes drive by our free scheduled shuttle service everyday. Villa Semana & Spa consists of 10 private pool villas each with unique views of the Ayung River tributaries. Your home away from home offers 180-degrees views of stunning valleys and rice fields that make choosing Ubud an easy decision. Be part of nature and experience total relaxation in the lotus pond bath with sound of near by waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Semana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Semana Hotel Ubud
Villa Semana Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing