We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room but dirty bathroom!”
Review of Putri Ayu Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Putri Ayu Cottages
Ranked #396 of 542 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, nice room but dirty bathroom!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had a good stay. The location is in a quiet surrounding overlooking the ricefields and only a 5 minute scooter ride from monkey forest. We could rent the scooter from the hotel for only 50.000 RP. We asked for a room in the newly built part, which we got. The room was nice, big, neat, with a good bed. With one major big but, the bathtub was so dirty! It had black goo! And there was a half used shampoo bottle, so we pressume they didnt clean the bathroom after the previous guest. We told the manager and he only said sorry but the cleaning staff had already left. The black goo remained in the tub for the 3 nights we staid there. When I showed the manager the picture and told him we made the same complaint on the first night, he said sorry. So I suggested to give a partly refund. the best he could do (reluctantly) was 15.000 RP (€1,50) discount on our scooter rent. Not a suitable compensation in my opinion. The shower was really weak! It was a challenge to wash my hair. We wanted to book an extra night and saw on agoda they had 6 rooms available. According to the hotel they were full, very strange! The breakfast was oké. They had a small but nice pool. Wifiin the room was good. So overall it was a good hotel, good location but my advice would be to ask for a room in the new part and take good

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel! Or go to Puji, down the street, cheaper and cleaner wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    30
    22
    13
See reviews for
16
43
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

with TV fridge tea and coffee facilities, the staff were super friendly and helpful. The driver dropped me where I wanted to go and always offered to come and pick me up.
The owner was delightful, I would stay here again. Thank you everyone for making the stay so pleasant

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puzzerli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We searched for a tranquil hotel in Ubud and we got it. The room is big as pictured and we've got new room. The staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast is tasty either Indonesian or American breakfasts, We can still view the ricefields.
The downsides are:
- far from the city
- there are no coffee maker/tea maker
- noise from building construction works in neighbour hotel
- intercom is off so we have to rush to lobby if we need anythings

Room Tip: Select newer rooms in the backyard of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Looking at the photos on the website and given the cost of a room we were expecting something a lot better. Main gripe is that the whole place needs a good clean, mosquito nets were grey and stained and our suite smelt of cigarettes. next door is a building site where the builders and their families are living in shacks, however if you put the air I ditto ing on at night it drowns out the sounds of crying children and revelry. The location will be ok once road paved but we needed to use hotel shuttle to get to Ubud as road was a muddy mess. Sadly rice paddy views hardly exist any more. Ther are a lot better places to lay your tired head.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliveNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a deluxe villa and overall it was a pleasant stay.
Positioned at the dirt road section of Bismah Road, these villas are a little bit away from central ubud but this makes you feel like you are definately in Bali amongst the rice fields.
You can walk into ubud ( about 30min walk away) or they offer free transfers into town. The room was spacious and clean with a nice patio to the side. We experienced terrible mosquitoes so definitely use the mosquito net over the bed and repellent. Also the wi-fi did not work while we were there and there was no fridge or tv.
There is also construction at the back of the villas and on both neighboring sides, so it was a little noisy at times.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here as it was a good base for ubud while being away from the touristy strip of monkey forest road.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Even though the rooms are very big, and staff very friendly, it a good 20-30 mins walk into Ubud centre, with no lighting at night on a very poor road. Staff were helpful and took me into town for dinner and back at extra cost, but I would not choose this place again. Also no TV or fridge in the rooms, and swimming pool was very cloudy!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robdongtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

The staff are friendly and very helpful, breakfast is basic but nice, good pool. Quiet, but the night duck quacking from the adjoining paddy fields is a bonus. Links to webistes that promote Bali nightlife were confusing as this is not a nightspot. I enjoyed a room with a sunset view over rice fields.
I did not see a refrigerator, safe box (left my valuables with the manager) or TV - so these are not standard features. Wi-fi was good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank humphreyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.0 mi away
Kiskenda Cottages
Kiskenda Cottages
#134 of 198 in Ubud
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#100 of 198 in Ubud
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Y Resort Ubud
Y Resort Ubud
#149 of 198 in Ubud
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homayoon Villa
Homayoon Villa
#305 of 542 in Ubud
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bucu View Bungalows
Bucu View Bungalows
#60 of 542 in Ubud
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bisma Sari Resort
Bisma Sari Resort
#444 of 554 in Ubud
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Putri Ayu Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putri Ayu Cottages

Property: Putri Ayu Cottages
Address: Bisma Street, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 542 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Putri Ayu Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Putri Ayu Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Putri Ayu Cottages Hotel Ubud
Putri Ayu Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing