We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay which can be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion
Ranked #202 of 542 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay which can be improved”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The villa is very roomy, quite and clean with views of greenery. They provided us welcome drinks and fruit basket is available for free. However, the Air villa we stayed has glass window walls (also in the toilet) and there is no door for the bathroom/toilet, so you need to close the curtains to get the feeling of privacy (but the curtain in bathroom will block the view from miror too) and close the door of the dressing room when using toilet. They should add an extra trash bin in the room and hot water kettle (although they provide hot water in the room every evening). At night, there was no hotel staff in the hotel, so you could only hope that nothing urgent happened during the night. Still, we have had good impression about the place and friendly staff.

The place has nice decoration. There is an gallery, restaurant and a gelato shop. The place is empty during our stay (we saw only one other guest) which is perfect for people prefering a lot of privacy. The phone line was broken during our 2 nights stay and they seemed unable to get it fixed, so we had problems contacting our friends who stayed in another hotel.

Restaurant is very airy and well-decorated. There are some hay dust on seats and usually empty. However, it has too few choices of food. I would suggest the hotel to list more food. There are 4 breakfast choices (which 2 are very boring one), so I would not know what to eat after the 2nd night stay. The juices are the best and we regretted not being able to taste their gelato.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diaspora_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights. We were booked into 'Villa Jepun' - one of only 4 Villas in the complex. The villa was huge, a beautiful design, very modern Bali feel. The four villas are set on a very large portion of land overlooking rice fields from the top down to a river valley at the base. Very well spread out making it so private. The restaurant was lovely, and the Gelato (made on site and sold at the shop) is to die for - we highly recommend ordering this from your Villa, they will deliver to you any time, a lovely dessert of an evening. No private pools, but the main pool is very nice, and as there are so few Villas you can pretty much get the pool to yourself. Located about 5min scooter ride to central Ubud, lovely and peaceful. Art gallery on site as well, and amazing Ceramic Art Work throughout the villas. A truly unique experience. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathanandiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stumbled upon Gaya Villas by chance after a struggle to find a hotel in Ubud that wasn’t fully booked at the last minute. It appeared to tick all of the boxes - having a pool, air conditioning, Wi-Fi, a TV and within 10 minutes of Ubud centre, so we booked via Agoda and got a very reasonable rate for one of the bungalows. We contacted the hotel to arrange a free airport pick up in a comfortable, modern air conditioned SUV, and when we finally arrived we discovered we had been upgraded from one of the bungalows to a private villa (Bambu) as the hotel had a conference on during our stay, so the shared living area of the bungalows would not be available, and therefore they thought we’d like to have some more privacy - a very nice touch. We only had a small problem with this - Villa Bambu (although lovely) doesn’t have a TV, so we asked if anything else was available. We were swiftly shown to Villa Jepun, which did have a TV, and it was FABULOUS! It is probably the most beautiful accommodation I have ever stayed, and I have been to plenty of 5 star hotels large and small. The resort only has 6 or so villas / bungalows, so it is very much boutique and the focus on style and art gave it a really unique feel. The Gaya website doesn’t portray just how special this place is, so go and be delighted with every little extra design touch you notice!

Things we loved:

*The quality finish of the villas - everything seemed to have been designed with a keen aesthetic eye, from the furniture to the art, to the stunning, spacious bathroom with cute little toiletries jars (shampoo, conditioner, shower, soap, tooth brushes / toothpaste et al are provided), which all fit into the themes of the villa. Everything was also spotlessly clean. Gaya Villas has the restaurant and art gallery at the front of the main building (Gaya Fusion) and an art and ceramics centre, and everything ceramic in the villa had been designed and made in house - even down to the key rings for the room. The villas have been designed by a famous Italian architect, and the ceramics house also supplies their wares to the Bulgari hotel and other up-market resorts, so the standards are very high.
*The service - the staff could not do enough for us, both from the hotel management and the restaurant. We had very bad jet lag the first two days and didn’t end up surfacing until 1pm, and the restaurant very kindly bought us breakfast even at such a late hour. We didn’t eat dinner in the restaurant, but the breakfasts were very good indeed. The gardener who kept the small grounds looking lush was also a very polite and friendly gentleman.
*The natural setting - The resort looks down onto a creek and the view from our villa was of beautiful palms and other flora and fauna. The pool was lovely and clean too, and the furniture in the shared living area that overlooks it was both modern and beautiful - it was lovely to sit and read a book here as the setting is so tranquil.
*The Spa - we had a couples massage in the spa pavilion, which has an open front facing the jungle and it was SO stunning - you could just listen to the crickets whirring and the birds calling. Massages are reasonably priced and it was a fantastic treat, and you get to have an open air shower afterwards which was a unique experience.
*The Gelato bar - read the reviews for Gelato at Gaya Fusion - it’s amazing and I am gutted I only tried it once (though my thighs are probably thanking me). It’s open until late so perfect for a little something sweet after dinner in town.

Things we didn’t like

*The only thing I could say was the prices in the restaurant did seem a bit expensive compared to Ubud (which was 48,000 IDR to get to for a cab booked from the hotel, and then you can negotiate from 30,000 - 40,000 to get back via any cabbies touting for business - Blue Bird and other metered cabs are non-existent in Ubud), but we did go to Ubud to sample the many different restaurants, so this wasn’t really a problem. The menu did look good though - a fusion of Italian and Asian food.

Other things to do

We stayed at Gaya for four nights (as part of a two week holiday around Bali and Lombok), and there was plenty to do in the area. We took the Lonely Planet Bali & Lombok book with us, and also took my iPhone so could take full advantage of the free WIFI at Gaya to suss out the best activities and restaurants via the Trip Advisor site. We did the Banyan Bike Tours (around 400,000 IDR) which was excellent - a 3 -4 hour bike ride including breakfast and lunch, with free hotel pick up and all equipment included - we’d highly recommend this. We also saw the Barong dance at Ubud Palace which was very interesting, though be warned - if you go when you are tired, the relaxing music of the gamelan (xylophone) orchestra may have you nodding off! For restaurant recommendations, we also found a great Guardian article online of Top 10 places to eat in Ubud - Google it and you’re all set!

Room Tip: The private villas are newer than the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonjour_Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2010

love the view and surrounding! we love the food as well as their Italian handmade gelato!! Fantastic all in one spot.. cant wait to come back next year..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed here on a family trip, but these 3 suites are probably best suited to a couple who would enjoy chilling out, either at the art gallery or in the Italian/Asian restaurant, or lying by the small pool, beautifully framed by a jungle backdrop – family temple included. There is a small spa room for a relaxing massage and breakfast is served just for you in the communal living area, decorated by lovely flower displays and works of art. Rooms are stylish, but simple. No TV in family suite – if that bothers you, this probably isn’t your kind of place. If you notice how a flower’s been arranged or a picture hung and love to read in peace, this is a good, quiet Ubud choice. Ten mins max into the centre.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We had a great 4-night stay at the lovely, tranquil Gaya Fusion Villas.

There are only 3 villas set around a gorgeous pool and courtyard area so book early so you don't miss out. Our villa had a large bed, a large sitting area with a beautiful daybed which looked out into the rainforest valley below, and a large semi-outdoor shower and bathroom area. There is plenty of room and storage and the villa was beautifully furnished. There are no TVs in the room.

There is a funky art gallery and lovely restaurant on-site as well.

In terms of location, the Villas are approximately 100 metres from the Four Seasons, so a short taxi ride from central Ubud.

Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gets22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.2 mi away
Aria Villas Ubud
Aria Villas Ubud
#23 of 198 in Ubud
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tejaprana Resort & Spa
Tejaprana Resort & Spa
#20 of 198 in Ubud
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Onje Resort and Villas
Onje Resort and Villas
#71 of 542 in Ubud
141 reviews
2.1 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
2.2 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion

Property: Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion
Address: Jalan Raya Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 542 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaya Villas originally built as bungalows for our artists, set between the nature of the river gorge and the culture of the Art Space, integrate original artwork with luxurious living - a reflection of our philosophy that art and life are inseparable. Our Italian-Balinese fusion architecture includes marble floors and grass "alang alang" roofs, two shared living areas (one overlooking the pool and gardens, another with a large table and cushions) and a swimming pool with sun-lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gaya Villas at Gaya Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaya Villas Hotel Ubud
Gaya Villas At Gaya Fusion Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing