We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sri Sunari Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sri Sunari Guest House
Ranked #177 of 513 Ubud B&B and Inns
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We found this hotel at tripadvisor and it was an absolute right hotel for us, a young couple, seeking relaxed, people oriented, inexpensive accommodation that is close to Ubud centre (15min walking). Staff were well trained and helpful. We were lucky to be given the best room (with big balcony and a view to rice field) and it certainly was a highlight in our experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you email first, for the room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZooShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
47
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Very comfortable and quiet oasis just outside of the chaos of Ubud with unbelievably friendly and helpful staff. Cool pool.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is a small boutique guest house containing only four rooms. The grounds are beautiful. The property is not large but their efforts to section the garden is well done and provides areas of privacy and peace. Interesting plants are being grown which are fascinating to look at for themselves alone. The small fish pond, and the large koi, provide lively natural music especially as dusk hits and the bugs come out. The frogs accompany and serenade. The guest house is in the middle of a number of rice paddies and is reached via a small side path. It is a couple of minutes out of Ubud so you will need transport.

The rooms are spacious though lightly decorated. The bathrooms have a lovely natural feel and there is lots of hot water. There is no air conditioning but with the fan we didn't need it.

There is a lovely pool and a spot for massages if you wish. They can organise laundry for a very reasonable price and upon request this can, and did, include small repairs. Breakfast is included but there is no restaurant on site so for lunches and dinners you must either leave or the staff will help you order delivery.

Breakfast options are limited (jaffels, banana pancakes, toast and egg) however the first two we tried and they were very tasty and of sufficient quantity. The pancake was crisp and sweet and the jaffel so good we ordered extra.

Service is excellent. We had many small requests over the course of our 7 day stay and all of them were met without fuss or bother. Staff are friendly and provide a family atmosphere.

If you are looking to find peace and tranquility this is certainly a place to look. We spent many days here not feeling the need to go anywhere.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms, two on the top and two on the bottom. Our favorite was on the bottom thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awialusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on the way to the Gili Islands. I wish I had stayed longer! The staff is super helpful and friendly with the owner driving us to a dance performance and to and from his wife's amazing restaurant.

The breakfasts on the porch in the morning were delicious and the pool was a welcome relief, especially in such a small spot.

Although it's a bit of a long walk on streets without sidewalks to get into Ubud proper, the peaceful location among rice paddies and the friendly staff make up for it!

Room Tip: The upstairs ones have a beautiful private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yozhik202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I have visited Bali many times and stayed here twice. Last year we stayed for two nights and this year for ten. Once again we loved being here because its friendly simplicity suits us. We love the look and feel of the rooms, the library books from Naropa Institute as well as best sellers and warmth of the staff. We don’t feel a need to be too close to the centre of town and love not having a television or air conditioning. Sri Sunari’s rooms have character, but are also very clean and so is the swimming pool that feels very good on a warm afternoon.

Yes it has changed since last year. The view across the rice paddies now has other buildings but this is life as more people want to build away from the town there are more bigger places out here.

Another thing that is so nice about Sri Sunari is the feeling that it is not just a foreign enterprise and there is no need for a security guard. The young men and women who support Nyoman care too. Also if you don’t feel like leaving to go town you can order food in and many good restaurants deliver. Right now it is our last night here and while listening to the crickets and frogs I’m thinking about how nice it will be to come back again.

Room Tip: We really like the upstairs rooms, but it would not be good for someone who has bad knees or needs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I was surprise how far it was from the monkey forest street in Ubud. The first night , I didn't sleep until 02:00am because the staff was on party, chinese new year!!!! One egg was serve for breakfast... And a very light coffee. When to starbuck after.... I returned at 09:00pm, the alley was dark, no light so I took my Iphone to light the way, It's about 75 meters you are going to walk in a dark pathway surrended by jungle with a lot of thing crawling, so bring a flashlight!!!!!

There is no air con so, fan cooled only. Since the picture on the web site, they builded another house in from, partial view of the ricefield only. Conclusion, not worth the price and don't forget to had the cost of taxi to get back home at night...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapequenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Sri Sunari is visiting your uncle's home in the heart of Bali. Located just a tiny ride away from Ubud's center, you are greeted by the well educated and grateful family of the owner, who live right there and you are treated very authentically. This family owns the Wild Ginger restaurant, which along with Batan Waru is probably the best in town. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ddhwu436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#5 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Royal Pita Maha
The Royal Pita Maha
#1 of 5 in Kedewatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
3.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Sunari Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Sunari Guest House

Property: Sri Sunari Guest House
Address: Jl Gunung Sari | Ambegan, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Sunari is a 4 suite inn, located at the head of the rice fields a short way from the busy center of Ubud. Peace and quiet, delicious free breakfast, lap sized pool and full time staff make for a wonderful Balinese experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sri Sunari Guest House Hotel Ubud
Sri Sunari Guest House Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing