We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my time here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sri Sunari Guest House
Ranked #181 of 555 Ubud B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Loved my time here”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed here by myself for a few days in Oct 2012. I was made to feel really welcome. I had a lower room and loved it. Good clean size bedroom, bathroom and veranda. Often I had the pool to myself. The banana pancakes were a great way to start the day. It is a walk into town, maybe 15-20mins but you could get a taxi bike for a couple of dollars. I personally liked being out of town and falling asleep to the sound of the wind blowing through the rice fields at night. Perfect bliss

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondiebrownie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
48
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We booked for 2 nights but stayed for 3 (and would have stayed longer had it not been full to capacity) in late August 2012. It is off the road, surrounded by rice paddies and is very tranquil and serene. It was a great place to chill, relax and sunbathe after a lot of traveling- the swimming pool is large. As it is a 10/15 minute walk or so (or 5 minute taxi) into the hub of Ubud, the staff were very helpful with a wide range of takeaway menus if we didn't feel like venturing out for meals and wanted to stay by the pool- they would phone the restaurants and get the food delivered (the food is generally amazing in Ubud with a wide range of choices to meet any pallet- we had a lot of healthy takeaways- organic soups, curries and salads). We stayed in the cheapest room which was very nice- good sized double bed, good temperature, decent bathroom. And I must say it was very clean and well-maintained. You can tell that Nyoman (the friendly manager) really takes a lot of pride in the place. The other staff are very helpful too and just want to help wherever they can- very friendly too. The breakfasts were good- fresh fruit and banana pancakes and coffee for us, but there was a choice of other things too!

Yes, it isn't central but your money goes a lot further here than in central Ubud, and it's a very cheap taxi ride if you don't want to walk or alternatively you could rent a scooter. We spent the rest of our time in central Ubud as this place was fully booked and even though we were paying a lot more in the central hotel, it wasn't nearly as clean, the staff were less friendly and helpful and we compared the pool to a murky pond!

STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandmands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaihingen an der Enz, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at Sri Sunari in May for 5 nights and it was perfect. We had a nice room upstairs with balcony. Every morning we got our breakfast on the balcony with fresh fruit, bread, jam, eggs coffee. Everything was very clean and the service was great. On request, a local tour was organized by Nyoman (owner of Sri Sunari) with a drive to the main sceneries but as well local special retsaurants, so not too touristic. Thanks again to Nyoman and his wife for these wonderful days. We will come back / Oliver from Germany

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed our last two nights in Indonesia at Sri Sunari. The place is very nicely decorated with friendly and helpful staff. The room and bathroom are the best we had during our holidays. The major disadvantage however is the distance to the city centre requiring a 15-minute hike along a busy road, partly made difficult because of a lack of sidewalk or other space to walk safely. We expected to see a little more from the surroundings when inside the property, but this is made difficult due to high walls and fences, which is a shame. The pictures on the website are not very up-to-date because there are now other houses blocking part of the view. The pool however is enormous considering there are only four rooms, and can be refreshing after a long day. We would recommend this to people with own transport (+driver) or if you do not mind taking a taxi to your hotel every time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I've stayed in a few places in Ubud and would definitely stay here again!!! I LOVED the location, the view and the value.

LOCATION: Just outside of town, and surrounded by rice paddies.
You'll need a motorbike or taxi! (or you can borrow their bicycles but there are HILLS to bike up so...you'll get your heart rate up!). It's about 5 mins or less to town by motorbike or taxi.

FOOD: They gave us take out menus and we ordered delivery. Also, the owners family has a restaurant near town that was very good: Wild Ginger.

ROOM: A bit basic, but clean and have cool indonesian style wood doors that make it feel like being in Bali. The rooms have huge balconies that are well furnished for chilling outdoors and looking at the view.

VIEW: Rice paddies!!! Get a room on the second floor so you can see them. Downstairs there's really no view and you'll miss out on something special.

POOL: Small but it has one!

SERVICE: Friendly and basic.

Overall, I love this place because you get one of the best views in Bali, a clean room and a great price!!! One little issue, the gecco lizards are loud at night and take getting used to.

Must like lizards. ;)

Room Tip: Get a second floor room so you can see the rice paddy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susQnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Sri Sunari is excellent value. Short trip - walk, taxi or owner transport - from main street Ubud (and Miro's Garden Restaurant + Art Museum)! Co-owner Nioman and wife Putu (with excellent, separate restaurant - 12 seats only - Wild Ginger) + very friendly, obliging staff. Rice fields one side, jungle the other. Quiet except for the sounds of the rural community - rice tractor, geese, roosters, frogs. Had downstairs bungalow. All good - clean, comfortable - overhead fan adequate - quaint, out of 'mainstream' hotel style, with loads of local art - pictures and sculpture. Set in attractive gardens with a superb pool - very clean and long enough for laps. Lovely, large veranda with chair, sofa, sculptures. An idyll in peaceful, energising Ubud. Ron Dent & Sally Woolford. Older (but still hot) couple. Australia

Room Tip: Some say choose upstairs. We were down and it was fine. You walk through the rice paddies to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodent_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at Sri Sunari for 2 weeks when we first arrived in Bali. Nyoman picked us up at the airport with a smile and cold drinks and it kept getting better and better. The staff played with our five year old daughter and kept her happy and entertained. The rooms are super clean and sweet and it felt very very safe. It's not an easy walk into Ubud but they'll drive you anytime you like. Or you can get local and rent your own scooter :) I'd highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balilocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 198 in Ubud
1,012 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 198 in Ubud
1,858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#3 of 198 in Ubud
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Sunari Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Sunari Guest House

Property: Sri Sunari Guest House
Address: Jl Gunung Sari | Ambegan, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Sunari is a 4 suite inn, located at the head of the rice fields a short way from the busy center of Ubud. Peace and quiet, delicious free breakfast, lap sized pool and full time staff make for a wonderful Balinese experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sri Sunari Guest House Hotel Ubud
Sri Sunari Guest House Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing