We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like the real bali”
Review of Bambu Indah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bambu Indah
Ranked #62 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Notting Hill, London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It feels like the real bali”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed here after 4 nightsnof luxery at the w hotel seminyak, and i thought bambu indah was the perfect counterbalance.

While the w is very modern, bambu indah feels like you've gone back in time without lacking modern comfort such as air con etc.

Bambu indah is about 15 minutes outside ubud centre, but easily reached by taxi (it will cost about £5) a way and you can preorder taxis at reception.

We didn't love the touristy centre of ubud much and preferred to be outside the main centre with amazing views of rice paddies, jungle and the mountains in e background.

We stayed at the udang house, which is set back a little and only has a partial view of the valley, which doesn't give you the incentive to use the porch much. The room is stylishly decorated but basic. It has air con inside the mosquito net, but because it is an old house (a traditional javanese villa) theree are gaps in the woodwork, so both the heat and the mosquitos get inside the room. However the mosquito net properly keeps the creepy crawlies away and because the rooms are so very clean i didn't even spot one spider.

If i'd ever return, i would ask for the kuno house which has a much better view of e valley from the front porch, or if i didn't care about the extra spend, the africa or padi house, which have direct view of the valley. There are a few other houses too: the eleanora house has very large glass windows and the kolam house is set back behind a wall and feels very authentic. I cannot comment on any of the other houses' interiours as i haven't seem them.

Breakfast consists of coffee, a juice, some fresh fruit and a choice of cooked breakfast. I thought the pancakes were the best, better than the omelett and the burrito.

Service is fine and friendly, but don't expect a top concierge. We asked for a one to one bicycle guide and were told that only tours with larger groups are on offer. Laterwefoynd out at our walking guide also offered private bicycle tours.

All in all, i would recommend this place for the view, the cleanliness and its very unique nature. But bear in mind it doesn't come cheap and there might be better bargains to be found. But why risk it when bambu indah is nearly flawless.

If you are looking for places closer to ubud, try uma ubud. The communal areaslook great, but i cannot comment on the rooms

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London_Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjok9960, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Tjok9960, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review
December 05 2011


Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for adding the spirit of our team with your wonderful review We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves through the day with us at The Bambu Indah for your perfect holiday in Bali.
Please accept our best thanks for recommending the Bambu Indah Villa Ubud
We look forward to welcoming you again


Sincerely Yours

The Management and Staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    75
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
106
249
65
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nissi47
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Bambu Indah is by far one of the most special places I've ever been. It almost seems weird to think of it as a hotel. Its open air buildings, like the reception area and restaurant, plus the black bamboo yoga hut were stunning and peaceful. Each room is actually its own hut or house, with outdoor showers and porches. The organic vegetable garden gives forth healthy and incredibly fresh food, and the view of the rice paddies is stunning.
The pool was fresh water with a fun palm tree to climb and rope swing to jump off into it. I felt like a kid again.
The staff was SO helpful and friendly--the manager, Tjok is gracious, kind and helpful til the end. They even set up excursions for us, from a bike ride through the rice paddies, to a hike, to private yoga lessons, and a ride to our next hotel that also included customized shopping stops, based on what we wanted to buy. It broke my heart to leave there, and I can't wait to go back someday!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nissi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjok9960, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Tjok9960, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review
November 14 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for adding the spirit of our team with your wonderful review We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves through the day with us at The Bambu Indah for your perfect holiday in Bali.
Please accept our best thanks for recommending the Bambu Indah Villa Ubud
We look forward to welcoming you again


Sincerely Yours

The Management and Staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My wife and I had a perfect time at this place. The staff is great with an excellent service and always joyfull! The rooms are cozy with amazing washroom! We love this place and hope we could stay there forever! Thank you to all the staff for making this vacation so memorable! I would never recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tibert84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjok9960, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Tjok9960, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review
November 7 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for adding the spirit of our team with your wonderful review We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves through the day with us at The Bambu Indah for your perfect holiday and Honeymoon in Bali.
Please accept our best thanks for recommending the Bambu Indah Villa Ubud
We look forward to welcoming you again


Sincerely Yours

The Management and Staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Must be one of the very best places we've stayed on our travels, wonderful for the all important rest and relaxation. The teak houses are just beautiful, and it's lovely that each one is so individual. Views and gardens are stunning, and the fish pond is great for a swim to cool down. Staff were the most friendly, courteous and genuine that we met on our Indonesian trip, and thanks to Manager Tjok for all his suggestions and ideas for the remainder of our trip.
Would recommend to anyone who likes a bit of eco-luxury, serenity and nature, perfect for a honeymoon or special occassion (not that you need and excuse!). You won't want to leave.

Room Tip: It was difficult to decide which house to choose from the website, but we definitely made the right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

For those of us who love fresh water, clean air, green vistas, peace, privacy and well designed simplicity...there is nowhere quite like Bambu Indah. Situated only a ten minute drive out of Ubud, on the edge of a dramatic river gorge, it took me a couple of days to fully allow the beauty of Bambu Indah to soak in. I sat on the veranda of my Javanese house, staring at the remarkable black bamboo pavilion, while butterflies of every colour and size floated around the bountiful vegetable and flower gardens. I tried to read but my eye kept finding the pavilion, to marvel at its architectural composition and to watch the ocassional yoga lesson taking place on its top level.

The water here is fresh, clean, spring water which I drank with such enjoyment straight from the tap. After weeks of bottled water, this was such an unexpected pleasure. The swimming pool is also fresh water, curving around through the gardens and under a bamboo bridge. The adventurous can swing off the rope and ladder or jump from the coconut palm with notches cut just for that purpose.

The staff, under the management and experienced, caring guidance of Tjok Sutadnyaya, are just gorgeous. They are kind- hearted, smiling, helpful, interested and they genuinely love their place of work. Any questions you have, advice you need, transport you require...will be gently and smoothly handled by the team.

How can I describe the air of well being this all creates? The food is delicious...can take a while to make- as many ingredients are picked fresh out of the organic garden...so get your order in before you are too hungry! The view over the river gorge and out over the ricefields can take your breath away. In the distance you can hear the gamelan and sometimes the faint sound of singing. There is a walk down to the river...steep and a fair way below the ridge...but it's worth it. We went down with the kids and were welcomed by the Balinese bathing there.

As I checked out after my blissful week I was asked whether or not I had been bothered by frogs croaking or mosquitoes. The beds are netted but I did not notice many mossies. If the sound of frogs is likely to annoy you, maybe stay in town...Bambu Indah is constructed of natural materials and sits easily in its environment...there are frogs, insects, birds, and geckos.

Bambu Indah is unlike anywhere I have ever stayed...and I miss it!

Room Tip: All the Javanese, timber cottages are sublime. They vary in size and some are right on the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loufinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjok9960, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Tjok9960, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review
November 7 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for adding the spirit of our team with your wonderful review We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves through the day with us at The Bambu Indah for your perfect holiday and Honeymoon in Bali.
Please accept our best thanks for recommending the Bambu Indah Villa Ubud
We look forward to welcoming you


Sincerely

The Management and Staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Bambu Indah was not our initial and first choice, others were full, but thanks god we booked Bambu Indah, because we just loved it ! ITS IS REALLY AMAZING !
This was our last stop in Bali, after staying in other 5 hotels in Bali and Lombok islands.
Bambu Indah was one of our favorite place in our honeymoon and one of the best ever !

If you like nature, this is the place ! Have no words to describe the staff, they are true balinese, here you will check how they are warm and like to receive guests. Every resort in the world should learn from them. They are genuine in welcoming guests.
The rice-fields-view are stunning!

Sleep like you were in the jungle, all the noise makes a great atmosphere.
If you don't like frogs, ants, lizards, and other animals such as birds, butterflies, squirrels, etc, this is not the place for you.

The natural pool is gorgeous !
The geckos at night makes the atmosphere unique! Just loved it !
This Eco-Resort made our staying in Ubud unique !

Get a motorbike so you can explore Ubud, as the resort is not in the center (15 minutes drive from Sayan Village area). Explore the Ayung river, there's a way down directly from the resort.

We didn't want to go back home, really, can't wait to go back !!!
PM for other questions

Room Tip: Go for Kuno House - nice and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GFLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjok9960, General Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
October 28 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for adding the spirit of our team with your wonderful review We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves through the day with us at The Bambu Indah for your perfect holiday and Honeymoon in Bali.
Please accept our best thanks for recommending the Bambu Indah Villa Ubud
We look forward to welcoming you


Sincerely

The Management and Staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This place is amazing! The staff is so nice that you feel like home. The food is organic and delicious!! It's an amazing place for nature lovers because is all very natural.. You will see insects, frogs, burds... all kind of smal animals! The rooms are lovely! All wood :) is like living in the middle of the forest! Make sure you get a motorbike or a driver to visit the center!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marta_dcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjok9960, Manager at Bambu Indah, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
October 7 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for adding the spirit of our team with your wonderful review We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves through the day with us at The Bambu Indah for your perfect holiday in Bali.

Please accept our best thanks for recommending the Bambu Indah Villa Ubud. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
The team of Bambu Indah Villa Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#71 of 196 in Ubud
718 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.5 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#31 of 196 in Ubud
629 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Karma Ubud
Blue Karma Ubud
#20 of 196 in Ubud
225 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#43 of 196 in Ubud
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Indah

Property: Bambu Indah
Address: Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Business Hotel in Ubud
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#53 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Indah 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic luxury in the gardens of a tropical highland farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bambu Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Indah Hotel Ubud
Bambu Indah Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing