We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bambu Indah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bambu Indah
Ranked #52 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is one of the most unique ones in Bali...if you like something down to earth, eco-friendly, and green...this is absolutely your place...you will love everything about this hotel, just like me. The service was also exceptional, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I can't really say more about this hotel, therefore I took many pictures of it to share with you so you can judge about it yourself if it suits you or not.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianArianie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    72
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
98
240
61
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I want to give this 5, but two things let it down for us when we stayed last December.

The first was the fact that we stayed here after a very long haul flight. We were very tired and weary and in need of about 14 hours solid sleep.

Bambuh Indah would have been a better choice later on in our journey when we were more rested. This is because of the noise. The accommodation is indoor/outdoor and so you can here a lot of noise during the night which meant that we were very cranky due to lack of sleep!

It is a beautiful place, wonderfully designed and very special. We stayed in Udang and loved the outdoor shower in particular.

Breakfast was lovely and our massages were perfect. The food selection for dinner is not great.

The second thing which upset me, is the way in which the American manager treated the staff. I noted how aggressive and snappy she was with them and it was completely out of sync with the intended relaxed vibe of the place. For their part, the staff were exceptional and very friendly, we could see they were quite upset by the way she was treating them, which in turn upset us. At one point I went to take photos of the beautiful common area and stepped on the stairs (you are not supposed to wear shoes upstairs) and I heard the manager shouting at me to "get off the stairs"!

This is a great place, beautiful touches, and very unique. If you are coming on a long haul definitely save it for the latter part of your trip when you are more rested and a few frogs and gekkos wont bother you during the night!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Unravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The surroundings here, and the views are beautiful; make sure you take a walk down to the river - reception advise you it's too dangerous to do alone and encourage a guide, but this is not necessary. Food was amazing, and I had the best lunch in Bali here.
The concept of eco-friendly is great- but taken to the extreme when we arrived and a couple of our foot towels in the bathroom hadn't been washed, and had dirty footprints.
Reception did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable, which was appreciated.
It's further out of town than anticipated, but if you're fit ask reception to hire bikes, and you can easily ride in and back again.
Our opinion is it was over-priced - $200 a night for a small hut, with basic amenities.
Additionally, don't use the Day Spa here unless you want to pay a lot - $60 for a pedicure and manicure is not a good deal, when I can get one down the road for a third of the price, and exact same service - disappointing they feel the need to hike up the price so much.
We probably wouldn't return - we stayed in another place in Ubud that was half the price and just as gorgeous.

Room Tip: The Shrimp room looks best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesspo_hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

You will not find anything like bambu indah in Bali. Very unique stay. Room was beautiful and for a cabin in a tropical setting bugs were not bad at all. Very peaceful and quiet and staff are very friendly. Breakfast was great. A little far from the main strip in ubud but overall great stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ofir11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

very quite and peaceful resort. exactly what we were looking for to relax. good healthy food. one of our best massage experience in bali.
amaizing view from our afrika house . very nice staff and especially the manager diane.

everything very good except the rate of the room... over priced. the resort and our afrika house do not justify the rate. the eco / healthy concept can not only justify the price.

the swimming pool is not clean at all. when you pay such price for a room you can not swim in dirty pool. the concept of natural pool is very good but when you go for that pool you need have a good maintenance to keep it clean.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Bambu Indah is the most unique hotel I've ever stayed at. While a lot of hotels brag about being eco-conscious, at Bambu Indah you will experience a totally new way of traveling. The grounds are a working farm where they grow their own vegetables and herbs; they compost; the pool is a chemical-free "swimming pond" with frogs living in it; you will drink filtered tap water (a wonderful thing after staying at another resort that served us every single sip of water from plastic bottles); and the bath products are organic, so shower water can be filtered and reused. As at another Indonesian resort we stayed at, our private bathroom was outdoors. But unlike the other resort, at Bambu Indah the bathroom area did not have a thatched roof, so when it rained, we showered with rain water also falling on us!

Highlights of our stay included hiking along the beautiful Ayung River in the forest and rice fields behind the hotel (ask manager Diane to show you the path); renting bikes to explore the nearby villages on our own (they will push you to take a bike group tour, but this is not necessary if you are an experienced cyclist and have a good map. the hotel can arrange to have rental bikes delivered for you); taking an excellent private yoga lesson arranged for us by the hotel; and going on a canyoning day trip to the Gitgit waterfalls with the group Adventure and Spirit, which was recommended to us by Bambu Indah owner John Hardy. The restaurant is excellent, and allowed us to sample fresh, healthy Indonesian foods. My favorites were the breakfast fruit plates and the nasi goreng, or fried rice, at lunch. There is no long menu, but rather, 3 or 4 specialties presented each day, and written on a chalkboard. There were always excellent vegetarian options.

The hotel's architecture is incredible. The shared spaces are soaring bamboo structures modeled after Balinese public pavilions, and are beautiful and minimalist. Each "room" is a wooden, 19th century bridal bungalow shipped from Java and rebuilt on the grounds. They are rustic, with loudly creaking flowers and grasshoppers living in the rafters. In the one major hiccup of our stay, a piece of our glass sunroof collapsed during a storm, sending rain water and shards of glass into our sleeping area. However, the hotel's staff responded perfectly, sending housekeeping and maintenance immediately to repair the roof, clean up the mess, and replace our damp bedding.

Many Ubud-area resorts are set far back from the road, surrounded by gates, and guarded. Bambu Indah is in the middle of Sayan village on the same road as densely clustered private homes. A short walk out of the hotel grounds allowed us to witness typical day-to-day Bali life, which was wonderful. On the downside, however, Bambu Indah is not a quiet hotel. We awoke each morning at daybreak to the sounds of roosters crowing incessantly (the nearby homes all seemed to own roosters). Our room, Kolam House, was directly next to the parking lot, and we heard cars and motorbikes revving their engines throughout the day and night. As we got massages, we heard the hotel's office phone ringing, guests ordering food at the restaurant, and so on. We were on our honeymoon and ideally, would have preferred more of a restful environment. And the noise was exacerbated by the fact that there was construction going on at the hotel, so we also heard power tools throughout the day.

All in all, however, this was an unforgettable way to experience a totally new type of hotel, and as long as you are ready to be in a more rustic environment connected to village life, we strongly recommend Bambu Indah.

Room Tip: Be warned: Kolam House is next to a parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

i'm going here with my friends for Insight Photoshoot, and we spend great night in here..
Great view of Ubud, Nice Room, Unique Bathroom, Good and Yummy Food also one of perfect place to get some Yoga experiences in Ubud.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry_Iryawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.1 mi away
Sandat Glamping Tents
Sandat Glamping Tents
#53 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
0.8 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#65 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#27 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.3 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#61 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Indah

Property: Bambu Indah
Address: Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Business Hotel in Ubud
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#46 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Indah 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic luxury in the gardens of a tropical highland farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bambu Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Indah Hotel Ubud
Bambu Indah Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing