We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly green and extraordinary!!”
Review of Bambu Indah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bambu Indah
Ranked #63 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazingly green and extraordinary!!”
Reviewed 20 May 2009

This place is not like any other place. It is the real Java house you can sleep in. If you like that kind of experience, this is IT!! They are so green conscious, and simple. You feel like you are in the middle of no where....You don't need T.V or music. You hear the chanting from the village next door or frog singing. You chill at the warung and nobody bothers you. Yet it is so easy to get to the central Ubud by cab. You can also check out the green school that John Hardy built and the design of it is extraordinary!! You can also see John's house right next to where you are and when you go hiking, you walk right by it. take a look on Bali style book and you just can't believe that you are there!! In the morning, they will bring you healthy and organic breakfast. It was such an amazing experience. The service was superior.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makiherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    73
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
102
243
64
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

This is not for everybody, but if someone wants to experience an unusual hotel in a real , isolated Bali setting, this is it. The four houses from Java are old and rustic (maybe a bit too rustic) but with all the modern conveniences--good linens, shower, wi-fi. Everything is environmentally correct and beautifully designed with natural materials. The surroundings and vistas of the rice fields and river are breathtaking. And John and Cynthia Hardy and the gracious staff are welcoming. There is a wonderful natural pool. The only drawback is that some of the walkways are a bit hard to negotiate, especially in the dark And, considering today's bargains in Bali, it's a bit pricey.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antoinette21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

These days everyone is talking about eco-lodges and green hotels, but more often than not it usually means a few artfully placed homespun cotton pillows and organic fruit with your museli. Bambu Indah is the real deal. Not only that, you don't have to sacrifice luxury to sooth your carbon-footprint guilt. The only plastic in the entire resort is in the control panels of the super cool japanese toilets that offer a first class bathroom experience. The natural river-like pool (no chemicals, only organic cleansers) is beautiful, refreshing and clean, though swimming with the fish may feel a bit strange at first. And who wants well groomed lawns when you can look out over a patch of organic rice, and the vegetables you are likely to be having for dinner? But even if you don't care about sustainability, Bambu Indah is top notch luxury - from its hidden entry way (better to get them to pick you up than try to find it yourself the first time), to the magnificent view over forest, rice paddies and volcanoes, to the fine linens, cristal glass ware and well concealed but powerful AC. Forget yoga when you can go on a stunning morning walk through the rice paddies, ford rivers and cross teak forests, all before breakfast. I came here for my honeymoon, and my husband and i left inspired. What more could you ask from a hotel?

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabulwallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Bambu Indah is one of the most magical and must-see places in the world. From the kind staff to the incredible location to the amazing food, it is impossible to describe a place that will change your view on life in just a few short days. You must see it for yourself to understand why this place is so breathtakingly beautiful. Everything on site comes from nature. The chef's organic dishes are lovingly made from ingredients grown on the property. A swim in the natural swimming pool is like a dream come true. An outdoor bath or shower overlooking plush green rice fields and a temple in the distance will make one forget life's worries. Bambu Indah's creators have invented an experience to see with clarity how life should be. I would be lucky to return again one day.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C-mona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

What a wonderful experience! The highlight of our trip to Bali by far. Something special that we will not soon forget. Truly an inspiration.
There were a few problems but they were really nothing compared to the wonderful setting, the accommodations and the best part of the whole package... The food! What incredible food! Cooked by the friendliest of staff.
We loved our time here and to our luck we were the only quests. The views are incredible and ever changing. We especially enjoyed the hike to the river and the splendors of the fish house.
This might not be the best for people with disabilities and small children. Walking at night can be a challenge, rooms need better lighting and it is set on quite a cliff. It is not easy to find either, we were going in circles in a cab for quite a while asking, perhaps there is a sign now or get the directions in advance.
We also both got terrible ear infections swimming in the pool...
Overall we still give Bambu Indah a 10.
It's really like taking a trip into a luxury java village. The Hardys have really taken this place to the limit. You can tell that everything has been carefully chosen and scrupulously considered.
We did go to the John Hardy factory and thought it was great.
I bought my wife a ring she still wears today. As a matter of fact I have gotten her two more to add to the whole experience and collection
We hope that we will go there again and actually meet the Hardys.

  • Liked — The food was really the best in Bali, "the real deal", local food, done well, with flair, can't ask for better than that!
  • Disliked — Tying to find it, ear infections, not being able to read at night in the room.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danasbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2009

This is easily the most amazing place I have ever stayed. The Hardy's commitment to creating a "green" resort makes this place even more special. The staff was so kind and helpful. Madae was a perfect guide for our morning walk to the rice fields. And the food was easily the best I had in Bali. The chocolate mousse was devine. While Ubud had a lot to offer, I didn't really want to leave the grounds!

  • Liked — sustainable
  • Disliked — that I had to leave...
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cheetle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My partner and I visit Indonesia and Bali at least once a year for family obligations. This year, after visiting in-laws, we spent four days at Bambu Indah and left completely relaxed and renewed. In part that is because there is not much to do other than relax, enjoy the view, eat some glorious food and then relax some more. The lack of a television and easy contact with the outside world meant we were able to re-connect with each other. We enjoyed two fantastic dinners cooked by the chef who also prepared wonderful breakfasts. We also dined out at restaurants recommended by the General Manager. The organic swimming pool with the small fish was really quite pleasant. The staff on-site were attentive and eager to please although they could benefit from a bit more coaching. The General Manager was very helpful and went out of her way to make our stay pleasant and fulfilling. Although it is high end from a cost perspective, visitors who come should not expect 5-star luxury. The lighting is a bit dim although I understand this will be altered going forward. After ten years of visiting Bali it was nice to find a place to stay that I could brush my teeth with water from the faucet and not a bottle. Definitely worth spending a few days at.

  • Liked — The views and the General Manager
  • Disliked — The distance from Ubud
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonLads2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.2 mi away
Sandat Glamping Tents
Sandat Glamping Tents
#66 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#67 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#69 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.0 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#25 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Indah

Property: Bambu Indah
Address: Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Business Hotel in Ubud
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#55 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Indah 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic luxury in the gardens of a tropical highland farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bambu Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Indah Hotel Ubud
Bambu Indah Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing