We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”
Review of Bambu Indah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bambu Indah
Ranked #64 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We had 2 nights here in the padi house. The atmosfere in the house and the nature around you is totally in style and works very relaxing. It feels good to be there and take a swim in the natural swimmingpool in front of the house. To go to Ubud centre you need transport that is easely arranged by the hotelstaff for normal prices.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMZNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    73
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
104
246
64
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed 3 nights at beautiful Bambu Indah which consists of four antique wooden houses imported from Java. Our kids stayed in Padi House and we were in the larger Afrika house next door. Both were stylishly decorated with antiques and had large 4 posterbeds with mosquito netting and airconditioning at night. The open bathroom with large shower and 'clean butt' toilet was a treat. The view above the Ayung river onto the terraced rice paddies is spectacular. Afrika House has its own terrace where we had dinner served twice, a very special place at night with candle light and the sound of frogs and crickets. The natural swimming pool is great for kids (and adults) with a Tarzan rope hanging off one of the coconut trees. Danti arranged vistis for us to John Hardy's Jewelry workshop and showroom as well as to Green School. Two very inspiring places to go to. Ubud is within a 10 minute drive and a driver can be arranged.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colemink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Bambu Idah was the most memorable hotel from our Honeymoon. It is not a fancy resort full of rooms and other travelers, instead it's more like a B&B with amazing personal service and a sublime location. It felt like staying at a friend's house in Ubud who had the best home in town.

As background information goes, the hotel was started by a well-known Canadian jewelry designer who has been in Bali for 30+ years. He has collected Javanese bride home's and uses them as the rooms for the hotel. Each home is unique and there are only 4 or 5. A natural swimming pool (more like a dipping pool) snakes through the bride homes with a bamboo foot bridge to cross over it. Freakin' amazing! The entire property is situated AT THE EDGE of a cliff overlooking the Ayung River valley. On the other side of the valley are rice paddy terraced hills. Beyond the rice paddies, a mountain zooms out of the horizon. It's an extraordinary view! Bambu Idah's website pictures do not do justice what you experience at the hotel.

When we arrived we were greeted by our host Danti who immediately helped us plan out our time in Ubud. When we decided we wanted to visit a temple, she dressed us up in local garb and joined us on the outing. When we wanted to go walking through the rice paddies, she was our guide. When we wanted to go bike riding, she put the whole day together. She is awesome!

We would definitely like to go again and recommend Bambu Idah to other travelers. It's a very special place...we found it both relaxing and "local feeling" in a place that seems to be full of hotels.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dude94133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Down Under
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Bambu Indah - 'Beautiful Bamboo'. Now this is the way to experience the essence of this region. Eco-aesthetic in design throughout, with inspiring bamboo pavillions and antique wooden huts, organic gardens and truly eco pool, all overlooking the Ayung river valley, manicured paddies and three distant volcanoes. Yes, really! Private. Intimate. Nurturing to the environment and the soul. Our experience at Bambu Indah made us feel like the privileged guests of the Philanthropist owner. Eco-luxury. Only 4 private lodgings. WOW! Thank you Danti and others. Sampai jumpa - until next time :)
David and Marion
Australia

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistaKoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

This place is not like any other place. It is the real Java house you can sleep in. If you like that kind of experience, this is IT!! They are so green conscious, and simple. You feel like you are in the middle of no where....You don't need T.V or music. You hear the chanting from the village next door or frog singing. You chill at the warung and nobody bothers you. Yet it is so easy to get to the central Ubud by cab. You can also check out the green school that John Hardy built and the design of it is extraordinary!! You can also see John's house right next to where you are and when you go hiking, you walk right by it. take a look on Bali style book and you just can't believe that you are there!! In the morning, they will bring you healthy and organic breakfast. It was such an amazing experience. The service was superior.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makiherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

This is not for everybody, but if someone wants to experience an unusual hotel in a real , isolated Bali setting, this is it. The four houses from Java are old and rustic (maybe a bit too rustic) but with all the modern conveniences--good linens, shower, wi-fi. Everything is environmentally correct and beautifully designed with natural materials. The surroundings and vistas of the rice fields and river are breathtaking. And John and Cynthia Hardy and the gracious staff are welcoming. There is a wonderful natural pool. The only drawback is that some of the walkways are a bit hard to negotiate, especially in the dark And, considering today's bargains in Bali, it's a bit pricey.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antoinette21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

These days everyone is talking about eco-lodges and green hotels, but more often than not it usually means a few artfully placed homespun cotton pillows and organic fruit with your museli. Bambu Indah is the real deal. Not only that, you don't have to sacrifice luxury to sooth your carbon-footprint guilt. The only plastic in the entire resort is in the control panels of the super cool japanese toilets that offer a first class bathroom experience. The natural river-like pool (no chemicals, only organic cleansers) is beautiful, refreshing and clean, though swimming with the fish may feel a bit strange at first. And who wants well groomed lawns when you can look out over a patch of organic rice, and the vegetables you are likely to be having for dinner? But even if you don't care about sustainability, Bambu Indah is top notch luxury - from its hidden entry way (better to get them to pick you up than try to find it yourself the first time), to the magnificent view over forest, rice paddies and volcanoes, to the fine linens, cristal glass ware and well concealed but powerful AC. Forget yoga when you can go on a stunning morning walk through the rice paddies, ford rivers and cross teak forests, all before breakfast. I came here for my honeymoon, and my husband and i left inspired. What more could you ask from a hotel?

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabulwallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.3 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#15 of 198 in Ubud
741 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandat Glamping Tents
Sandat Glamping Tents
#63 of 198 in Ubud
175 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#74 of 198 in Ubud
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#67 of 198 in Ubud
714 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.4 mi away
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Indah

Property: Bambu Indah
Address: Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Business Hotel in Ubud
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#55 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Indah 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic luxury in the gardens of a tropical highland farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bambu Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Indah Hotel Ubud
Bambu Indah Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing