We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bambu Indah
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Naya Ubud(Ubud)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Resort(Ubud)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
481
79
18
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
79
18
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnatural poolrope swingpadi houseudang houseglass floorbamboo architecturejavanese housesthe rivereco luxuryorganic foodrice fieldslove naturemagical placeown gardenunique hotelauthentic experienceour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
444 - 449 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed for 4 nights, I wish it had been 40. This place is spectacular, the location and accommodation very special but, added to that, the people and the entire venue made staying here an absolute privilege.
We stayed in the Kuning House, a Javanese house built in 1829 which was ideal for two people. The only negative was the sitting area was outside.
The whole place is very rustic which was a secret worry before we got there, but it is rustic chic including the natural pool, the vegetables growing around the accommodation and the views across a verdant valley.
If you're looking to reconnect with the planet, get off the grid for a bit and need some greenery to be surrounded with AND don't want another dull and dreary cookie cutter hotel, this is the place for you. Its going to be our secret hideaway for a while.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingKiwi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Bambu Indah was one of the true highlights of our entire trip to Bali. We ended up staying there for six nights and were sad to leave. It is elegant in a country, rustic kind of way. One of the highlights of our stay was waking up on the first morning after our evening arrival, opening the doors onto the porch of our house/room, and being awed by the magnificent view of the terraced rice fields, jungle, and mountains in the distance.

If you are looking for a "big hotel" type of experience, this is not the place for you. Rather, this hotel is small, charming, personable, and unique. It’s out of the way, ten minutes from Ubud, in a quiet neighborhood. Each guest stays in their own small house with it's own personality. These one bedroom houses are "rustic" -- the floors creak, the wood is old -- but don't let that give you the wrong impression. They are lovely and finely appointed with all the nice touches, including wonderful bathrooms. Some of these houses, taken from the Sumatran countryside, are over 100 years old and all have spacious front porches for you to lounge on, enjoy a meal, beer, read a book and/or soak in the incredible view.

The service is outstanding. Eva, Alisa, Sri, and the entire staff provide a level of service and attention that you could never get in a large hotel. The food is wonderful with a pre-fixed menu that is different but delicious every night. We ended up eating in for five of the six nights. Part of this is because of the scrumptious food and the other part of it is because we were so relaxed, comfortable and "at home", that we didn't want to leave.

We used the hotel as our hub for the inland area of Bali and would venture far and near during the day to see different sights, shop, etc. and then look forward to coming back to the hotel to "chill".

The hotel and grounds are on the quiet side so this works well for couples and adults. However, we showed up with our three boys (9, 13, and 15) and they felt right at home, particularly with the freshwater pond/pool complete with rope swing and palm tree with footholds to jump off from.

We’ve stayed in lots of nice hotels around the world but Bambu Indah will always stand out as being special.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBJ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Bambu Indah is a beautiful and peaceful property located close enough to Ubud for convenience but far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle of tourism. The service was outstanding - Eva and Elisa were extremely helpful, friendly, professional, and thorough throughout our stay. Their smiles are unforgetable.
We stayed in the Padi House and it was perfect. We spent alot of time on our front porch and the bed was very comfortable. The natural swimming pool and rope swing were a favorite as well.
The inn's commitment to sustainability is authentic. The food was delicious. In fact, we enjoyed the cooking and atmosphere of Bambu Indah so much that we ate all of our meals there during our stay, which is very unusual for us.
Bambu Indah is a great base for exploring the area around Ubud - we hiked, shopped, and kayaked. In addition we recommend touring the John Hardy jewelry manufacturing site and the Green School.
We highly recommend Bambu Indah for adults seeking a peaceful, relaxing, authentic, and luxurious stay.
Thank you again Eva and Elisa!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank threeputtpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We learned about this place from a New York Times article we found on the web. After visiting Bambu Indah's website and being impressed by the photos, we decided we should check it out. It's a bit off the beaten path, but still within easy reach of Ubud. We arrived late at night and were shown a room that was absolutely enchanting. The design of the complex was simply magical -- you really felt like you were in the middle of a jungle with an uninterrupted view over the rice terraces. The bungalow had a very high ceiling and was made of beautiful dark wood. The bed was incredibly comfy and the bathroom had some original touches (including a high-tech toilet). We enjoyed the unspoiled view from our front porch and the feeling of complete privacy that the place offered. There was only one other couple there the night we stayed -- the rest of the bungalows were empty. The manager gave us a tour of the complex in the morning, which made us really appreciate how original the design and concept was.

This truly is an undiscovered gem in Bali and well worth the money you will spend. We unfortunately only spent one night here. It was by far the best place we stayed in Bali. There are not words to describe it. Stay here and the memory will stay with you forever.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We had an amazing 5 nights at Bambu Indah and would definately return.

We chose Kolam House from the website and are glad we did. We had the lucky chance to view each of the other rooms, and still liked it the best (for our needs & taste). It is the most private, with it's own magical walled garden, fantastic outdoor shower, bale and a big fishpond surrounding the house itself. It may not have the incredible view seen from other houses, but when we were served breakfast on the valley edge, or swam in the natural pool, or wandered the grounds we had plenty of time to absorb that.

The other house we liked next best was Afrika house, for it's beautiful bath and bathroom that opens up to the view. Elora House is also interesting though it is actually two seperate 'rooms', one upstairs, and one down, with seperate entries and bathrooms.

Bambu Indah is not for everyone, but its differences is what makes it so unique. (If you want a slick experience go to the Four Seasons Hotel up the road.) In Bambu Indah we had a small frog resident in our outdoor shower, creaking floors and had to step carefully across the stone steps over the fish pond to our door. But we certainly didn't suffer. There is plenty of luxuries too.

Unfortunateley I don't have time right now to write up everything that deserves to be told about Bambu Indah. I plan to add to this review, for example about the wonderful personal attention from the staff, the delicious organic food (much grown on site) and the bamboo architecture of the main buildings. Once I sort my photos, I will also post some of Bambu Indah.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stray_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews