We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and great value”
Review of Bambu Indah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bambu Indah
Ranked #61 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Truely one of the best pleces I have stayed.

This eco lodge is out of the way of the usual tourist traps of Bali and offers a unique experience for those looking for something a bit different.

Set in the jungle area of Ubud you really feel close to nature and as a city girl, this was a great experience.

Don't let the eco bit fool you though - everything here is luxe, from the view to the accommodation, food and especially how you are treated by the staff.

I travelled to Bali and stayed here by myself and was treated like a princess!

For couple this would be a perfect romatic getaway.

Sublime - Bambu Indah please don't change tooo much - your pretty much perfect as you are!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rambo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Bambu Indah
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2010

I just returned from a 2 week trip to Asia and spent 3 nights at Bambu Indah at the Kolem House. What a magical getaway. The houses are modeled after traditional Javanese houses and the complex is tucked away in a magical setting in Sayan, just outside downtown Ubud. I'm glad we stayed outside of Ubud as it proved to be a real get away.

Sri and Eva were wonderful as well as everyone else we met. I felt so much warmth from the Balinese people that I wasn't surprised to receive it at Bambu Indah. The Hardy's did a great job in building a green community - the value is excellent and it was far from the big resorts you see so much of on the Kuta side of the island.

The Kolem house seemed to give more privacy than the rest of the homes (although we didn't have a view). I loved that we had a private "bale" in which we had breakfast each morning. The koi pond leading to the front porch leading to our front door was a delight - you stepped on these great stepping stones to pass through. Every detail - including the lush garden- from the citronella mosquito repellant - to the furnishings - to the delicious ginger fizzy drink they offered at check in - made our stay so memorable.

I will definitely return to Bambu Indah for my future visits to beautiful Bali.

PS - I highly recommend Sang Spa in Ubud for massage/facial/treatments. Eva or Sri can also arrange an in-room massage for about $30USD per hour.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemissevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

There are few places that capture comfort, cuisine, and nature as well as at Bambu Indah. Warm mornings start with a view of bali's sacred mountains. fresh tropical hand-made meals find there way as you recover from jet lag. The staff somehow reminds me of holiday mornings with loving caretakers. I have several food restrictions which were gracefully accounted for. There is lots to do in Ubud, but I didn't feel guilty when we just read by the pool or shared stories in the heritage architecture. Stay at your villa for, at least, one sunset; it is inspiring. The site's images represent the accommodations well. I've been there twice and definitely plan to go back. Internet is consistent, allowing me to reconnect to work, etc. if needed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We had a such a delightful time in Bambu indah! it was such a fantastic change to stay there after spending a couple of nights in an international chain hotel. The whole place was just wonderful with the organic garden, natural swimming pool, the rustic yet extremely comfortable huts and most importantly the ever helpful and friendly staff made the whole experience amazing and unforgettable!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trotting_Ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Bambu Indah was amazing. The setting a beautiful village with wonderful views of the rice paddies is welcoming and warm. The staff are so kind and helpful. The houses are beautiful restored homes that are very peaceful and comfortable. The outdoor showers are fantastic, the views breathtaking. It is truly a place where you can rest and relax. For anyone from India, I like to call it a Five a star Village. It is charming and quaint like a village but with all the modern day amenities (amazing showers and bathrooms, internet etc). The food is delicious. HOnestly this is one of the most unique and wonderful places I have ever been. It is a place I would travel 40 hours around the world to come too again!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaethana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Simply the best place to stay. Gorgeous view on the rice paddies, great service, wonderful dining experience on your private terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koshka1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I am writing from my room in Bambu Indah.

Coming from NYC I was looking to connect deeply with the magic and sensuality of the Balinese people and nature. The sustainability: from the wood and bamboo used for the Villa houses, the villa interiors, the bathrooms and outdoor showers, the natural non-chlorinated swimming pool to the organic meals that are freshly prepared using the properties rich soil to grow the produce, the breathtaking views of the terrace rice paddies, present a truly magical moment.

The staff is always available to answer your needs and greet you with a genuine Balinese smile that only indicates a true "welcome". The views, the rhythm, the people I've met here, the sounds and the fragrance of Bambu Indah now live in my soul.

Being a single traveler, I feel treated like a princess with loving care to each detail as my needs were meet. Bambu Indah is a short drive to the center of Ubud and taxi service is provided by the staff for a very small fee. Deep healing massages with Mandra will make this moment even richer.

It's not about the price - which is extraordinarily reasonable - it is about the experience of a lifetime.

Truly Bambu Indah is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irmaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#75 of 199 in Ubud
721 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#34 of 199 in Ubud
638 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
1.3 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 199 in Ubud
794 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#43 of 199 in Ubud
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Indah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Indah

Address: Banjar Baung | Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ubud
#7 Business Hotel in Ubud
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#53 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £88 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Indah 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic luxury in the gardens of a tropical highland farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bambu Indah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Indah Hotel Ubud
Bambu Indah Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing