We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, quiet, but walkable to town, beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Klub Kokos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Klub Kokos
Ranked #235 of 526 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Buderim, Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value, quiet, but walkable to town, beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

Ubud is a must do in Bali. Kokos is the must do in Ubud. Not luxurious but just perfect.Jenny make syour stay special and helps organise day trips etc. Big rooms, fantastic location, nice pool. Only downside is that there is not a good onsite restaurant if you want to eat in at night, upside is that its 20 minutes walk or a short taxi ride to the town where there are tons of good restaurants. While here we went hiking, mountain biking, elephant riding, motorscootering around the local country side and saw fire dance, buddist celebrations and many temples and monuments. Diverse, friendly and beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hallwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

We stayed here with our family with 2 kids aged 4 and 5.
Klub Kokos is located 2 km from Ubud. It is a beautiful walk, however probably a bit difficult if you have really small children.

We rented a freestanding bungalow 1 with 2 bedrooms for USD 85 (including taxes, high season surcharge). It has only 7 bungalows so it was nice and quiet. Mind you it is rather family orientated, so if you are not looking for this - stay at another hotel.

We liked the play room and the library, the pool was perfectly adequate, and the service good.

What we did not like, was the high transport fee to Ubud centre (Rp 50000,- an amount for which we travelled from Sanur to Kuta) and the not very cheap restaurant servicing okay-food. It seemed to me they were trying to benefit from the rather isolated location.
As for the accomodation, this was okay to good, the outdoor terrace was nice, however the outdoor shower was a disaster. I noted in the guestbook many guests complaining about it - so I am wondering why they don't do anything about it.

All in all, beautiful location but a little overpriced.

  • Liked — outdoor terrace, beautiful location
  • Disliked — shower, overcharged prices for transport/restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ycew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

We stayed at Klub Kokos in early July 2008. From the time we arrived at the hotel to when we left we had a wonderful experience. The place exudes warmth and frinedliness that is unique to it's location and people. The property and rooms are extremely clean and well maintained, the staff is friendly, and the location is out of a story book. We recommend the place highly for people with families. You will not be disappointed ! The walk from the hotel to the middle of town is breathtaking.

  • Liked — People
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike, really.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RajivT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth, western australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2008

Finally found a lovely small locally run hotel in Ubud. About 30min walk from town through beautiful rice paddies and along a ridge. The walk ends up at the bridge at the start of Ubud. Rooms were traditional and all that you needed. No aircon but you don't need it as they have a fan and it was more than adequate. Lovely outdoor bathroom where my daughter enjoyed her showers with a resident snail and frog. No tv in the room and it was not needed as my girl was quite happy exploring the hotel. There is an art gallery onsite and a few more up the road. The owners can organise any activity you wish. My daughter chose kite making and then flew them in the rice paddies - bliss at only USD$5! There is also a local artist that will teach you the painting techniques (next door to the kite man). His English is excellent and he is very talented. Bought a small painting from him at a good price. Food at Klub Kokos was excellent, breakfast (huge) included. Nice small pool and friendly pet dog.

Would not hesitate to recommend this family run hotel to anyone who wants a traditional Balinese holiday which is clean and safe for children.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, beautiful location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noorjanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.7 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manada Guesthouse
Manada Guesthouse
#172 of 526 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Pranashanti
Villa Pranashanti
#319 of 526 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tagel Karsa House
Tagel Karsa House
#48 of 523 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ulun Ubud Resort & Spa
Ulun Ubud Resort & Spa
#96 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Uma Padi Villa
Uma Padi Villa
#106 of 526 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klub Kokos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klub Kokos

Property: Klub Kokos
Address: Jl. Rsi Markandya 3, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 526 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Klub Kokos 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BALI WITH A DIFFERENCE - 'FAR FROM THE MADDING CROWD'We are an exclusive hideaway resort just a few minutes walk from Ubud, Bali's bustling cultural heart. Family Units available. Children are very welcome!Set in a rural landscape - a favourite with nature lovers - you will be introduced to a Bali far removed from the commercial turmoil that exists around all the usual tourist areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Klub Kokos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klub Kokos Hotel Ubud
Klub Kokos Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing