We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #163 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Puri Garden I would recommend to anyone, anytime. One of the ladies at the front desk, Kade (Kah-day), helped my family and I immensely and she was always there with a good suggestion whenever we needed her. The restaurant gives out breakfast each day which is included in your room cost. I loved the options, simple and delicious, and it was clean. The rooms themselves are also quite good. The washroom had some mould on the ceiling but that is to be expected when it's Ubud and there are no ceiling fans. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Puri Garden! And it is a 5 minute walk to The Monkey Forest. There are also lots of delicious restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MainCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here the entire time during our trip to Bali for 5 days. Their rooms have character.

The Pros:
1. Very near Monkey forest and ubud central. Walking distance actually. We didnt mind the 20min walk to central ubud because it gave us a chance to explore the little shops along the way.
2. Friendly staff. I dont have any complaints about the staff. They did all the booking for us from the first day to our last day in Ubud. Left our stuff after check out with no extra charge.
3. Nice garden and pool area.
4. 24 hour supermarket nearby.
5. Really peaceful. 24 hour checkin (we arrived at 2am)

The Cons:
1. I know why some western tourist would have a problem with this hotel. Poor construction details in the rooms. But you have to consider this is not a 5 star hotel and with the price you pay for the stay we did not have any complains about this.
2. Staff needs more english skills. And house keeping needs some improvement. We found a decaying lizard hanging in our cabinet...when we informed the front office and one of the housekeeping staff they just nodded and said "ok". Which was really funny because it was clear they didnt understand what we were telling them. There were stains in our mosquito net, found several hairpins left by previous guests and some brown powdery stuff in the wash basin, stains on the bath tub.

Overall we didnt mind the negative things. If i didnt see the reviews here i would not go around the room looking for the shortcomings.The breakfast needs some variety for some tourists but we didnt mind the lack of variety since it was included in the price of the room. Would we come back? Yes and we would even recommend them to our friends. But if your fussy about the details then this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick294248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

There are so many hotels in Ubud you should not subject yourself to this miserable hotel. The rooms are not maintained and the facilities are below any standard. We were booked into the most expensive rice paddy view room. They don't mention that the rice paddy is currently beside a construction site. The air conditioner was raining water and the toilet smelled of sewage. We asked to be moved so they moved us into the cheapest "superior room". This would have been fine but they refused to reimburse us for the difference after initially lying about what category the room was. They did offer a dinner as compensation but that didn't come close to the same amount.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayas-Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Puri Garden in Ubud was a good hotel overall, with friendly staff and welcoming, nice design, good, spacious and clean room with AC. The breakfast is the best we've had in 3 weeks in Bali: it is a buffet with Indonesian options (good nasi goreng and mie goreng) as well as banana or pineapple pancakes, and toasts.

The only drawback of the hotel is that it is a little remote from Ubud centre - around 30 minutes walk. The other thing is the swimming pool: although it looks really nice, there seems to be a bit of mould on the tiles of the swimming pool. We had a swim and everything was fine, but if you're picky about this, it's worth knowing in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC2KO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Centrally located with beautiful garden, exceptional friendly staff and a great restaurant with both local and western foods at good prices. The downside are the pool is green with one guest leaving because she thought the pool was dirty and unsafe. The tiles are cracked and loose, the attendant straightens them each morning. The shower is either cold or very hot, we stayed here for 4 nights and had to ask for towels twice, the breakfasts are ordinary, which is strange because the restaurant meals are so tasty. Wi fi is very slow, we had a back room overlooking the rice fields and couldn't pick any Internet up. The roof and one wall was water damaged and needs painting, as I said it all the small things that let this place down, it has so much potential.
For the price we paid I feel there is better options around, I would only recommend this hotel for a night or to budget travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris101111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

First, let me begin by saying it was a relief and pleasure to get out of Kuta and in to the lovely town of Ubud. I really liked the setting and feel of this hotel. I had a newer room on the ground floor and was quite pleased with the room, the view and the location. Room was spacious, clean, modern and comfortable. This room had a beautiful glass shower, but the sensitivity of the water temperature made the shower experience less than perfect. (Either extremely hot or extremely cold, no in-between), however I would certainly recommend staying here. Also, close to many nice restaurants and shopping. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room on the back side of this hotel. See attached photo for morning view from huge w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomthetraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The hotel was comfortable and the staff were very friendly and very accommodating. We had booked a driver to pick us up just after midnight at the airport and that all worked very well. We had to change rooms the next day due to a plumbing insufficiency, but i think we ended up with a superior room. The breakfast was very ordinary if you chose the bacon and eggs, but the fried noodles was a much better option.
The shower was the biggest negative. When anyone in Bali turned on a tap while you were showering the water reduced to a cold trickle.
Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalows
Merthayasa Bungalows
#165 of 197 in Ubud
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#64 of 197 in Ubud
931 reviews
0.3 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#124 of 197 in Ubud
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#122 of 197 in Ubud
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#116 of 197 in Ubud
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#113 of 197 in Ubud
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Jl. Raya Pengosekan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range: £24 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Garden Hotel & Hostel is the perfect little getaway for a cultural, relaxing and fun stay in the heart of Bali’s village of Ubud. It is well known for its majestic sceneries, unique culture and tradition. Located on Pengosekan Street, in the foothills of Ubud village, Puri Garden is just 5/10-minute walk from all the main Ubud’s attractions: Arma Museum, Monkey Forest, Yoga Barn, markets, galleries, restaurants and 60 minute drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. (airport shuttle is available). Our hotel has 23 beautiful rooms offering that authentic Balinese feel with a modern touch. We are currently renovating to ensure you have a satisfying stay with us. If you feel like being more social in your stay, then check out our 4 dorm rooms with 32 beds in total. The tranquil beauty of our garden offers time to relax in our hammocks or lay in the grass next to the beautiful giant Buddha. For a yoga session or even a sneaky cocktail or refreshing Bintang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Garden Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Puri Garden
Puri Garden Hotel & Restaurant Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing