We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sania's House Bungalows
Ranked #126 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique and stunning”
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

This place has atmosphere galore ... There is nowhere else in the world you could be except Ubud when you stay here. It is family run, and sometimes you get more insight into the goings on of family life than you might be used to, but that is part of the charm. The rooms are stacked in 3 storey towers, and adorned with traditional Balinese stone carved features. Each has a private balcony with dining setting. The higher level rooms have either vistas or glimpses of views across the rooftops and surrounding landscape of Ubud. You would be forgiven for thinking you are on the set of an Indiana Jones movie.
The only downside was that the pool was a bit slimey, maybe from the overhanging dense vegetation, but all those in our group that swam got sick in following days, and we thought it might be this.
All up, we'll worth the stay .... just a bit unsure about the health of the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    119
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
23
96
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Just walking into this traditional Balinese compound is great. You are actually living with the owners. Our room was fantastic, big and spacious it even had a spare bed we could spread our clothes over. The bathroom was great. Everything very clean. Breakfast was brought to your room but was pretty ordinary but a thermos of hot tea was available whenever you wanted it. There was a small but adequate swimming pool and wifi worked at reception. Staff always smiling and helpful. Just a hundred metres from the main market and plenty of little local restaurants to get cheap good food at.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool. There are cheaper rooms out the back but they may not be of the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This place is really stunning - beatiful Bali style stone buildings in a traditional bali home. Breakfast on the private patio was a highlight, as was the thermos of hot tea left there early every morning. Pool is small but more than big enough to cool off in and in a lovely garden courtyard with full sun. Staff was incredibly helpful too - early breakfast when needed and booked transport and scooters for me (even taught me how to ride the scooter :)), and sorted evening dance performances as well. Only advice would be to take care in walking in the alley where the entrance is at night as there were some quite scary stray dogs there at times (I had to defend myself with an umbrella one night....). Local Warung around the corner serves an awesome Nasi Campur!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

I was disappointed with the staff's grumpiness and the expensive price tag for a room at the back (v. dark at night) in a building in construction for a view of the stream err rubbish dump at the back. Sure there's a small pool, but 250k??? I checked out after one night and easily found a better place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marilynec24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Just down from markets. You enter in a narrow gateway to be stunned by the tardis-like spacious interior. Stories of rooms. Leafy courtyard. Beautiful pool. It is stunning Bali style. I paid 250 000R for a room up top with views on one side overlooking the courtyard and pool. On the other I had stunning views of Ubud at dusk. Not far from Palace so I went to sleep to the hypnotic sounds of the gamelan. Magic!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Funkychick145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Nice and well maintained guest house in Ubud. Rooms and bathrooms are nice and clean. nice terraces, with nice views on the house garden/patios or on Ubud roofs. Swimming pool is not as large and clean as it looks on the website. Very quiet at night as it is 2 blocks away from noisy monky forest road, but early wake up is ensured by chickens , like most places in Bali. Breakfast is OK. I would not be as enthusiastic as the Lonely Planet is on Sania's house, but, overall, guest house is fine

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OJdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I spent 4 nights at Sania's Place, in a beautifull bungalow. Great welcoming, charming garden and with a swimming pool. The wifi connection is not very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathpatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#56 of 195 in Ubud
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#131 of 195 in Ubud
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#159 of 195 in Ubud
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#129 of 195 in Ubud
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#171 of 195 in Ubud
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#99 of 195 in Ubud
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sania's House Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sania's House Bungalows

Property: Sania's House Bungalows
Address: Jalan Karna No. 7, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sania's House Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sania`s House Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sanias Hotel Ubud
Sania's House Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing