We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sania's House is a little hidden gem in the heart of Ubud” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sania's House Bungalows

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sania's House Bungalows
Ranked #127 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sania's House is a little hidden gem in the heart of Ubud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

We began our holiday in an other resort outside Ubud (see other review on Villa Wanakerta) but after two nights and a not very good experience there, we set off to find another hotel inside Ubud. The kind driver took us just about everywhere he could think of, but being the 30th December at best we could find rooms available only for a couple of days or from after 2nd January which, with a little girl of 4 on toe was becoming a real big problem! Finally we viewed Sania's House in the pouring rain and they had a nice, large room available, with a 4 poster bed and a single bed for our girl, right beside the small but charming pool....it looked ok and we booked it. When we returned the following day with our luggage and ready, at last, to start our holiday properly, we had the nicest of surprises....the sun was shining and the gardens around the few hidden bungalows were stunning, the place clean and the atmosphere very peaceful! What a find and for a fraction of the price we had paid for the first two nights in a dirty place! The breakfast is lovely and filling (a large bowl of freshly cut fruit, a banana or pineapple pancake and a huge thermos of delicious Javanese tea, all included in the room price. If you wish something different you can order from a good selection of things and pay separately). This family run guesthouse is very good value for the price and it's located right in the centre of Ubud on a quiet back street from Monkey Forest Road. It's also a stone-throw from the colourful market and all the shops, bars, restaurants and dance performances in town, We stayed 10 days - definitely winner! Only funny thing about it is the way you have to pass through the family's living quarters to reach your bungalow, having sometimes the feeling you are impinging on their private lives.....
I recommend you organise your transfer to Denpasar Airport elsewhere (there's plenty of drivers along the streets with whom you can negotiate a good price and see the car you'll be driven in). I did it through them on a day of very heavy rain and I got an old car which rained inside on the back seat, so my little girl got soaked, and no help whatsoever from the boys in reception to carry the suitcases....shame! Still, the pluses are surely far more than the minuses.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joliflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    118
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
23
95
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

Sania's was a beautiful guesthouse with hand carved intricate doors, statues and stone work, gardens and nature, small pool, breakfast is included and served on the balcony. Our room had a four poster bed and floors and bath tub that were marble at least what I think was marble. Spacious interiors and every room has a balcony with table, tea and a comfortable S chair to sit in. The only weird part was that you walked through the family area to get to the rooms, so people watching tv, cooking, just living their lives. The hotel is located right in Ubud so you can easily walk anywhere, performances, sites, restaurants but the hotel is on a quiet back street.

The guesthouse books the recommended bike tour for the same price as anywhere so we booked through the hotel. The other bali tours they advertise are much cheaper if booked at the vistor center a couple of blocks away.

The quoted price was 300,000 INR (around $30USD) we negotiated a bit better as we stayed for a week. We were walkins.

  • Liked — Peaceful and beautiful
  • Disliked — Walking through family's living quarters
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

It is the best place i've been in on my jurney thru Indonesia, Bali and Lombok. Very, Very clean, quiet, fresh air, big and confy bed, one minute walk to main road of Ubud. Morning tea and food are allways waiting on the table when you wake up. I warmly recomend tis place!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LUPUSRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

This is a family guesthouse complex in the centre of Ubud. The air conditioned rooms have all been recently refurbished, and have nice tiled bathrooms with fairly spacious bedrooms. Some rooms have 2 double beds, some have a double and a single, some have one double. The price is 250,000 rupiah per night, which is very reasonable considering some very run down old hotels in Ubud are charging double that. Each room has a small terrace or balcony where breakfast is served every morning. Breakfast is a fairly dismal affair, but it is included in the price. A thermos of hot tea is placed on your table twice a day. The grounds are lovely, and the large family of several generations live there. The front of the complex is quite noisy at times, with the lively young children of the family, so ask for a room at the rear. Overall, this is excellent value for money, but the young boys who seem to take care of running the place (and who I think are family members) are far from helpful, and you'll be left to drag your own luggage up and down the stairs. There are cheaper rooms here, and I did see the inside of my neighbour's room - for 150,000 rp, it was very run down and basic - much better to pay the extra and get a lovely clean refurbished room. The location is central to all the main areas of ubud.

  • Liked — value for money compared to others in the area
  • Disliked — lack of helpfulness
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#56 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
CIK'S Guest House
CIK'S Guest House
#132 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ubud City Hotel
Ubud City Hotel
#125 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
Ubud Terrace Bungalows
#157 of 193 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gustis Garden Bungalows
Gustis Garden Bungalows
#169 of 193 in Ubud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#99 of 193 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sania's House Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sania's House Bungalows

Property: Sania's House Bungalows
Address: Jalan Karna No. 7, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sania's House Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sania`s House Bungalows Hotel Ubud
Sanias Hotel Ubud
Sania's House Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing