We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I keep coming back to Michi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michi Retreat

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Michi Retreat
Ranked #173 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I keep coming back to Michi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

I love the ecentric and beautiful nature of this artistic hotel. The Professor and staff are kind thoughful and helpful. I have stayed there three time and would not go back to Bali without paying it a visit. The location is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneymaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    19
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
33
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

Yes, Michi by day, is stimulating with its artsy-mosaic design however I slept peacefully the entire 14 nights, even during the first night (which is not always so easy in a new environment). Michi is transformed by the evening darkness with high-lighted palms over rice paddies to candles dancing their light from mirror to mirror as you dine listening to the river Wos below. During my stay I slept in two different rooms which was my decision since there are so many 'themes' to choose from. I awoke to a morning walk along the river or swim in the spring fed pool with vigor, feeling energized for another adventurous day in Bali. My time at Michi was so inspiring I am eager to return to Bali to perhaps join the 'Michi team'.... Hope to see you there!

Room Tip: Anadolu or Turkish room is a favorite for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank becky333_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

I've been staying at Michi off and on for about two years now and I absolutely love the place. I usually stay for a week or two, and I have stayed there about seven times. The views of the rice paddies and river are stunning. The area is tranquil and calm, and has a powerful healing energy. This village like resort, nestled within a valley, has indescribable charm. If you're the type that appreciates character and something a little different - a place with soul - you'll love the creation that is Michi. The old man, Professor Kung, is an amazing character. He reminds me of Mr. Miyagi from the Karate Kid. His life story is pretty incredible - he's the author of 11 books in Japanese, and has traveled the world extensively. Each room at Michi is based on a different culture that he has studied.

I love the fact that the place has a Japanese meditation hut over a pond - the fact that it has a library dedicated to Gandhi and Tagore, the gorgeous views from their Spa, and the majestic views one gets at various vantage points from the property.

Yes, there are little quirks about the place, for sure. My AC wasn't cold the first day - and even though I would never really have to use it, I asked for it to be looked at and it was done immediately. The staff are lovely and very helpful.

The food has always been a highlight, as has the Professors very own 'special wine' - a very interesting and healthful concoction of various herbs, wine, and rice wine, along with a few other interesting ingredients. On my last visit, there were plans to install a herb garden by the pool and an extensive fruit and vegetable garden within the resorts grounds.

The yoga / dance studio is an amazing place for retreats / yoga / group workshops. It has gorgeous views of the river and is a very well lit spot for group functions. The Gandhi library can also be used for this. I participated in a mask workshop at Michi at the beginning of February, with fourteen other participants, and we all loved the place.

Michi is far from 'hell on earth,' as another reviewer claimed - perhaps for someone super uptight who likes standard rooms with clean corners and sterile interiors. For someone who loves character, creativity, the blend of nature and culture, amazing food, unique rooms, and a place that just gets better and better, Michi is Heaven on Earth.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evo_rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dili
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

What a mistake it was staying at the Michi. The place is run by a geriatric Japanese man who refuses to update aging beds, AC units, bathrooms and most of all, his attitude!

I requested twin share with air-con. A simple request at most hotels, but impossible to deliver at the Michi. The air-con did not work in any of the hot, dark and stuffy rooms we were offered. The staff, however, assured me they could adjust the AC remote temperature settings, which would then make the room cooler. Wow, I never thought you could override the temperature settings on the AC remote from what the manufacturer designed, but it seemed like anything was possible at the Michi in order convince people to stay! The owner berated me on a number of occasions for complaining about the air-con not working – such a relaxing place! NOT!

The crazy decor in each room was enough to make you feel that the Javanese puppets would attack you in the darkness of night, and the aged futon beds that smelt old aided the poor nights sleep. The plumbing in the bathroom meant you showered in 5cm deep shower water and had to wade out of the room. Hours later, the water still lingered…..

This place is far from anything and the surrounding neighbourhood has little to offer if you don’t feel like eating at the hotel. The staff will tell you anything you want to hear, even if they know they can’t deliver.

Take it from me, if you want nicer facilities, a clean room which doesn’t feel like a dungeon, then keep going until you reach Ubud town where there are hundreds of other places to stay, offering newer, cleaner and friendlier facilities. I don’t understand why any one would want to stay here, and I guess that is why the rooms are empty and it is so quiet – there are no guests!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roxhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

I recently spent a relaxing and wonderful three days at Michi Retreat.
It is a place just outside of Ubud (transport into town is a bike ride or taxi ride away) beside a river and across from paddy fields. A very peaceful and reflective setting. The retreat itself is a work of art. Everything is original and you could spend hours exploring the retreat and all the detail that has been put into it.
I found the staff to be very friendly and eagar to please. When I arrived I asked whether I could change rooms as I felt it was larger than I needed and slightly over my budget. I was moved to another room at a good rate. They also make frequent drops into town if you need a ride.
The rooms are all individually designed and themed. It was comfortable and clean although I was a little surprised at the lack of a bathroom door in my room.
I met the owner/designer Professor Kung who was an interesting and entertaining host. The restaurant served healthy meals (mostly Japanese inspired) and although a little more pricey (hotel prices) was open all the time.
The main drawback I found was the lack of many other guests, at first I found it a little quiet.. Also the dance/yoga studio was begging to be used (lessons/entertainment?).
It's not your regular western hotel accommodation, but I quite enjoyed that.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prof_Kung, Manager at Michi Retreat, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Dear Michi Guest,

We would like to thank you for your generous post and your time with us.
We have new energy going through the property and we are slowly but surely getting the Yoga studio activated. Soon we will have a Film Night about social symbols of Indonesia, a film by Lawrence Blair.
We would hope to see you again, also, if you would like to join our facebook group if you are using this social networking medium, then just look for us under Michi Village and read all that's new and going on !
We greatly appreciate open-minded people like you.

Thank you,
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Michi Resort, whilst possibly not for those who like gleaming white and not a bug in sight, is an absolute delight. Somewhat delapidated, its undulating, mosaiced madness wanders right along its river's edge site, looking across into beautiful rice padis and well out of earshot of Ubud's busier day by day streets. Like a film set of yesteryear's glamour the attention to detail and unfolding of the owner's incredible vision fills one with wonder. Individual villas dot the hillside and all comes to glory in the restaurant and pooliside. Get married here, host a three day party, hold a retreat... this place is a hidden gem of fantasy, wonder... and the unambiguous ravages of time!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cressLl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

My fiancee and i spent a four day romatic holiday getaway and loved the resort and our room. we enjoyed our whole experience from the checkin all the way thru to the check out. the food was delicious, service was a bit shy but so friendly and eager to please. there was an amazing burial festival and the town of UBUD is so charming.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
4.0 mi away
Villa Awang Awang
Villa Awang Awang
#61 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Pantulan
Villa Pantulan
#139 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michi Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michi Retreat

Property: Michi Retreat
Address: Jukut Paku Street | Singakerta, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Michi Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michi Retreat is a unique place in an already unique island. It is very different from every other hotels and retreats, it is daring and and catches inspiration. Our management is exploring new paradigms and we are evolving step by step to a more sustainable entity.Join us in the evolution of Michi and in the retrofitting of an adventure that is never ending. We are in process of following the principles of Permaculture where Nature is our guide and our strength, and where community is Nature. We would like to welcome you to Michi's slow gestation and then to it's rebirth with our new team in management and our new creative and humble spirits awakening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Michi Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michi Retreat Ubud, Bali
Michi Retreat Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing