We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exceptional but still very good”

The Restaurant at Hanging Gardens Ubud
Ranked #450 of 810 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: US$25 - US$500
Cuisines: Asian, French, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The hotel's renowned Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with regional Asian flare and Western and Mediterranean influences. They use local herbs and spices grown on the estate and in the neighbouring village and freshly-caught fish from Jimbaran Bay. A pair of funiculars gently glides through the canopied jungle to the terraced levels of the property. The verdant gardens incorporate indigenous flora and fauna such as cocoa and coffee trees, which blend serenely with bamboo, flame trees and orchids to create a unique tropical paradise. The truly luxurious Spa combines natural local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energise the soul. Hanging Gardens Ubud, Bali is 30 minutes from Ubud's town centre. Complimentary shuttles are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic.
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went here again in July 2013 after our first experience in March 2012. It is still a beautiful place to dine and the food is still 'very good'. The menu has changed and whilst the food was quite acceptable, in comparison to our last visit the menu selection was not as comprehensive and the food not exceptional. It is still worth a visit but it is also, still an expensive restaurant, in comparison, by AU standards. I probably would go back in a year or so to see if it has changed again. I have also attached photos of our bill for your information. Also you do have to make a reservation, even if it is empty when you get there, they say it is in case hey fill up with guests but is has been nearly empty each time we have been. Maybe is is a prestige thing :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gratch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 79 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

We came here hoping to catch some great views of the valley and something to eat.... We first encountered a really pushy person at the lobby asking us whether we had reservations followed by pressure to stay put until she could reserve a table for us....we arrive at the restaurant and there is NO ONE!!!!! We ask whether we could just have something light to eat for lunch and we were told we had to go down to their bar for that although there is NO ONE at the restaurant...,. All through the lunch the staff show signs of wanting to push you to spend more in a very crass manner..pushing you to go for mineral water for example....the views are nice and the food was good but they really need to train their staff to be less pushy....by the way I wouldn't stay here because you will hear the constant drone of the traffic nearby!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nomadsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Front Office Manager at The Restaurant at Hanging Gardens Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Nomadsara,

Thank you for your frank and honest review. We humbly apologise for your experience.

This type of greeting from our first impression team at Reception was unacceptable and clearly started your experience at our hotel on a bad note.

In fact we love the opportunity to share our property with visitors, appreciating your interest and are always happy to show you round and serve you in any of our dining venues: restaurant, lounge, library or riverside spa café.

We further apologise if you found our staff over-attentive during lunch – we have already taken training steps to ensure there is no repeat.

It is so peaceful here that when a vehicle does make itself heard we agree it seems out of place. It happens rarely but the sound of the odd unmuffled delivery truck, village farm equipment, or motorcycle struggling to get up the steep hill on the other side of our picturesque valley does occasionally carry over to the restaurant, reminding us that we are still part of a working village only 20 minutes from the centre of Ubud, Bali's cultural heart.

On a brighter note we are please you enjoyed the view and the food, and hope that one day we have the opportunity to welcome you back to show you how our staff training has progressed.

Warm regards,
Ketut Putra, Front Office Manager, Hanging Gardens Ubud
+62-361 982 700, fo@hanginggardensubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Obviously the owner changed, so there is no website at the moment. But the restaurant is still fabulous - worth a visit:

We went for my birthday dinner.. My friend gave us this great suggestion (she always knows the best places around the world)

It is a bit outside of Ubud, about half an hour drive from Ubud center, we paid 150.000 IDR one way, but it is worth going. Hanging Garden is an amazing hotel at the Ayung River, what hosts this wonderful restaurant. Once arrived you need to take a cable car down to the restaurant. It is very fancy, but still affordable and not too posh. We had a table with a view to the temple across the river, that was lighted. Unfortunately we only arrived after sunset, so we could not see the full beauty of this magic place, but still it was breathtaking and very romantic.
The menu is euro-indonesian. You can get salmon carpaccio or fois gras, but also nice local dishes with modern fusion. We have decided for:

Peking Duck Maki
Prawn Avocado Salad
as starter

a delicious soup called
Myanmar "Mohinga" (rice noddles fish soup, egg, fried shallot, fried tofu, coriander, local herbs and spices)
to share
(btw. need to find this recipe!!!)

for main dish: Balinese Suckling Pig
and "Cambodia Amok" (steamed Fish soufflé with coconut milk)

as a dessert we had a fabolous variation to share.

it was really a wonderful evening at the Beduur, perfect for a special day. Thanks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PartTimeAngelOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

First time I went to Ubud Hanging Gardens, I really amazed with how beautiful the view, the pool, the forest, everything. I went there to have a tea time with my friend. So we sat down at Beduur restaurant, which have an amazing view to the pools and forest in front of it. The service is excellent, the staffs are very polite. Their food is expensive, but since I just want to had a tea time, I only try their fried rice, a cup of coffee. And they gave us a bucket of breads, complete with jam and all. With all the view and service, I think the food worth it's price. I mean, I've been to another restaurant in Bali that is more expensive but can't compare with this at all. For people who's looking for a peaceful place, beautiful environment, this is it.

Thank misstumbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Decided we would ride the scooter and try and find Ubud Hanging Gardens, took around 35 minutes from downtown Ubud....a little tricky as signage was minimal however after asking a couple of times we discovered the entrance. The views from the restaurant are beautiful, staff very helpful and attentive. Great menu with lots of choices of international and local foods. Bami goreng was delicious, egg cooked perfectly and tender pieces of chicken. My husband had the steak sandwich its' presentation was quite novel. Excellent cocktail list...Certainly recommend to all for a perfect lunchtime option. The infinity pools are a wonderful photo opportunity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ZipEchucaAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Hanging Gardens Ubud also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Hanging Gardens Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing