We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst VISIT ever”

The Restaurant at Hanging Gardens Ubud, Bali
Ranked #451 of 778 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: US$25 - US$500
Cuisines: Asian, French, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The hotel's renowned Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with regional Asian flare and Western and Mediterranean influences. They use local herbs and spices grown on the estate and in the neighbouring village and freshly-caught fish from Jimbaran Bay. A pair of funiculars gently glides through the canopied jungle to the terraced levels of the property. The verdant gardens incorporate indigenous flora and fauna such as cocoa and coffee trees, which blend serenely with bamboo, flame trees and orchids to create a unique tropical paradise. The truly luxurious Spa combines natural local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energise the soul. Hanging Gardens Ubud, Bali is 30 minutes from Ubud's town centre. Complimentary shuttles are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We decide to go here to get lunch with friend visit from Jakarta. It was quick decided since she doesn't have no time. I wear a casual clothes with sandal, while my dear friend wear a hijab. We got rejected in the receptionist, with a reason the restaurant fully booked by banquet. After arguing with them, they let us in, what we find, the restaurant empty. There is a banquet near the pool, and it's standing party. They put us over the bar, which is empty again, and staff were sitting on there and talking. We are really not interested again over our lunch, and decide to order some snack and drink. Which come to our table cold ( can't imagine if we order hot main course).... They were reject us like we can't afford their place, and they were accepting a lot of guest after us..... I have been many place include Michelin star restaurant but never ever been humiliate like this in this place. Better you have a rule to come for your guest, and try to respect people.

    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank Iketut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at The Restaurant at Hanging Gardens Ubud, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Iketut S,

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel, but please allow me to explain what happened on your visit. The Restaurant facilities were indeed fully booked by the party you saw by the pool. While they were not using the actual seats in our restaurant, they were still using all the same chefs, kitchen staff, kitchen space and serving staff, and this is why you were advised at Reception that our dining facilities were fully booked - nothing at all to do with how you were dressed, although we do have a 'resort casual' dress code for outside visitors to the hotel.

It was our mistake to let you in after you argued as we clearly were not then able to provide the standard of food and service which we pride ourselves on, and for that we apologise.

The guests you saw arriving later had all made reservations, which had been able to accept as the poolside event was coming to an end by that time.

Allow me to extend a personal invitation for you to return to the hotel and enjoy our true experience - if you can make it back please contact me on rm@hanginggardensubud so I may greet you personally.

Warmest regards,

Ketut
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for The Restaurant at Hanging Gardens Ubud, Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Beduur Restaurant is within Ubud Hanging Gardens Resort and about 2 hours drive from jImbaran! well worth the drive.. The restaurant overlooks a jungle forest, we went during our lunch and got a lovely table on the deck. the food was delicious and the service was friendly. its little expensive at Beduur Restaurant but greeat value nonetheless and a must do when you are in Ubud.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NPRW2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We have made it a point to go to the Beduur restaurant every time we are in Bali (every year for the last 8-10years). We have been travelling around the world for 2years so have tried many different restaurants. I do always book for dinner and we take family and friends and arrive around 5.30pm to go down a couple of levels to see the ravine and river below. We then have a cocktail (good choices) in the bar and go up to dinner when they start at 6.30pm. We went last night and the staff were friendly, the service excellent and the food superb. The four of us had various dishes (tuna tartar/lobster duo/pork belly/whole red snapper and everyone was extremely happy with what they ate. It worked out at about AUD$75 per person but that did include cocktails/entrees/main dishes/2desserts/a bottle of wine ($44) and coffees/teas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank atodmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went here again in July 2013 after our first experience in March 2012. It is still a beautiful place to dine and the food is still 'very good'. The menu has changed and whilst the food was quite acceptable, in comparison to our last visit the menu selection was not as comprehensive and the food not exceptional. It is still worth a visit but it is also, still an expensive restaurant, in comparison, by AU standards. I probably would go back in a year or so to see if it has changed again. I have also attached photos of our bill for your information. Also you do have to make a reservation, even if it is empty when you get there, they say it is in case hey fill up with guests but is has been nearly empty each time we have been. Maybe is is a prestige thing :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gratch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We came here hoping to catch some great views of the valley and something to eat.... We first encountered a really pushy person at the lobby asking us whether we had reservations followed by pressure to stay put until she could reserve a table for us....we arrive at the restaurant and there is NO ONE!!!!! We ask whether we could just have something light to eat for lunch and we were told we had to go down to their bar for that although there is NO ONE at the restaurant...,. All through the lunch the staff show signs of wanting to push you to spend more in a very crass manner..pushing you to go for mineral water for example....the views are nice and the food was good but they really need to train their staff to be less pushy....by the way I wouldn't stay here because you will hear the constant drone of the traffic nearby!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nomadsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Front Office Manager at The Restaurant at Hanging Gardens Ubud, Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Nomadsara,

Thank you for your frank and honest review. We humbly apologise for your experience.

This type of greeting from our first impression team at Reception was unacceptable and clearly started your experience at our hotel on a bad note.

In fact we love the opportunity to share our property with visitors, appreciating your interest and are always happy to show you round and serve you in any of our dining venues: restaurant, lounge, library or riverside spa café.

We further apologise if you found our staff over-attentive during lunch – we have already taken training steps to ensure there is no repeat.

It is so peaceful here that when a vehicle does make itself heard we agree it seems out of place. It happens rarely but the sound of the odd unmuffled delivery truck, village farm equipment, or motorcycle struggling to get up the steep hill on the other side of our picturesque valley does occasionally carry over to the restaurant, reminding us that we are still part of a working village only 20 minutes from the centre of Ubud, Bali's cultural heart.

On a brighter note we are please you enjoyed the view and the food, and hope that one day we have the opportunity to welcome you back to show you how our staff training has progressed.

Warm regards,
Ketut Putra, Front Office Manager, Hanging Gardens Ubud
+62-361 982 700, fo@hanginggardensubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Hanging Gardens Ubud, Bali also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Hanging Gardens Ubud, Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing