We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa hideaway away from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sungu Resort & Spa
Ranked #111 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Kenmore, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spa hideaway away from the city”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This was a lovely hotel with very helpful staff. The pool was absolutely superb Hotel prices were a bit high for spa facitilies and food was on par with more up market cafes. T You can just relax as some rooms don't have TV, so you can ready get away!

Once adjusted the A/C was good and quiet, although staff tend to put it very cool on arrival.

They have a shuttle service to take you into the city any time you want. However, you need to have a mobile phone to contact for return or go to the Tourist Information bureau and they will call for you.

The only down side for me was that the rosters crow starting early in the morning. During the day you tune out, but even with earplugs you could hear them for the early morning wake up call. I like nature, but not at 6 am if I am on holiday.

Room Tip: A little of of town but you can get the shuttle at any time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl910934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    92
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
80
105
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We really liked this hotel. There are no TVs, it's away from the centre of town, feels very authentic. Staff were helpful without being over the top. They ensured we had the right information to complete the activities we wanted to do. Ginger martini in the foyer was really lovely, and there's a really nice warung a few doors down. We would happily stay here again. Out door bathrooms and four poster beds were a highlight. Swimming pools were a welcome relief after a day out at the markets in Sukawati. This is not five star, but we weren't after five star and nor did we pay five star prices. The vibe here is very relaxed. Rooms are incredibly comfortable. Bathrooms are huge and the room layout ensures everyone has their privacy. I'd always wanted to stay in a Waka resort and I'm glad I did. Was perfect for 3 friends on holiday.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1, 3 and 6. If you are a light sleeper avoid room 1 as it's by reception (which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Lovely staff and excellent rooms. We were in Deluxe Lanai 4 - highly recommended and the outdoor bathroom is really lovely. It's great to lie in the bath (as I did once) as the sun goes down with the sound of the crickets goes on around you.

Free shuttle in an dout of down is lovely, and the complimentary afternoon tea each day was lovely. Also, the food is outstanding, particularly the breakfasts - such wonderful fresh juices and fresh fruit plates, plus the loveliest Mie Goreng, Nasi Goreng and Bubur Ayam ever.

Free rice paddy trek was also great. We spent four nights here as part of our honeymoon and it was PERFECT. Staff are lovely and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Deluxe Lanai 4 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great service from staff. Free shuttle in and out of town upon request.
Free haf an hour massage for your stay.
Staff were friendly and always there when needed.
Gorgeous pool and lovely breakfast.
Free tea and coffee at afternoon tea time.
Loved the tea they use, had at least a pot per day :)

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and get the best room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Nice little hotel. This is a no frills hotel, but that is what is nice about it. The only drawback is the shuttle does not start until 10 am, so if you want to do morning yoga you will have a good walk into town, but it is at least down the hill.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misse77_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed in Waka Namya from 16th to 19th June 2012. It was a wonderful stay. The resort has its own chharacter with a private swimming pool with almost every cottage. It is very close to Ubud (15 minutes walk or 5 minutes drive by fre shuttle) but at the same time in the middle of rural environment. The staff here are very nice and helpful. Stay in Waka Namya was one of the high points of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalyanmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Set amongst rice fields in the hills of Ubud this hotel is comfortable but still with the old world Bali charm. The staff are very gentle and helpful. The rooms are different but fun. There is your own outdoor private bathroom - you can literately shower in the sun. The four poster bed has full netting making it feel very special. No TV but does have a basic mini bar. The massages are great at $40 per hour. The pool is small but nice. Very small number of guests. You can walk into the main street of Ubud in 15 mins or get the free hotel shuttle bus to drop you off and pick up. A taxi will cost less than $5. Breakfast is included - not amazing but good. The hotel organized very good cycling and white water rafting tours which seemed to be a little negociable in price. The free 7:30am rice paddy walk is a good way to see what's outside the hotel wall and orientate yourself. If you want 5 star luxury then go somewhere else, but if you want to get away from the TV, nightlife and everything else you will enjoy this hotel for a few days.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank feelingxxlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.5 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
0.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#102 of 198 in Ubud
143 reviews
2.0 mi away
KajaNe Yangloni Private Boutique Health & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ubud Wana Resort
Ubud Wana Resort
#50 of 198 in Ubud
470 reviews
8.1 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#55 of 198 in Ubud
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sungu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sungu Resort & Spa

Property: The Sungu Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Penestanan (Jl. Campuhan 1), Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#90 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sungu Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next Antonio Blanco Museum. With choices of accommodations in Ubud: villas, private villas, resorts and hotels, the Sungu Resort & Spa is no new player. Formerly known as Waka Namya Resort & Spa Ubud, this hotel and resort has re-invented itself, and therefore upgraded many of its services and facilities to cater for its guests - the satisfied repeaters and the new ones seeking an alternatives of Ubud Resort or Ubud Hotel. Come and stay with us - Be a part of supreme, serene and sacred experiences.The Sungu Resort - the haven on the hill, within walking distance to the famed Antonio Blanco Museum, is nearby the artist village of Penestanan and is a short drive from the Rudana Gallery, many Ubud Art Museums & Cultural Centre and the downtown of Ubud. The Sungu Resort is serene and relaxing with welcoming friendly staff and management team who are always at your service. The Renovation has been done properly, To be in full operation on 1 July 2013, the resort is keen to await your stay with us with a full rejuvenating spa programs, children programs and creative art programs. Relax, rejuvenate, and rediscover yourself in a newly refurbished Resort, The Sungu Resort. This newly reborn Resort, formerly known as Waka Namya Resort, boosts new improved facilities such as New Duplex Villa Sungu ideal for 2 Adults and 3 Children. Another addition is the 2 Bed Room- Pool Villa Sungu also ideal for 2 Adults and 3 children. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa SunguThis is a two storey-traditional Balinese style villa with amenities such as top floor is a big sofa bed in the queen size bedroom with, TV cable for kids, air conditioning. And in down stairs find a queen size bedroom, shared huge bathroom, open shower, bathtub with complete amenities such as a hairdryer, large fridge, mini bar and a telephone. This Balinese room is decorated with local art work, whilst in the outside terrace you can find a private swimming pool, beautiful tropical garden, ideal for 2 adults and 3 children; or, if you would prefer, 4 adults maximum. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa Sungu is an excellent choice for your family. Each of the villas has an outdoor swimming pool decorated with green stone - a true wonderful appeal for a swim for adults and children. Have a swim and regain your stamina and wellness with the healthy sea salt treated pool. The Sungu Resort - Unique place to stay - feels like home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sungu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sungu Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing