We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and sacred place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sungu Resort & Spa
Ranked #102 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Loenen aan de Vecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Serene and sacred place”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We made a perfect choice to book the 3 night family package at the Sungu Resort. The family lumbungs are perfect for a family of 4/5. The feeling around the small resort is serene and sacred, with a lot of real Balinese touches, sounds and smells. The swimming pool is awesome, because it is so natural because of the surroundings and the water quality. We really loved the place. The massage that was included in my package was the best I had in my life! Some things for improvement: The food in the restaurant didn't meet our expectations and was below average. Not a huge problem, as you have a lot of nice restaurants in Ubud, but a missed chance. Besides, F&B service at the pool was very slow and/or non-existent. A second missed chance. But still, we will be back on our next Bali holiday!

Room Tip: We loved the family duplex room, with the entrance near the pool, so that our small kids could sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elice01_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    91
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
80
102
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

After having read all of the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor I booked a 4 night "Cultural Package" in a private pool villa at Sungu Resort & Spa, having just spent 5 nights in Sanur. Ubud has become very busy, almost as busy as Kuta/Seminyak but it certainly has a certain charm about it. The Sungu Resort is lovely. It's very tranquil and quiet, and only a short walk to Ubud centre. The staff are friendly and all speak good English. Made at reception and Ayu in the restaurant were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for them. While we enjoyed our stay there were some minor issues, which I won't go into. We complained to the staff about these issues and we were pleasantly surprised when the General Manager discounted our room cost as a gesture of goodwill. I should point out that we didn't ask to be compensated. All in all, this is a lovely resort and won't disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucianoPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our family stayed in a two story villa at the beautiful Sungu Resort and Spa. What a gorgeous place! The resort is every bit as good as the photos suggest on their website - a tropical, Balinese oasis. The wonderful staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly. As the resort is a bit of a walk from Ubud centre, the free shuttle service was brilliant and very convenient.

We loved every minute of our stay in the stunning resort and are already planning a return trip! I couldn't recommend it highly enough - we had a wonderful time there!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane0000000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in the Sungu resort for 2 nights, in a villa. The two-story unit was very tidy and spacious, with enough space for 5 people. The outdoor shower/bathtub were amazing, with plenty of privacy.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. They were very accommodating of our early morning arrival as well.
The free shuttle service was very useful, and the hotel is well situated, about 1.5km from the centre of town.
Afternoon tea is provided on request, between 4-5pm and was absolutely delicious! Breakfast was also very convenient, with a good variety of traditional Balinese/Indonesian and continental.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashmitha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in the interconnecting rooms at Sungu for 5 nights, and by the end of our stay, we didn't want to leave. The staff were friendly, and happy to help us when needed. They provided a shuttle service, and when we asked, were always happy to pick us up after our shopping trips in Ubud.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and the surroundings were beautiful. I would certainly recommend them to anyone wanting a safe and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My family and I stayed in a two floor Villa next to the pool which was really great. The kids stayed upstairs and parents downstairs. The Villa had a huge outdoor bathroom with both shower and bathtub. The Sunggu is really authentic Ubud.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenningDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our impression of the staff was very positive from check-in to check-out. Always on hand to drive us the short distance into the town, to offer advice on where to go and what to see, where to eat etc. On our late evening arrival, they managed to deliver a very good light meal to our room, despite the fact that the kitchen had already closed. So - full marks there.

Breakfast is by menu, not buffet, which means that whatever you order is freshly prepared. There is ample choice of western, continental or local. All are accompanied by fruit juices and fresh fruit. Any special requests are willingly provided where possible. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings (we were sampling the many places in Ubud), but we heard from others that the food was good.

The hotel itself is a series of units arranged around two swimming pools, in well tended gardens. The whole place was neat and tidy, with lots of local artwork scattered around the public areas. Rooms were kept clean and tidy, and any needs were quickly provided.

Ubud is a 5 minute drive away, and the hotel provides a free service on request. Ask at reception, or phone from Ubud and the car is usually available within minutes. There are also plenty of private taxis near the hotel and in town at very reasonable prices to get you there and back.

Top tip: get one of the local taxi drivers to take you to the Danau Batur (volcano & lake) or to Danau Beratan and the waterfalls for a good day out. You will see rice paddies, temples, stone and wood carving, and Bali life that you won't see near the beach resorts. Check your driver is licensed and that his car is in good condition, and can communicate with you (English is generally no problem). Expect to pay about 40-50 USD per whole day.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: The larger rooms come with a small private garden area, with table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pbb451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.5 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
1.9 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
1.1 mi away
Ubud Wana Resort
Ubud Wana Resort
#49 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Hill
Sunset Hill
#86 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Solo Villas & Retreat
Solo Villas & Retreat
#77 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sungu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sungu Resort & Spa

Property: The Sungu Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Penestanan (Jl. Campuhan 1), Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#84 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sungu Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next Antonio Blanco Museum. With choices of accommodations in Ubud: villas, private villas, resorts and hotels, the Sungu Resort & Spa is no new player. Formerly known as Waka Namya Resort & Spa Ubud, this hotel and resort has re-invented itself, and therefore upgraded many of its services and facilities to cater for its guests - the satisfied repeaters and the new ones seeking an alternatives of Ubud Resort or Ubud Hotel. Come and stay with us - Be a part of supreme, serene and sacred experiences.The Sungu Resort - the haven on the hill, within walking distance to the famed Antonio Blanco Museum, is nearby the artist village of Penestanan and is a short drive from the Rudana Gallery, many Ubud Art Museums & Cultural Centre and the downtown of Ubud. The Sungu Resort is serene and relaxing with welcoming friendly staff and management team who are always at your service. The Renovation has been done properly, To be in full operation on 1 July 2013, the resort is keen to await your stay with us with a full rejuvenating spa programs, children programs and creative art programs. Relax, rejuvenate, and rediscover yourself in a newly refurbished Resort, The Sungu Resort. This newly reborn Resort, formerly known as Waka Namya Resort, boosts new improved facilities such as New Duplex Villa Sungu ideal for 2 Adults and 3 Children. Another addition is the 2 Bed Room- Pool Villa Sungu also ideal for 2 Adults and 3 children. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa SunguThis is a two storey-traditional Balinese style villa with amenities such as top floor is a big sofa bed in the queen size bedroom with, TV cable for kids, air conditioning. And in down stairs find a queen size bedroom, shared huge bathroom, open shower, bathtub with complete amenities such as a hairdryer, large fridge, mini bar and a telephone. This Balinese room is decorated with local art work, whilst in the outside terrace you can find a private swimming pool, beautiful tropical garden, ideal for 2 adults and 3 children; or, if you would prefer, 4 adults maximum. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa Sungu is an excellent choice for your family. Each of the villas has an outdoor swimming pool decorated with green stone - a true wonderful appeal for a swim for adults and children. Have a swim and regain your stamina and wellness with the healthy sea salt treated pool. The Sungu Resort - Unique place to stay - feels like home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sungu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sungu Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing