We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plenty to do despite the rain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sungu Resort & Spa
Ranked #103 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    89
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
78
102
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

This hotel was the perfect place to stay in Ubud. We stayed in a bungalow, upstairs was a king sized bed and downstairs another king size bed which my children shared. We all loved the out door bathroom. The staff were so friendly and helpful.They have a mini bus which they will drive you into Ubud in. Breakfast was great and you could upgrade at a small cost. We really loved the afternoon tea. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lidfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Good, clean hotel. Ideal for quiet traveller, looking for Indonesian village experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2009

My wife and I stayed there for one night .
product: small, but well-decorated in Balinese-contemporary style. Villa styles with sharing pool. Room is Deluxe Lanai , not so big, with open air bathroom, not so useful for us . felt like we were sleeping in the country side cottage. it was so silent that we could not hear anything but our own voices.

Price: Abit overated, 165$/night . We could get one deluxe room in Conrad hotel in Bangkok!with this price. Pls consider carefully, ask for discount.

Place: Silent, good for privacy-lovers, but abit far off from the town .if you like to walk around the cities, and have small budget for taxi, this could be tiring.

Promotion: Nothing special. I was abit dissapointed that they didn't set honeymoon as stated in the e-mail to me and no Birthday cake as they promised on my arrival. Nothing really. But I don't take it seriously. I wanna tell the hotel not to promise anything if you are not sure you can do it for customers.

Overall: I feel abit dissapointed toward the service which is different from before and after , They promised manythings but they did nothing.(especially biethday cake & honeymoon setting std.)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoylife154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We absolutely loved this undiscovered gem of a hotel on the outskirts of Ubud. The staff was unbeatable, and the quaint property meant that we enjoyed a very private, exclusive feeling stay for a fraction of what we could have paid elsewhere for much less of an experience. Because the hotel is a few minutes from the town center (but still within walking distance), it easily allowed me to slip into the rustic Ubud countryside and let the wonder of Bali work its magic on me.

The rooms were beautifully, if sparsely, decorated. I and my traveling companions shared two adjoining halfs of our own bungalow, complete with our own private pool! The staff was very responsive to our needs, offering us free shuttles to anywhere in Ubud. The small restaurant on-property served better-than-expected meals. A basic breakfast was included free, or you could upgrade for a nominal fee. The on-site spa offered a great, relaxing way to unwind. Aside from our own private pool, there was also a larger family pool available to all guests.

Our favorite part was the free rice paddy trek offered most mornings by the hotel. We were fascinated by the rice growing process, which is still the way of life for most Balinese people. Most staff spoke English very well, and were willing to answer my questions about their culture, families, etc.

I heartily recommend this hotel to those wishing to experience Bali on a more intimate level and escape from the cookie-cutter Western-style hotels so common in the world today. I've never felt more pampered and relaxed in my life.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, excellent service, private pool, rates, atmosphere, comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diveaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Nefatari Exclusive Villas
1.9 mi away
D'bulakan Boutique Resort
2.5 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ubud Wana Resort
Ubud Wana Resort
#49 of 195 in Ubud
459 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunset Hill
Sunset Hill
#91 of 195 in Ubud
251 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sungu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sungu Resort & Spa

Property: The Sungu Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Penestanan (Jl. Campuhan 1), Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#85 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sungu Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next Antonio Blanco Museum. With choices of accommodations in Ubud: villas, private villas, resorts and hotels, the Sungu Resort & Spa is no new player. Formerly known as Waka Namya Resort & Spa Ubud, this hotel and resort has re-invented itself, and therefore upgraded many of its services and facilities to cater for its guests - the satisfied repeaters and the new ones seeking an alternatives of Ubud Resort or Ubud Hotel. Come and stay with us - Be a part of supreme, serene and sacred experiences.The Sungu Resort - the haven on the hill, within walking distance to the famed Antonio Blanco Museum, is nearby the artist village of Penestanan and is a short drive from the Rudana Gallery, many Ubud Art Museums & Cultural Centre and the downtown of Ubud. The Sungu Resort is serene and relaxing with welcoming friendly staff and management team who are always at your service. The Renovation has been done properly, To be in full operation on 1 July 2013, the resort is keen to await your stay with us with a full rejuvenating spa programs, children programs and creative art programs. Relax, rejuvenate, and rediscover yourself in a newly refurbished Resort, The Sungu Resort. This newly reborn Resort, formerly known as Waka Namya Resort, boosts new improved facilities such as New Duplex Villa Sungu ideal for 2 Adults and 3 Children. Another addition is the 2 Bed Room- Pool Villa Sungu also ideal for 2 Adults and 3 children. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa SunguThis is a two storey-traditional Balinese style villa with amenities such as top floor is a big sofa bed in the queen size bedroom with, TV cable for kids, air conditioning. And in down stairs find a queen size bedroom, shared huge bathroom, open shower, bathtub with complete amenities such as a hairdryer, large fridge, mini bar and a telephone. This Balinese room is decorated with local art work, whilst in the outside terrace you can find a private swimming pool, beautiful tropical garden, ideal for 2 adults and 3 children; or, if you would prefer, 4 adults maximum. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa Sungu is an excellent choice for your family. Each of the villas has an outdoor swimming pool decorated with green stone - a true wonderful appeal for a swim for adults and children. Have a swim and regain your stamina and wellness with the healthy sea salt treated pool. The Sungu Resort - Unique place to stay - feels like home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sungu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sungu Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing