We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty hotel, but pushy staff, many problems with room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sungu Resort & Spa
Ranked #105 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Stayed 5 days in Deluxe Lanai 7 in October 2010. Most expensive and worst hotel we stayed at in Bali.

Pros - Pretty buildings and grounds. Small, intimate hotel. Good breakfast (except the coffee). Nice neighborhood to explore, lots of alleys with beautiful views and friendly people (but far from center of Ubud). Quiet (except neighbor with loud TV).

Cons:
1. Staff was constantly trying to sell us tour packages (cycling/rafting), sometimes 3 times a day. This ruined our stay in Ubud. If you want to get harassed by people selling stuff just go to Kuta. We just wanted to enjoy the culture of Ubud, but they didn't listen. They must get paid commission for these tours.
2. broken stuff in room -- toilet kept running, sink wouldn't drain, bathroom door was super loud (woke up my wife in middle of night a few times). After 5 days none of these problems were fixed.
3. The Deluxe Lanai is two hotel rooms in one villa (aka duplex). But there is no lock on the door between the rooms, and you can clearly hear everything going on in the next room. Avoid these rooms.
4. No staff was fluent in English. At a "luxury" hotel that is unusual. Several times I tried asking a question or explaining a problem with the room and just gave up since they couldn't understand.
5. Room has some weird design choices, like a hole in the ceiling. Also, bathtub is outdoors and roof doesn't cover it well enough, so always gets bugs/leaves in it.
6. spa way overpriced -- instead, have Sedona Spa send a massage therapist to your room for 1/4 of the cost.
7. no in-room safe.
8. The "private pool" for the Deluxe Lanai is shared with 4 other rooms -- not what I call private.
9. hotel has walls around it, so there are no views. Sad, because there are rice paddies visible from many other hotels.

Bottom line - many hotels are cheaper and rated higher on tripadvisor, and they won't pressure you to buy tour packages.

If you go to Ubud:
walk around the rice paddies (free)
see Legong dance at Ubud Palace (80,000 iDR), simply amazing
go to Gunung Kawi/Tirta Empul/Tegallalang (200,000 IDR for private car from taxi stand in front of Bintang Supermarket).
eat at Warung Enak -- beautiful decor, best food in Ubud, friendly staff, quiet

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tim_likes_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2010

I stayed for 3 nights there and had quite an impressive time in terms of their gardens and surroundings. The resort was quiet and greeny, probably because it's located a little far from Ubud Palace. You can walk there but would take 30 mins, with the damp like that I chose to stay in! Also they had afternoon tea served during 17.00-18.00, too bad I didn't get to use it. The restaurant served delicious grilled chicken steak and lovely breakfast; as well as all staff, they were every freindly and helpful. Some other small drawbacks were the bathroom which was open air and you know...when it's dark, you can't barely see if geckos hanging on the wall or not! and some broken lights in my room made it worse! You sometimes can detect free wifi signal but verrrrrrrrrrrrrrry low... I had to sit in the lobby to use wifi, it was pretty speedy there though. Anyway, they have a computer for guests to use in the same area. I expected toilet nozzle as I saw some hotels in Bali offer but not here, oh...well. The room was spacy but the a/c was way too small for the room space, I turned it on at 18C and didn't seem to be like in the temp at all and a bit worn out and needed some maintenance, I also saw a trace of termites! but over all this resort is still in an acceptable condition for me.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiaticia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Stayed for 3 days with wife and 14yr old son. The layout was good, beautifully decorated and courteous staff but the ensuite washrooms need overhauling. Also the breakfast, when included in the room needs to be of a wider variety. It should'nt be a set menu.
They have a courtesy pick up and drop facility from the hotel at any time.(thank god).
There is nothing recreational for the child (no games etc) to do in the hotel. Even the newspaper had to be bought from the market.
This is not a place to stay with children unless all that you want to do is swim.
Though it had free wifi, we could not catch it in our room and had to come to the lobby/dining area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianWandererDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights. The room was Ok and the outside bathroom excellent. The overall impression was of a lack of attention to detail. The grounds / gardens needed TLC and would lift the overall impression. The one and only pool umbrella was mouldy and rotten with holes in the fabric!!
The staff were attentive but, as mentioned by others, overly interested in our 'program'. One staff member ( Suda?) became very 'huffy' after finding I'd booked white water rafting elsewhere. His service standard dropped markedly after that.
Breakfast was fresh/well cooked but lacked variety. Best dish is the rice porridge (delicious).
The shuttle service was very good and we had no problem getting into or out of town.
Overall, nothing drastic to complain about but no lasting positive memories either.
If you stay here, check out Warung Sari Bamboo about 50m down the hill. Martini (the owner) is lovely and a fabulous cook! Some of the best food we've had in 10 visits to Bali.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PapaCrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I have no major complaints about this small, charming hotel. The rooms/villas are arranged around charming small courtyards and pools. The staff is very friendly and helpful and it's nice get away from those big box hotels.

That said, this place suffers from one major problem - location. This is a small place, located away from the main drag. You don't really want to hang out at the hotel all day because it's very small and there's only one restaurant. But there's not much to do or see around the hotel either. There's no beautiful countryside and there isn't much in the way of shops nearby either - you have to take the hotel shuttle to the town, which is gross. There's been A LOT of development in Ubud in recent years. There is very little rice paddy at this point and just a lot of villas, hotels, shops, hawkers and TRAFFIC. So unless you're staying at a big resort, it's hard to get away from all the development and noise. Our first room was close to the street and we were awoken by roosters from the vendor across the street every morning at dawn. We switched to a more expensive villa which solved the problem, but still, hours of sleep lost. Next time I go to Bali, I'm staying at the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

The location of the hotel is perfect, not too far from the crowded Ubud central yet peaceful & quiet hidden in Jl. Raya Penestanan next to paddy fields. The staffs are friendly, polite and helpful. We arrived during a heavy downpour, the hotel staffs quickly sheltered us from getting wet with umbrellas before we got out from our car.

The room we stayed was a single storey banglo unit with only bedroom and bathroom. We love the bathroom the most as it was the most romantic place for us to spend our private time together. The roofless shower area enables us to enjoy the sunny blue sky or starry night during shower. The floor with a sinked tub is unique and big enough for a soaking couple, but the downside is the slippery tiles. The mosquito net hung up makes the bed setting looks more romantic for couple.

The semi-private pools filled with clean chlorine free water was enjoyable. The breakfast and afternoon tea were great, especially the freshly bake pastries served for our breakfast. The only complaint is the long wait for the food to be served...but worth it since the food is yummy! The paddy field tracking was a wonderful experience with friendly and well English spoken guide, Ketut, explaining all details about paddy plantation in Ubud. Best of all is the free shuttle service to and from Ubud town by the hotel whenever you need it, a service which is worth 5-star.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Wong75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

loved this small hotel about 5/10 min slow walk along monkey road to central town.
free shuttle if you need it. Staff are what makes this place special, very helpful and friendly, we were there over Nyepi week, We tried to keep with their Nyepi day by having candles instead of using electricity in the evening and being quiet around the small complex, a shame a few aussies couldnt respect the day/night as well... Had a great walk round paddyfields and waterfall with Ketut.
The rooms are typical balinese we had a small bungalow with a huge bathroom (outside) and mossie net over bed. At night mossie burners were lit and bed turned down. We had the use of a small pool with 2 other villas and also the larger pool which was for everyone. Breakfast was good as well as an evening meal with great service buy all.
highly recommended if you want something small and quiet and with attentive service.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppybognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Svarga Loka Resort
Svarga Loka Resort
#100 of 199 in Ubud
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
2.5 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bali Spirit Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 199 in Ubud
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#44 of 199 in Ubud
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sungu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sungu Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Penestanan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly Waka Namya Resort & Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#90 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £52 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sungu Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next Antonio Blanco Museum. With choices of accommodations in Ubud: villas, private villas, resorts and hotels, the Sungu Resort & Spa is no new player. Formerly known as Waka Namya Resort & Spa Ubud, this hotel and resort has re-invented itself, and therefore upgraded many of its services and facilities to cater for its guests - the satisfied repeaters and the new ones seeking an alternatives of Ubud Resort or Ubud Hotel. Come and stay with us - Be a part of supreme, serene and sacred experiences.The Sungu Resort - the haven on the hill, within walking distance to the famed Antonio Blanco Museum, is nearby the artist village of Penestanan and is a short drive from the Rudana Gallery, many Ubud Art Museums & Cultural Centre and the downtown of Ubud. The Sungu Resort is serene and relaxing with welcoming friendly staff and management team who are always at your service. The Renovation has been done properly, To be in full operation on 1 July 2013, the resort is keen to await your stay with us with a full rejuvenating spa programs, children programs and creative art programs. Relax, rejuvenate, and rediscover yourself in a newly refurbished Resort, The Sungu Resort. This newly reborn Resort, formerly known as Waka Namya Resort, boosts new improved facilities such as New Duplex Villa Sungu ideal for 2 Adults and 3 Children. Another addition is the 2 Bed Room- Pool Villa Sungu also ideal for 2 Adults and 3 children. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa SunguThis is a two storey-traditional Balinese style villa with amenities such as top floor is a big sofa bed in the queen size bedroom with, TV cable for kids, air conditioning. And in down stairs find a queen size bedroom, shared huge bathroom, open shower, bathtub with complete amenities such as a hairdryer, large fridge, mini bar and a telephone. This Balinese room is decorated with local art work, whilst in the outside terrace you can find a private swimming pool, beautiful tropical garden, ideal for 2 adults and 3 children; or, if you would prefer, 4 adults maximum. 2 Bed Room - Pool Villa Sungu is an excellent choice for your family. Each of the villas has an outdoor swimming pool decorated with green stone - a true wonderful appeal for a swim for adults and children. Have a swim and regain your stamina and wellness with the healthy sea salt treated pool. The Sungu Resort - Unique place to stay - feels like home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sungu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sungu Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing