We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants drop on face / faulty water heater / No privacy in room”
Review of Jati Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jati Home Stay
Ranked #70 of 629 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2011

After reading wonderful reviews on Jati website, we had high expectations and look forward to meeting Dewa, Jati and family. But this home stay was very disappointing in lots of ways.

Problem I They thin walls of the rooms left us no privacy and the water heater is not working.....but this is not the main problem...

Problem II When we request for a multi-plug from the staff.. their answer "don't have" but his is still not the main problem...

Problem III The main problem only came to light in the night, we found ants keep dropping on our faces and bed. This caused my wife to have many sleepless nights.

We would definitely not recommend this place for people who love cleanliness. I rather to spend a bit more than to return back to this place again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SingaporeJohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2010

Great, very affordable place with beautiful view of a hidden Rice Paddy, which may as well be "living & growing meditation". Dewa, Trina, rest of family, Putu, & staff were very accommodating, happy, friendly, kind, and a real pleasure to deal with. My initial goal was to stay for 30 nights and I ended up staying 58. I definitely miss my stay and regret not staying longer but happy that the Homestay was all booked for the holiday season.

Rooms are very comfortable and clean (Putu does a GREAT job + sings all day which is hysterical - definitely an "Indonesia Idol" contestant...not!); bottom floor rooms (best ones with brand new bathroom fixtures) have a double bed + 1 single while the second floor has one double with great view of the paddy. No a/c but not needed and some nights I slept with the comforter). Make sure to meet and visit his Dad's Gallery - the real & famous Jati - above the dining area, (the real & famous Jati) because the paintings are absolutely beautiful.

Like previous reviews, walls are thin but besides that, no complaints. Truth is that the problem isn't with Jati; it's with some of the guests that ranged from quiet book readers, travelers, to the young booze disrespectful crowd, although not very many. Dining are always ended up being the gathering place during the afternoons.

Simple filing breakfast, freshly made, and delicious - 1 different hot plate every day along with a plate of fruit salad, coffee and thermos of tea (also varies and you can ask for it anytime in the day) - a definite plus since the majority of Homstays do not offer it. Laundry service (very inexpensive), tours, moped rental, shuttle to airport, all less expensive than other available places, available on site. Right on Hanoman Street with lots of shopping, places to eat, laundry, spas, and pretty much every thing Ubud has to offer - quieter but only 5-10 minutes walk from Ubu's main street. Also about a 10-12 minutes walk from the Monkey Forest which is cool and a great place to just sit and relax - about $2.25 to enter). Oh; and let's not forget free wi-fi with 2 modems which was awesome.

I highly recommend it... you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I started my 4 weeks Bali trip in Jati Homestay for 4 nights, and decided to come back and end my trip by staying the last 2 nights in this wonderful place. The staff and residents in this place have been fantastic. It is a great place for backpackers, and the location is quiet, away from the heavy traffic that has, unfortunately, become of Ubud. The main streets of Ubud can be reached by foot within 10 mins, and highly recommended is the Kafe, which is on the opposite street from Jati. The rooms are decent, although the bamboo walls are not the best sound proof material around. Occasionally you will be able to hear the muffled voices of your neighbours in the quiet hours. Other than that, this place is fantastic with a common area for free wifi (not 1, but 2 routers to choose from), a view of the rice padi in front of your room, and really a wonderful place to meet travelers to talk. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duan-s_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manofaran77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xcamanhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unagidondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Depa House
Depa House
#24 of 629 in Ubud
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Teba House Ubud Guest House
0.2 mi away
Gerhana Sari 2 Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Desak Putu Putera Homestay
0.2 mi away
Umah Anila
Umah Anila
#39 of 629 in Ubud
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santana Bali Home Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jati Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jati Home Stay

Address: Hanoman Street | Padang tegal, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 629 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £10 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jati Home Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jati Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jati Home Stay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing