We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing”
Review of Villa Chempaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Chempaka
Ranked #425 of 615 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed here for 5 days at the start of our Bali holiday. It was a lovely place to chill and unwind away from the touristy hubbub of Ubud. We loved the simply styled villa and having breakfast served on our verandah. The staff were friendly and helpful. Although it is an older place it is well maintained and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would have enjoyed a bit more variety of breakfast choices rather than eggs every day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coochiedreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

As per the other average review, this place is average and only worth $30/night
The place is 20+ years old, very very average and not to be confused with Villa Cempaka which are luxury villas on Echo Beach

Easily better accommodation on the same street at this one - my recommendation is to look elsewhere

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BT1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Purely based on the reviews I booked a villa for 4 nights in January 2011 and was disappointed enough to check out after one night. The establishment may suffer a bit from being overrated on this site as I found it pretty average. Firstly the location is not as easy and central as expressed by others. Located on an unsealed and fairly uneven rocky road section, a decent walk to the top of Monkey Forest Road is enough in the heat, rain etc. My husband and I are of average fitness so the elderly, infirm, children and shopping laden will have issues walking to the location. The construction of the villas provides no soundproofing and we could hear the conversations of guests in the villa beside us whilst indoors. The outlook over the rice fields is pleasant however all the extras come with this such as farmers going to the toilet in view and early morning scaring of the birds off the crops. All these points are manageable and forgivable but the pool was drained upon arrival and not ready for use before we left so at US$63.75 per night it was not value for money. Once again I would not say this is a bad place to stay but I don't think it deserves such a high rating. Alternatively the Sagitarius Inn on Monkey Forest Road provided us with a much better room, facilities, location and price...now there is a hotel I would really recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustbackCentralCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

My 24 year old daughter and I spent 8 nights at the Villa over new years 2010/2011. The villa was in a great location, close to the action, but situated on a quiet road overlooking rice fields when we wanted to take time out. The room was spacious and clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Over the time we were away my daughter got a bit of a tummy bug, and the staff prepared a special rice porridge for her to help settle her stomach, they were very warm and caring. We left Bali last night at 10.45pm, the staff allowed us to keep our room until 6pm, nothing was too much effort. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone who wanted a relaxing getaway. By the way, we visited the Lilly Spa a few mins down the road 4 times and enjoyed excellent massages, facials and hair treatments.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruspug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

In September after not being back to Bali for nine years we returned to Villa Chempaka in Ubud for a ten day stay with family & friends to celebrate my birthday. Thanks to the wonderful owner & staff at Villa Chempaka it was a holiday I will always remember & will never forget the kindness shown to us. Jl. Bisma is the home to great restaurants, Miro's & Cafe des Artistes & the wonderful Casa Luna cooking school. I would not stay anywhere else & look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevKalamunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Perfect place to stay if your priorities are peace and tranquility. Just a very short walk to the centre of all the action yet its situation among rice fields[and lots of ducks] and off the beaten track made one feel a million miles away. Very efficient and pleasant staff.Room was big and comfortable and in general the whole place seemed clean.We were lucky to have the villa[the one shown in their photo] right alongside the swimming pool and this added to the privacy-villa number 6.
Breakfast was not big but well presented and more than adequate. Unfortunately we could only stay two nights due to the place being booked out and had to transfer to an inferior hotel. We would have stayed at least a week if possible.Definitely the best place by far we stayed during our two week Bali trip

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwiflyer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

The Villa Chempaka is delightful and comprises 10 beautiful and well constructed bungalows. We have stayed there on a regular basis for the past few years and cannot fault it. It is well maintained by a small and capable staff. Such a charming and peaceful setting where we can watch the birds and check out the ducks wading around in the rice paddies. Having makan pagi each morning on the verandah is just lovely - can't wait to return again next year sometime.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.4 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
1.4 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.1 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
153 reviews
3 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chempaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chempaka

Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #425 of 615 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £32 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Chempaka 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Villa Chempaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chempaka Hotel Ubud
Villa Chempaka Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing