We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Chempaka
Nearby Hotels
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$695
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,496
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$721
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$553
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
21
22
9
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
22
9
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights recently. The villas are single storied so you don't have any noise from upstairs, they have a nice balcony to sit out on. The villas look out onto a few rice fields. You can find villas with nicer views but you will have to go out from ubud further. The villas are spacious and have nice Balinese touches. The ceilings are ornate and traditional, lovely to look up to. A big bed and shower. Tea and coffee, a kettle and small fridge. Everything you really need. The villa is cleaned well everyday and a fresh hibiscus placed on your bed. The staff are friendly but leave you alone and aren't intrusive and trying to sell you excursions, but if you need a driver they'll get someone for you. The location is very good, a short walk into town for all that has to offer, and peace and quiet wh:en you get back home. You can walk through Nick's Pension to Monkey Forest Rd in 5 min. Some of the other places that involve a longer walk through Monkey forest are a bit inconvenient. The grounds are small, the pool small as well, so don't expect grand spacious gardens. The balconies are open to view from other balconies so not complete privacy.
This is a good spot to stay a little out of the hectic town area but not too far out and is quite good value for the price. By the way, breakfast served on your balcony every morning as well, life is hard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeeponKrusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is the best hotel I’ve stayed in for many years. The location is 10 mins walk to Monkey Forest and Ubud’s main street, but it feels like it’s off the beaten track. If arriving by taxi, make sure the driver gets the right place, as the sign says Villa Cempaka and the house number is not the same as in some websites. Thankfully the staff here are very welcoming and friendly. The hotel consists of small bungalows (or chalets), each with a front porch and thatched roof. The rooms are beautifully decorated with high ceilings, wooden shutters and little statues. Breakfast is usually included and is served outside on your porch. My wife loved this place and did not want to leave. The hotel is close to rice fields. At night you can hear the sound of geckos and ducks. It’s wonderfully relaxing. Don't hesitate to book this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to reception seem to be best in terms of cleanliness and decor.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulJGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Chempaka about 7 years ago, then in 2010 stayed somewhere else in Ubud which we were not that fussed about and wished we had gone back to Villa Chempaka. We decided to hop on our scooter to see what it still looked like after all those years and we really did kick ourselves for not going back! Then last year in 2011, I went with my 24 year old daughter - we even stayed in the same room at Villa Chempaka overlooking rice paddies and a small goldfish pond outside our verandah. I loved it again. My daughter thought we should not have bothered staying a whole week in Seminyak and spent the whole 2 weeks here, at Villa Chempaka Ubud. That is saying something from a younger person. The saying "Less is more..." is true. Chempaka is a very small complex (about 10 villas) a small pool, so not a whole bunch of children running and diving and yelling (sorry, I know kids have to have fun too, but this is a place where you won't get that kind of situation so therefore great for a quiet and serene break). We enjoyed walking into the village as lots to see on the way, shops, hairdressers, massage etc. Probably about 15 minutes but didn't feel like that big a deal to walk, actually prefer the very small enjoyable stroll. We hired a scooter for $5 per day and had fun exploring further out and going to Spa Hati for massages. There is a great cheaper spa on Jl Bisma across the road and a few steps from Chempaka we frequented lots, plus the hairdresser opposite the spa do good waxing. So basically outside Chempaka you have everything anyway if you don't feel like walking into "town" . There is also Cafe Artisans for good food or beer and wine if you just want to sit a while. Thank you also to Villa Chempaka for maintaining your beautiful property. The gardens are constantly maintained and there is always someone about quietly working away to make sure the paint is not peeling off somewhere. Its just small details like that which make a difference.

Room Tip: Villa 8 has a small goldfish pond and 2 villas away from the pool. There is one large villa at the very end (room 10 I think). We checked it out and would pay the extra if I was with my husband next time. Very friendly for solo travellers as the staff lovely but the people that stay there are friendly.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FarAwayKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I was a little bit confused with the reviews I had read but I have to say I had an excellent stay at Villa Chempaka. Marvellous and attentive staff, very quiet area and close to everything in Ubud. We were there for 19 nights and I can only say we had a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoaoHoefel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights in Ubud, place is a little distance away from the main attractions in Ubud, but nonetheless not to far away.
Walking distance might be a little bit far, but since we rented our own car then there's no issue for us.
Place is quiet and clean, staffs are attentive but not intrusive. Breakfast served was nice.
Great value for money.
they also provided free wifi, and the speed are acceptable fast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lawrence1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews