We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the rice paddies”
Review of Villa Agung Khalia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Agung Khalia
Ranked #50 of 609 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were part of a large group who stayed here as part of a birthday celebration. The staff are fantastic here with nothing too much trouble. We had a traditional Balinese feast for dinner on arrival, though if you don't like spicy hot food it may not suit your palate. Massages are available on site which are reasonably priced and very relaxing. great facilities in the villas and the food in the restaurant is lovely. Transport in and out of Ubud is provided and a mobile phone is given to you to arrange pick ups. We all had a lovely stay and would highly recommend it especially for groups and families.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NararaToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here over a year ago. Although I use TripAdvisor frequently, I unfortunately have not been good about "giving back" with reviews. As I was looking through TripAdvisor for my next vacation, I decided I must write a review. This stay was exceptional. Everyone at the villa was exceptionally nice. The driver was very accommodating with our trips downtown, and the food was delightful. We traveled with our three year old, my in-laws, and another family with a five year old. The house was more than adequate in space. The pool is large, especially since it to ourselves. Everyone had a great time. One unexpected highlight was the rice paddy tour around the villa. It was a nice way to explore nature. I really can't say enough wonderful things about this place. It's great to see that other reviews are consistent with our experience. Even if you are used to staying at a 5 star hotel, you will not be disappointed at all here. It has all the amenities, but without the commercial feeling. Rather, this feels much like a home. Our now four year old still sings and does a little dance whenever we mention this place. Thank you to everyone at Agung Khalia.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have stayed at agung khalia 5 times now,It does not dissapoint. As soon as we arrive the staff a so welcoming and freindly, We feel as if we are coming home, we love to stay in the honeymoon suite overlooking the rice paddies,STUNNING.All the staff know us well and I love chatting to them and getting to know about their familes,We have gone to visit and have coffee in their homes.and also attended a ceramony. This is true bali,,we had a day at the local school with the children.That was amazing and rewarding.If you want to experience the true culture of bali, please go and stay at Agung Khalia,walk through the villages and mingle with the locals,They are beautiful people.

Room Tip: stay at least 5 days.honeymoon suite upstairs has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed in the villas that shared a pool and it was huge and all to ourselves most of the time. The houses are spacious and beautifully designed. There was plenty of room for our party of two families and so much to entertain kids from 1yr to 15yrs. The views from the upstairs rooms and terraces are breathtaking over rice paddies, and you feel submerged in rural life yet hop in one of the free shuttles and you're in Ubud in 15 mins.
However it is the staff that made this place special, they all knew the kids names on the first day and would stop and smile and chat as they passed. They had endless time for the kids and would play with them every chance they get. Guru at the front desk took the teenagers on his bike round the fields, arranged rafting, and trips and suggested places for dinner and took the toddler to wake up the ducks.
I could keep writing pages with reasons to go, but if you want a peaceful, beautiful place to stay surrounded with friendly, helpful people then this is your place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vj_cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spent some time here in early July, it is so stunningly beautiful! Set in the middle of the rice fields just outside Ubud. Every morning we walked up through the rice fields to start our day. We are regular visitors to Bali and Villa Agung Khalia is one of the best places we have stayed in on the island. The staff and service is fantastic, nothing is too much effort for the friendly staff. Everything you needed was at your fingertips, power adapters, mosquito deterants, filtered water, room safes, etc. We spent a few nights in Villa 1 and a few nights in Villa Maia, both were great but Villa Agung Khalia was our favourite! Laura was terrific to deal with throughout our booking etc, we can't recommend the place more highly. We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Artisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Vila Maia at Vila Agung Khalia for three nights in July as part of our Honeymoon.

We were staying in hotels and resorts in Bali and Lombok so wanted to stay in a Vila and somewhere a little quieter, so Vila Maia (a new 2 bed Vila) based 10 minutes from Ubud looked perfect.

I dealt with Laura throughout and she was great - very patient as we had quite a few queries throughout.

The staff are fantastic. All of the drivers are so nice and so informative and chatty. You get a mobile phone and they offer a collection and delivery service from Ubud that is very handy.
The restaurant staff are so friendly and accommodating also and you can have meals at your Vila. Breakfast was good and we had lunch at our Vila twice that was gorgeous - really fresh and tasty local food (Nasi Goreng) but there's sandwiches and a good selection of options.

We were collected from Seminyak and dropped to the airport by Agung, who also brought us on a walk in the rice fields and to a local village, which was excellent as we got to meet locals and experience some local culture. He was a great host throughout.

The Vila (Maia) itself is very nice. It's huge and perfect for a family or two couples, or one couple either, as we only used one of the two bedrooms so had so much room. You are in the countryside so expect to hear lots of crickets chirping at night, birds signing, ducks quacking and even some roosters. You are supplied with plug in mosquito deterents and a net over your bed, so they weren't a problem, thankfully.

Overall, a great experience in a lovely Vila with fantastic staff. A nice retreat from busy Ubud where you are made feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was our first trip to Bali and Villa Agung Khalia proved to be everything and more than we expected. It is a beautiful place in the rice paddies, just outside of town (which is where you want to be if you want some quiet) but more than the villa itself, the service was unbelievable. The staff were always available, as were the drivers to drive us the ten minutes to the center of town or pick us up. One of the owners, Agung, walked us around the lovely rice paddies and was gracious and friendly. The wait staff, cleaning crews, gardener and everyone were just as friendly, attentive, accommodating and helpful! Don't hesitate - you will love this place.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank antonmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.8 mi away
Purana Boutique Resort
Purana Boutique Resort
#10 of 609 in Ubud
163 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#3 of 609 in Ubud
175 reviews
2.6 mi away
Temuku Villas Ubud
Temuku Villas Ubud
#6 of 609 in Ubud
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Umaya Ubud Villa
Umaya Ubud Villa
#36 of 609 in Ubud
94 reviews
2.6 mi away
Samkhya Villas Ubud
Samkhya Villas Ubud
#26 of 609 in Ubud
155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Anusara Luxury villas
Anusara Luxury villas
#52 of 609 in Ubud
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Agung Khalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Agung Khalia

Address: Banjar Sala | Pejengkawan, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 609 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £48 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Agung Khalia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Agung Khalia consists of a new 3-bedroom and 6-bedroom villa, each with private pool and panoramic rice field views located 4km (10 minutes) northeast of central Ubud. The villas blend elements of traditional Balinese style and tropical outdoor living. An engineered vent design creates a natural cool environment day and night, with air-con as a back-up for those that prefer. Experience traditional Balinese culture from the comfort of your luxury villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Agung Khalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Agung Khalia Hotel Ubud
Villa Agung Khalia Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing