We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly room”
Review of Sri Ratih Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sri Ratih Cottages
Ranked #38 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smelly room”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I see a lot of good evaluations here, but my experience was not that good unfortunately.
The garden and swimmingpool looked very nice.
The room was quite basic and smelled very bad (chemicals?). The bathroom was very spacious, but not very up to date and didn't look very clean. The bed was too hard for my liking.
Because of this, I only stayed here one night.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    288
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
202
540
67
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This was the last hotel of our tour and probably the best. Our room was older but very comfortable, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the grounds were well looked after and breakfast was very good. We did not like Ubud, but the area of the hotel was rural whilst only a 15 minute walk to the centre. We would happily stay again

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The room is value for money in my case where we got a big room (2 queen size bed). The room smelled nice and frangrant.
The towels were clean.
The design of the room had been incorporated with balinese elements.
The bathroom is amazing and the toiletries smelled great.
The al fresco breakfast place was so cosy...
I wish i have stayed here throughout my trip in sep.
Definitely will come back here if i need peace.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alafafafafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have been staying at Sri Ratih Cottages for many years now and I must say, it just keeps getting better and better. Kadek and the staff at Sri Ratih are wonderful and make you feel like you are part of their family. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, the food is amazing (Chef Made is the best) and the pool and gardens are peaceful and relaxing. I am excited to return to Sri Ratih as they have just completed their expansion.
It's truly the best place near the city center (10 min walk) and its quiet location is preferable.
I always recommend Sri Ratih to my friends that travel to Bali - it's really a gem!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are my personal favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimpiPinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I cannot say enough great things about the wonderful staff at Sri Ratih Cottages ! I have now stayed there several times over the past few years, both on my own and with my Live Laugh Love tour groups. The moment one walks through the lobby entrance, you immediately feel like you are being welcomed by your own family. The hotel grounds are wonderfully kept and make you feel like you have truly escaped to a Balinese paradise. The rooms are clean and quiet and the small balcony outside every room is always a wonderful place to sit in the morning and evening to enjoy the peacefulness of your surroundings. If you feel like you need to cool off after a long day of walking and hiking, the hotel pool provides a wonderful respite for you to relax and unwind. The restaurant also serves wonderful local dishes and to enjoy a homemade breakfast every day(with wonderfully strong Bali coffee !) is a great way to start the day !

The location of the hotel is great; close enough to the center of Ubud ( a beautiful 20 minute walk which includes crossing over the magnificient Champuan Bridge) yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle to really feel like you are in Bali. Nights are quiet and amazingly peaceful and to wake up to the surrounding rice fields in the morning is nothing less than sublime !

I am already looking forward to returning to Sri Ratih again this spring with my 3rd tour group ! And I know Nyoman, Made, Arumi, Ketut, Kadek, Wayan and the rest of the Sri Ratih staff will be there to greet us all with their warm smiles the moment we walk through their doors. Terima Kasih to you all for your always generous hospitality !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melinaHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannonvale, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Sri Ratih Cottages and felt that it was excellent value. This is a brilliant little oasis just out of the madding crowds of central Ubud. The gardens are superb, only surpassed by the fantastic staff who to a person were always most friendly and welcoming.

Our room (14) was basic but fine with an outlook over the wonderful garden and with only the bathroom perhaps being time for an update (although perfectly adequate and clean). We are a couple in our 50’s and found the location, a little out of Ubud, perfect. It presented us great walking opportunities in a number of directions and only a short taxi ride should you prefer not to walk.

There is still custruction work in progress however we didn't find this an issue. We did spend quite a lot of our time away during the day however even when we were there during the day we didn't find the noise terribly bothersome.

Breakfasts were included and excellent. We also ate a number of other enjoyable meals here.

Thank you to the team at Sri Ratih, hopefully we will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam_52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We spent 3 nights from the 22/09/2011 to the 24/09/2011 . This was our 4th trip to Bali. We spend an average of 3 weeks each time we go and stay at different places across the island. This hotel is located at the top of a steep hill. However we just hired a driver to get around. The rooms we had (16 + 17) were very basic, yet clean. No tea coffee facilities in room. Gardens wonderful, you will see the owner watering the garden every morning and he is a font of knowledge on how to grow and graft frangapanies. Staff timid yet helpful. Food great. Best retuarant is Cafe Wyan- Monkey Forest Road.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl55555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#27 of 198 in Ubud
523 reviews
2.2 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#25 of 198 in Ubud
736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 198 in Ubud
1,915 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#15 of 198 in Ubud
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Ratih Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Ratih Cottages

Property: Sri Ratih Cottages
Address: Jl. Campuhan 1, Penestanan Kelod | Ubud, Bali - Indonesia, Ubud 80582, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#35 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#37 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sri Ratih Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among the rice paddy fields of Penestanan, Sri Ratih cottages features a charming secluded Balinese hotel with large garden offering a heaven of peace and tranquility. Yet only few minutes drive to many restaurants, galleries and shops in Ubud town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sri Ratih Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Ratih Cottages Hotel Ubud
Sri Ratih Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing