We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sri Ratih Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sri Ratih Cottages
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sausalito, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Like other Ubud hotels, Sri Ratih has gorgeous rooms and grounds and pool. Unlike other Ubud hotels, the property is quiet at night. We had an air-con room and couldn't hear the usual dogs and roosters in the night. The staff was excellent. And construction is almost complete on a restaurant which will be nothing short of gorgeous. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer more private porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    275
    37
    9
    5
See reviews for
183
511
61
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This place was paradise after numerous horrible budget hotels in Vietnam and Bali. BOOK it! The staff is super friendly, the environment relaxing and beautiful, the rooms lovely and airy with a balcony overlooking an exotic tropical garden and pool area. I am not exagarating - its great. They welcomed us in their beautiful reception area next to the pool with a tropical drink and an ice cold cloth (not a small and unimportant thing in the heat and travelling in hot taxies from Denpassar - these small extras made our day). A 15-20 min walk into Ubud town and very short steep hill before you walk past shops etc to central Ubud. Some might find it hard but if you are fit and can walk its doable. You are in Ubud central in no time. Visit the Roberto Blanco art museum (an ecentric artist whose house is now a art gallery/museum) closeby (at bottom of the hill). The hotel restaurant is open early until 11pm and great food and service in a wonderful setting overlooking countryside. We highly recommend this place. On another matter, book the Elephant Safari Park about 30 min out of Ubud with hotel....you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated as they are busy renovating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

It took us a few hours to get to Sri Ratih Cottages from the airport, so by the time we arrived, we were exhausted. The first step in and the atmosphere was very calming and peaceful. While we were waiting for our rooms to be sorted, we were served with welcome drinks. The staff were lovely and their Balinese dresses were rather fascinating. I did notice some construction work going on, but they were having a break at the time so there were not as much noise. We were then directed to our rooms. We had to carry our own luggages up to the second floor which was very inconvenient and tiring. The room was simple and clean. The balcony was great.
I really liked the location of the hotel, it sat on top of a hill and, with a delightful 15-minute walk, you can easily get to the attractions around. To be honest, we did not get to spend much time in the hotel, so we did not fully discover its facilities. However, there was a medium-sized swimming pool, beautiful garden and free internet access at the reception.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatchaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We arrived at Sri Ratih on New Year's Eve. Staff were polite and welcoming and we were soon shown to our room(s).

We had booked a duplex suite as we had our two teenage daughters with us and wanted two bedrooms.
The rooms were nice and clean, although the idea of an al-fresco bathroom is "interesting".

It is unfortunate that our rooms and their adjoining balcony where right next to some building work. this was despite the information we had telling us that work would only run from July to September.

When I asked for a change of room none was available (quite possible given the time of year) but the manager seemed to find it all rather amusing rather than be apologetic and offer any form of recompense.

I was told that the workers were "not that busy" and would be finished by 5.00pm. There may not have been constant jack-hammers but there was constant hammering and the sound of loud nail guns going off. This rendered our "cozy daybed on the airy balcony" unusable for quiet relaxation and reading.

I was told that there would be no work the next day as it was New Year's day. As the weather was not great we decided to have a brief walk nearby and then spend the day at the cottages to rest and read. Unfortunately the manager was either lying to us or had not communicated with the workers as work did go ahead. When I pointed this out to him he laughed and said that they would not be working much! At this point I realised that further discussion with this guy was not worthwhile as I did not want to spoil our holiday.

He seems to be excellent at coming on this site and apologising for problems when people have left, promising a wonderful experience when they return, but makes no effort when you are here!

If you are thinking of coming here I would definitely think twice as the work near the front of the complex (right next to us) clearly has a long way to go before completion. I can hear the drills as I sit in the room now at 9.15am on an otherwise perfect morning.

As for the rest of my review:

Rooms were nice and clean.
Staff were reserved but cheerful and helpful.
Food in the restaurant was perfectly good (though not sensational as other reviewers seem to think!!).

Usually I would recommend this place but cannot in the light of the experience which we have had.

Room Tip: Not near the front of complex!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Temasektony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

I see a lot of good evaluations here, but my experience was not that good unfortunately.
The garden and swimmingpool looked very nice.
The room was quite basic and smelled very bad (chemicals?). The bathroom was very spacious, but not very up to date and didn't look very clean. The bed was too hard for my liking.
Because of this, I only stayed here one night.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

This was the last hotel of our tour and probably the best. Our room was older but very comfortable, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the grounds were well looked after and breakfast was very good. We did not like Ubud, but the area of the hotel was rural whilst only a 15 minute walk to the centre. We would happily stay again

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

The room is value for money in my case where we got a big room (2 queen size bed). The room smelled nice and frangrant.
The towels were clean.
The design of the room had been incorporated with balinese elements.
The bathroom is amazing and the toiletries smelled great.
The al fresco breakfast place was so cosy...
I wish i have stayed here throughout my trip in sep.
Definitely will come back here if i need peace.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alafafafafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.6 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.2 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#17 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#33 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Ratih Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Ratih Cottages

Property: Sri Ratih Cottages
Address: Jl. Campuhan 1, Penestanan Kelod | Ubud, Bali - Indonesia, Ubud 80582, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#35 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#37 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sri Ratih Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among the rice paddy fields of Penestanan, Sri Ratih cottages features a charming secluded Balinese hotel with large garden offering a heaven of peace and tranquility. Yet only few minutes drive to many restaurants, galleries and shops in Ubud town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Sri Ratih Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sri Ratih Cottages Hotel Ubud
Sri Ratih Cottages Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing