We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #15 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Was there for a friend's wedding and stayed @ the Pool Villa. It was superb. The hotel was excellent, not just the environment, the staffs, the view, the food, the service, the activities and lots more.
Regretted not buying their sleepwear, it was sooooo comfy. Will be back. ;P

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ai Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,590
    153
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
389
1,009
64
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

As the flagship of the Komaneka group of hotels in Bali, this is by far the most luxurious. I've stayed at both the Monkey Forest and Tanggayuda properties (which are both stunning and offer the warmth and charm that Komaneka is famous for), but Komaneka at Bisma is a stand- out.
While the hotel is located in town, it is still far enough away from the centre to give you the feeling as if you are in a private and exclusive haven. Surrounded by rice fields and forest, with a beautiful river running below, the rooms and villas are set on a hillside with stunning views.
I stayed in a Pool Villa which was one of the nicest and spacious villas I've stayed in. There is a large outdoor living area with kitchen, day bed (under cover), sun lounges, dining table and chairs, and the wonderful (and huge) private pool with infinity edge and a view down the valley. Inside is a king size canopy bed, dressing room and luxurious marble bathroom with deep tub and both indoor and outdoor showers. Everything looks fresh, new and well looked after. Friends stayed in a Suite room (standard room) and they also mentioned how spacious and luxurious the room felt, with a large terrace and stunning views. Although the hotel is set on a hillside, there's a discreet lift that takes you to each level (very handy in the heat of Bali).
Apart from the room, it's really the service that sets Komaneka apart. The staff are warm and friendly and always have a smile and 'hello' for every guest. The free shuttle bus which takes you to various places within Ubud town, is easy and convenient and the drivers are informative and friendly. Restaurant and room service staff are equally friendly and efficient, and the food is really good quality. We loved the little extras such as complimentary afternoon tea (served in the restaurant or in your villa), luxurious bath products, evening turn down and a special gift to take home.
A standout was the Spa centre. Located at the lower level of the property, adjacent to the second pool, the Spa is made up of inividual villas (some for couples, some for singles) with one side open to the forest and the bubbling river below. To relax and have a massage with the sound of the water running is really unique and the staff were lovely. A jacuzzi bath after the massage while looking down to the river was the perfect end.
The main reason for my stay was to attend a wedding which was held at Komaneka at Bisma. There is a purpose-build wedding chapel on site, which is a wood and glass structure that has a tranquil view of the forest and is located at the end of the property, offering privacy. The wedding set-up was beautiful with hanging flowers, and petals on the floor, and each guest was given a bag of rose petals to shower the bride and groom with after the ceremony. Following that was a fantastic buffet dinner which was set up on a large wooden deck area below the chapel and near the river. It was a great afternoon and evening, and the hotel staff did such a great job to make the whole event a success. If you are thinking of getting married in Bali, I could highly recommend Ubud and especially Komaneka at Bisma.
I will definitely be back to Komaneka in Ubud!

Room Tip: The Pool Villas closest to the wedding chapel offers great views of the valley and forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stay in komaneka Bisma has made our holiday be the most memorable one!

Rooms are superb, service is even outstanding. Food are delicious. Many free activities offer such as learn Balinese dance, and art crafting.

The view is wonderful. Location is somewhat tiring when you want to go to monkey forest street.

However, it did not ruin our holiday since we had the best stay ever in Bali.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemartraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Not much more to add from the other reviews, but this was a stunning hotel, the grounds and location were beautiful, the rooms incredible and the staff the best we have ever experienced. Can't imagine anyone staying here and not being blown away. Would love to go back. Great location for trips too and the hotel did a good job of arranging a couple of trips for us, white water rafting being the best.

Only negative was that we only had 4 nights here!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisM187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We spent 4 perfect nights at Komaneka at Bisma after a long scuba diving trip and we were enchanted by the resort. We spent our first night in Bali at the Four Season's Sayan, and Komaneka by far surpassed it, and it's a fraction of the cost (if you've ever stayed at a Four Season's resort, they're hard to beat)!! We had a Bisma Suite, which included daily breakfast and a one-hour spa treatment for two. The breakfast was a great way to start the day, and the spa treatment was the perfect way to end it (after our first treatment, we went to a local spa down the street for other spa treatments, as they were considerably less expensive).

Although the Bisma resort (Komaneka has four separate hotels in Ubud) is just outside of downtown Ubud, you feel totally secluded. You can walk to town in about 15 minutes, or take one of the many shuttles to various points in town. While in Ubud, be sure to have lunch at Ibu Oka for suckling pig - it's the "touristy" place but, as a tourist, I preferred it to other suckling pig eateries. Also, don't miss the Dirty Duck for crispy duck (don't be turned off by the name, it was named after a group of ducks walked through with muddy feet just before the restaurant opened).

Komaneka has a number of complimentary day trips and activities, which were fun and educational. In addition to those outings, I would highly recommend spending a day with Bali Adventure Tours for some whitewater rafting and their elephant safari (be careful of taxis that try to take you to a lesser elephant site - you want the Elephant Safari Park at Taro - you'll see Bali Adventure Tour buses all around the parking lot). As a former whitewater raft guide from Colorado, I can say their operation is a good one.

Overall, this was a lovely visit. We loved it so much that we already have a return visit booked for April '12!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed over the weekend for a wedding in a Bisma Suite Room. Very luxury in Balinese way and very quiet. Super comfortable huge King-size bed. Good & strong inroom dual air-cond. Amazing buffef bandquet with natural surroundings. Like all Balinese people, the staffs are very friendly and always smiling. May not suite you if prefer staying close with actions. Tips: request higher floors for better view and request bigger room number for more privacy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed six nights in a one-bed pool villa in October.

Hotel is about 15 min walk from centre of Ubud however hotel provides a free shuttle each hour between the hotel, ubud palace and their hotel on monkey forest road and we used that every day. Was thankful the hotel was a bit out of the centre as was unbelieveably quiet and peaceful in the hotel

Hotel itself is stunning. Gorgeous lobby with a bar and comfy sofas and restaurant all open with views over the forest/river. Pool villa itself was beautiful - really spacious and unlike a lot of the hotels we looked at in ubud before we booked this one the pool and terrace couldn't be overlooked by anyone and the pool was large enough to swim in. Even if you don't book a pool villa the main hotel pool was beautiful with the same views of the forest and with only about 10 loungers along it was never crowded

Hotel food was lovely. For breakfast (a la carte not buffet) had fresh fruit platters and choice of balinese, healthy, american or indonesian breakfasts. Each afternoon you could get complimentary afternoon tea (tea/coffee and balinese 'cakes') in the restaurant or your villa. Lunch/dinner menu was extensive and quite reasonable - no more than eating out in a lot of the restaurants in ubud.

Very good service. All staff were friendly and polite and remembered your name. Arranged a driver through the hotel one day to go on a tour of some of the temples and lake bratan which really enjoyed.

Loved Ubud itself. Lots of restaurants and cafes and markets and shops to walk around. Recommend Nomad, Ibu Rai and Three Monkeys for really good reasonably priced food and Bridges for a really nice meal (book in advance)

Can't recommend Komaneka Bisma enough. Absolutely loved it and gutted to leave. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Go for a pool villa if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jalan Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing