We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value in Ubud”
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #16 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Value in Ubud”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Ubud has gotten expensive. The nice villas and hotels bordering the Ayung River or any river for that matter now runs US$300-400 per night. As such we were very pleased with the Agoda deal we got for the Komaneka at US$170-180 per night. Its not the villa but you get a spacious, well appointed room, with an enormous balcony. The setting along Jln Bisma is extremely close to town, yet tucked away in a quiet corner facing a river and its own terraced rice paddy fields.

The issues that we found were that building materials were obviously not the highest end like you would find at the more expensive places - but for US$170-180 per night I could not complain. Service as with most high end Bali establishments was excellent. The pool could have catered to more lounge chairs as there was a fair share of guests who basically stayed in the whole day sun tanning at the pool. The breakfast quality could also be improved significantly - very basic although it sounded good on the menu.

The place had a free shuttle service to anything nearby which was useful. If you visit, do visit the sister property at Monkey Forest to see the contemporary art gallery there, one of the best in Ubud, if not Bali itself.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marms&Elms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,661
    164
    36
    11
    2
See reviews for
407
1,056
70
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We had initially booked to spend our honeymoon at Komaneka at Monkey forest. At our arrival we were extremely well taken care of by the front office and to our surprise the manager informed us that we have been upgraded to a suit at the Bisma . So from there we new that we were in for something great.

The Bisma is a sanctuary in the middle of the Jungle, I cannot praise this place enough you have to be here to believe it. What makes it great is the staff!!! everyone and I mean very one are kind ,happy,attentive and know your name .Its a a great place , yes it has a amazing pool and the paddies but without the staff this hotel would just be another high end resort .

Its expensive but when you see and experience the service that you get then you will see it as a bargain . I have been to high end resorts before but nothing even compares to the Bisma.

Its all the small things that they do. Cookie jars everywhere , afternoon tea , bed time stories
every night and love poems /


Just to mention I had the flu for my entire stay but still I had a great time

Room Tip: all rooms are suits
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Hubby and I stayed just here on our 'babymoon' for 5 days and had the most amazing stay. Working in the hotel industry I tend to be picky about service and standards and cannot fault this place. Our Suite Room on the third floor was HUGE - spacious bathroom and gorgeous freestanding bath, Apple TV with a wide selection of music and movies, comfortable bed and a sprawling balcony that overlooked the rice terraces, palm trees and pool. I was blown away as soon as we walked in.

The pool area is as picturesque as it looks online and in pictures and offered a relaxing haven during the day. Lobby is amazing!

Breakfast is offered at the restaurant or in your room and we opted to eat in our room during our stay. An a la carte selection is offered with 5 different breakfast packages. Yummy food. We ate room service a few times and by the pool and all meals were delicious and reasonably priced. A complimentary afternoon tea is also offered either by the pool or in your room and was a lovely treat.

A shuttle service is offered on an hourly basis to central Ubud and we took advantage of this daily. One of the pick up points in Ubud is Komaneka at Monkey Forest and one day they offered us afternoon tea there while we waited for the car. It was always punctual.

The thing that stood out for me was the service. Everyone we encountered addressed us by name and were just wonderful. This place offers gorgeous little touches such as a turn down service where they place bottles of water by the bed and pyjamas on the bed. They turn on candles on teh balcony at night for you too. Cookies and fruit replenished daily in the room and have thought of all amenities you will need such as a torch, mosquito repellant, shopping bag etc. Free WIFI is also available in your room and around the hotel.

The hotel is not located too far from central Ubud but you definitely need to use the shuttle to get anywhere as the road you turn into to get to the hotel is quite long and bumpy!! You don't really want to be stuck walking far in that kind of heat.

For a romantic escape this is the place to book in Ubud. It was simply amazing and I wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Ask for third floor if staying in a Suite Room for a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This was our first stay in Bali, and it spoiled us. The staff, the view from the rooms, the care, the food was all wonderful. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YBarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My husband and two children loved Komaneka Bisma. Spent a week there in October. The suite rooms were amazing. Huge and comfortable. The bathroom was massive. Great balcony. Food, service, pool, staff all fantastic. Shuttle into town was excellent, easy and convenient. Ubud is great. If you want a more relaxed, quieter experience of Bali then this is a great place. A more traditional experience. Nice for the kids to see this side of Bali. Would definately stay at Bisma again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLBPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We just stayed for 3 nights in a suite room on the third floor. It looks as amazing in real life as the photos. The grounds, both pool areas and stunning lobby are a credit to the designer of this forest oasis. We loved the 2 pools - the flashy infinity pool with a row of sun lounges and the more laid back crescent pool that is on the lower level of the garden - much more secluded and a lower temperature that is quite refreshing (it must get less sun). There are 3 cotton roofed double-daybeds down there as well as a few hammocks, and also a few sunlounges.

The suite room was spacious, but was broken subtly into smaller areas so it did not feel cavernous. Amazing bathroom that is as practical as it is beautiful. Huge tub with 2 candles on the wall above so you can soak in their gentle light. Massive shower with rainfall type showerhead - and the water pressure was quite good. Heaps of towels (although no face washers, which I found surprising). Separate toilet is a lot more practical than a lot of modern hotel bathrooms where everything is open (particularly if someone is not feeling well!).

Walk in wardrobe with enough space on the shelf for 2 large suitcases to remain open for the full stay (no iron or iron board though). Be aware that the hairdryer supplied is only 400W (from memory), so it does not put out a lot of heat - you might want to bring your own. Little things like a bottle of essential-oil based insect repellent, a pair of torches and umbrellas, thongs (flip flops) are a pleasure to discover. The generously sized cookie jar has delicious tiny chocolate chip cookies. They were so god we demolished a third of the jar in no time, and had to hide the rest to prevent us eating them all!

You arrive to a huge rose petal design on the huge, comfortable bed. When they turn down the beds they lay out a pair of night shirts in the softest fine cotton... very comfortable. All terribly decadent!

The balcony is VERY big, but the bugs will come out at night. See if you can spot the gorgeous blue kingfisher that hunts at dusk... It's a great spot to sit in the morning and eat something from your complimentary fruit basket.

The staff are very friendly, and the shuttle service is convenient, although it only goes once an hour. You can also walk to the monkey forest, and the bottom of monkey forest road in a reasonable time.

Room Tip: the suites are huge, and well designed. Generous bathroom & wardrobe. We paid about $200 Austral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARLAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had a wonderful stay here and wish we could have stayed longer. From the amazing service, stunning view, very cool pool, excellent shuttle service (pickup upon request), Apple TV with strong wifi and free programs, we left very happy to say the least. If we ever come back to Bali, we would love to come back to Komaneka at Bisma.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,116 reviews
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 198 in Ubud
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#14 of 198 in Ubud
755 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 198 in Ubud
1,913 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing