We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal treatment”
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #12 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Royal treatment”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Our first trip to Bali didn't start off very well, having our private driver not show at the airport, watching a bike rider run over by a ute, and really seeing the worst of everything. We were on a low!

After arriving at Komaneka at Bisma we were still shaken and weren't about to trust anyone! That all changed within half an hour! We were given welcome drinks and cold towels, and taken to room 211.

The service is absolutely amazing, and totally genuine. And it kept getting better! The cookies were all hand made, the origami toilet paper was a nice touch to come back to every day, the fresh pyjamas on the bed every night, along with fresh rose petals, fresh water on the bedside tables, a basket which they place the TV remotes in, a beautiful quote, a fact sheet about Bali and beautiful rose petals. They even pull the corners of the bed sheets back for you! We loved the attention to detail as it made us feel so much more comfortable.

Breakfast is complimentary, but they do not scrimp out on that one! Must try the pastry basket, and the fruit platter. Everything is so fresh, they even freshly blend your fruit juice! The coffee is great, too.

Afternoon tea is complimentary every day, which is a variety of traditional cakes, and can be delivered to your room. They're even different each day!

The shuttle service is amazing, stand out drivers were Wayan and Agung who looked after us really well. The route takes you to all the places you'll be visiting in Ubud, including the markets, Ubud palace and even to Bridges restaurant which must visit!!!

The pool is fantastic, cleaned every morning before most are awake. We spent many hours in the pool and eating fresh pizza in the pool bar. When you order a pizza, a chef comes downstairs, kneads out the fresh pizza base, adds fresh ingredients and cooks it in a wood fired oven right behind you. All with a smile!

Overall we were simply amazed by the royal treatment we received, and were left on an amazing high by the time we'd left.

One word of warning, leaving the hotel is really difficult! We wanted to stay forever!

Room Tip: Views from level 1 are already great, but go higher for a better view of the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beechair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,641
    158
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
399
1,045
66
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Sadly, we are on our last night at the wonderful Komaneka at Bisma. This resort is not only gorgeous, super clean, vibrant, interesting, and incorporates all the best of Bali, it's the staff and their extra attention to detail who make Komaneka the special place it is. As just one example, we missed the shuttle service by minutes tonight on our way to town, yet someone offered to take us to our dinner destination. He then waiting to make sure we were satisfied and when it wasn't what we'd thought, he suggested and drove us to another restaurant that ended up being perfect for our family and to top it off, he offered to pick us up as well.

Another time, one of the staff noticed that my son liked strawberries so she sent a carton to our room for him. It seemed many of the staff had menorized our names, including the kids and their birthdays--absolutely incredible attention to personalization.

One thing I absolutely love here is all the foliage and the grounds, just beautiful. I cannot say enough good things about this place and recommend it wholeheartedly! Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The hotel is really special as the staff were all extremely pleasant. The duty manager ensured that all that we wanted to do in Ubud was taken care off and the drivers ensured we knew exactly where to go and what to watch out for. We were treated like royalty.
The rooms are very clean and nice with the view of the padi field and surrounding forest. If you like to rest and soak in nature, this is great place. There are 2 swimming pools. Both are nice. The one next to the spa is more secluded. The food from room service is very good as well.
Excellent staff, excellent service!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tk c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The best hotel I stayed for a long time. Service is outstanding, The rooms were so lovely decorated and the interior is fantastic. Rooms are facing the nature. Having breakfast on the balcany facing the wilderness is unbeatable. Make sure you go for a cycle trip around the hotel organized by the hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to face the jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Because we got there were really late. The manager help us upgrade to the really pretty room. The room has a relax atmosphere. I will recommend it to my friends the hotel. The staff is very kind and helpful and always has the excellent smile to anyone. The free Wi-Fi and the facilities in the room are making you think it really worth the price. The most let me want to back again is their breakfast that is unbelievable delicious and everyone should try their coffee. When I leave Bali Island, I can't forget the coffee and try write the mail to the hotel hoping can get the brand of coffee. Actually I don't think I will receive the answer when I already leave the hotel. But the manager sends the mail back soon and tells me about the coffee very detail. Thank Komaneka at Bisma for giving an unforgettable holiday during the busy life

Room Tip: breakfast coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed here in December 2011 with my wife and daughter and we had a fabulous time. We arrived late in the evening as our flight was delayed. On arrival we were presented with cold towels to freshen up and cool drinks. We were quickly shown to our room where staff went through all of the facilities with us and showed us how everything worked. Very efficient and friendly. The room was perfect. A nice seating area to watch TV and use the Apple TV with its countless movies. The beds were very comfortable and our daughters extra bed was a full size single - not a crappy fold up as you often get. The night we arrived the beds were beautifully decorated with flowers. Other nice touches in the room were the night shirts, the jar of cookies, the insect repellant, and the generous amounts of toiletries. They also provide plenty of towels.

The first thing that we noticed was that everyone knew our names, mine, my wife's and my daughters. This was everywhere we went in the hotel. We were always met with a smile and friendly greeting. Service everywhere was fantastic. The hotel have a very useful shuttle service into Ubud and on our last night we went for dinner in Bridges restaurant and they just told us to ask them to phone the hotel when we were ready. We were collected within ten minutes. Very efficient.

The food in the hotel was very good indeed. There was a wide choice of breakfasts available to set you up for the day. Breakfast is served till eleven too so there is no pressure in the mornings to be up and about too early. Afternoon tea which was served form 3 to 6 was very nice and for us it negated the need for a lunch. Dinner is also very very good. We ate in the hotel on three evenings and we were very happy with the food we received on each occasion although the restaurant was very quiet at the time we were there.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely to walk around. There are different and interesting sights and views around each corner. The hotel is set in the jungle so there are lots of insects around but this is to be expected and should not put you off in a any way.

The pool is large and very inviting. My daughter and I spent lots of time there and they have a ring and noodles for the kids to use.

On our departure we were given a gift each which was a lovely touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Ubud. It was fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dekari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The best honeymoon destination in ubud. They are set in a serene valley with paddy fields. the resort has pool villas and suites and a few very unique rooms called the tent suites. We had our original booking at the Komaneka Monkey Forest for a suite but upgraded to the Bisma which was definitely the best thing to have happened to us.
Though a little off road, the hotel has feel of completeness. Komaneka has the most amazing lobby over looking an infinity pool which is on the lowest level. The lobby has a wooden deck with a shallow pool in the center with the tranquil sound of the forest and water cascading. The hotel flows down like the rice terraces over 4 floors. A flight of stairs takes you down from the pool to the spa which is set amidst the rain forest with a stream flowing behind.
The resort has beautiful walk ways lit with small lights which are connected to every part and are secluded to give a very romantic feeling. Make sure to ask for a room on the higher floors to enjoy the view. The suites are huge and divided by a sheer curtain in 2 sections, bed and sitting area. The bathroom gives you a feel of living in a spa... With a large separate rain shower cubicle, a massive bath tub for 2, a walkin closet. The hotel does not spare any opportunity to pamper you. There are massage oils and candles scattered all over the room, balcony and the bathroom to give you a perfect honeymoon. They also provide you with a very updated entertainment system connected to an Ipod with a huge collection of movies and music.
Breakfast is a grand affair. Either chose to have it in your room if you are lazy like us or in the restaurant which is a level higher than the pool so you can sit on the outside wooden deck overlooking the pool and the forest. The variety available in breakfasts is very huge. Do not miss the fresh fruit platter to see the exotic fruits you may never have heard about.
The resort provides a very regular shuttle service to Ubud center so that you are not hassled with negotiating rates with the local Taxi drivers who are found in plenty sitting by the roadside in the main town area.
The hotel also has many activities ask the reception for assistance including biking tours, excursions, offering making, etc...
The hospitality of the staff was touching and very detailed. They take care of every requirement to make your stay memorable.
I strongly recommend the Komaneka Bisma as the place to start your new life.. Happy honeymooning!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandering-thots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 198 in Ubud
1,856 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
0.1 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 198 in Ubud
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing