We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best lodging in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #13 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best lodging in Bali”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We traveled to Bali as a family of 3 in November 2011, and loved our stay at the Komaneka Bisma. Amazing pool villa, great food, and super staff from those who greeted us to those who waited on us to those who cleaned our villa. Truly, we can not say enough good things about this hotel. Grounds are gorgeous, pools beautiful, the walkway along the river is great. We saw so many birds, butterflies, and lizards - my daughter was in heaven! Make sure to ask the staff how to walk through the fields to get to the monkey forest road shops and temple - very easy and close by.

Room Tip: The pool villas are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mangojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,610
    155
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
394
1,024
65
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed 6 nights and didn't want to leave! Very quiet with lovely views over the rice paddies but close enough to be able to walk everywhere even though they provide a free shuttle. Apple tv a bonus with lots of movies. Food was good, especially breakfast with a good selection. Loved the infinity pool. Spa was good, more expensive than others in ubud but still good value considering.. Some good places to eat in ubud; sari organik (don't miss it), naughty nuri's, lotus

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmixmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Komaneka At Bisma recently. We were greeted with lovely staff at the hotel. The room was very nicely decorated with flower petals adorning our bed. The next morning, we were presented with a lovely coffee mousse cake for our anniversary. Breakfast was not buffet style, to our pleasant surprise; we had lots of different kinds of selection to choose from. The hotel staff were very friendly, making our stay so pleasant and memorable. Indeed, this is our best and most enjoyable holiday ever. Thanks for the wonderful team of staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prisgoh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We booked the standard room at Komaneka, not a suite and it was quite an experience. The rooms themselves are excellent - when we saw the pictures we thought they looked quite "corporate hotel-like" and we were worried that we wouldn't feel like we were on a holiday, but after seeing the room in person we shouldn't have worried so much.

Komaneka Bisma was like a home away from home - all the staff (in reception, in restaurant, at pool, at spa, on the grounds) greeted us by name from the second day. Everyone was very friendly and full of advice.

The room amenities were among the best I've ever seen (and this after staying at Four Seasons in Hawaii etc) - the standard items are available but in addition we got daily mouthwash, mosquito repellant (natural *and* fully chemical in case you wanted to choose) and even daily homemade cookie refills.

The location of the Komaneka Bisma is a little bit away from the main roads of Ubud. Its about a 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants of Ubud or 5 minute drive. Komaneka offer an hourly shuttle into the centre, we found this was sufficient for getting around. Komeneka have another 2 properties in the heart of Ubud if this is more your style (Monkey Forest & Rasa Sayang).

The Komaneka Bisma grounds are amazing, incorporating your own local rice paddies on site and a great infinity pool (the poolside lounges have mosquito repellent and after sun spray at each one). You can go running along the river, or take a nice walk through the grounds.

All in all, a great experience at a lovely hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: If booking a normal room (i.e. not a private suite with a pool) try to get a room on Level 4 - this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nattiwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We spent an amazing 9 nights for our Honeymoon in a One Bedroom Pool Villa. We originally booked for 6 nights, but loved our stay so much we didn't want to leave, so we cancelled our next hotel booking and stayed an extra 3 nights.

We had our first experience of VIP arrival, arranged through the hotel and it was fantastic, so easy. We were collected through the hotel car service and my hubby enjoyed a cold bintang, as we set off for Ubud in airconditioned comfort.

Check-in was quick and easy and we were escorted to our villa on the chapel side. It was all far more beautiful than we remembered (we had a peak at one during our last stay), the view was fantastic and totally uninterrupted. Outside you have a mini kitchen area with fridge and tea making facilities, cutlery, et. al. with a small bench and sink. A daybed, small dining table and 2 chairs and 2 sunloungers on the decking area. The pools are tiled, infinity edge and wonderfully long. I really love the layout inside the villa, it flows really well and the door from the outside deck to inside the bathroom is really handy. Air-conditioning was so cold we had to ask for a blanket! Would love to see a pillow-menu introduced for extra comfort.

As a coeliac on a gluten free diet with a dairy allergy, I was truly indulged with gluten free bread and soy milk at breakfast, special treats for afternoon tea and fantastic choices for dinner. We also enjoyed the Red Light Special dinner in our villa which was amazing, they decorate it so beautifully, it's worth every cent and they made me a special soy milk pannacotta for dessert. We also had a Candlelight dinner in the restaurant which you must do for a real Balinese food experience! It was so yummy! They also made me some special crisps as I couldn't eat the appetizer offered with dinner. I never felt like I was missing out. It's my best gluten and dairy free travel experience to date and I think very hard to beat! The cooks, chefs and restaurant staff are truly amazing, we wanted for nothing and the service was outstanding.

We enjoyed the relaxing ambience and facilities, I highly recommend trying the spa for fantastic massages, they offer soft, medium or hard and my hubby and I both agreed you received what you requested. My favourite was the Herbal Body Scrub and my hubby's was the Energising Massage. The spa rooms are overlooking the river and it's a truly relaxing experience. They even repainted my nails for a small charge after I had a bad manicure outside the hotel.

The shuttle service can be occasionally unreliable, we had one instance where there was a long delay and we waited about 40 minutes due to a ceremony, but overall we had no major problems. I think you need to consider how hard it can be with traffic and ritual ceremonies to keep to the schedule, and remember that it's free.

We did the cycling tour and really enjoyed the perspective of the villiages and houses this gave us. The equipment was all in excellent condition and our guide was very helpful and informative. I liked that it was only for a few hours, it was perfect.

The apple TV has the occasional blip and it seems the box is overheating so we slipped the leather guide underneath the front of it to help cool underneath it and we didn't need to have it reset again (we had it reset twice a few days into our stay). I think if they put the apple tv box on a small open stand to allow airflow, guests will experience less issues. It's minor, my partner was able to continue watching a movie from where he left off after it was fixed and they fix it very quickly.

We were so well cared for and very spoilt by all the wonderful staff. I could share all the little surprises, but you must simply come and experience it for yourself.

Still dreaming about our wonderful honeymoon! Thank you to all the fabulous staff at Bisma who welcomed us back, truly pampered us and made us feel at home. We'll be back again soon.

Room Tip: The pool villas are great for couples, and those with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
speers point
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We/ve been twice this year 7 are going again in Feb.
When we departed on Dec 23, we were given xmas gifts from the management.
Every time you return from a day out, you are welcomed with "welcome back home".
The staff are fantastic, the resort is the right size with only 47 rooms.
Even at full capacity, you still felt like the only ones there.
The property outlay is terrific as it encourages plenty of healthy walking, or you can use the lift.
The attention to detail is a major highlight.
From the twice daily servicing of the room, to the bed being turned down, to the slippers & nightwear being placed on the bed, & the top up of the fruit bowl & biscuits..... it has it all.
Al a carte breakky & complimentary afternoon tea caps off perfection.
There was really no limit as to what we were able to order with regards additional fruit, drinks, extras.
To illustrate the little extras that sre included, We had to check out at 12, but were offered all facilities, & afternoon tea, & tea, coffee etc until our departure at 6.30pm

Staying in Ubud is a must.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Our first trip to Bali didn't start off very well, having our private driver not show at the airport, watching a bike rider run over by a ute, and really seeing the worst of everything. We were on a low!

After arriving at Komaneka at Bisma we were still shaken and weren't about to trust anyone! That all changed within half an hour! We were given welcome drinks and cold towels, and taken to room 211.

The service is absolutely amazing, and totally genuine. And it kept getting better! The cookies were all hand made, the origami toilet paper was a nice touch to come back to every day, the fresh pyjamas on the bed every night, along with fresh rose petals, fresh water on the bedside tables, a basket which they place the TV remotes in, a beautiful quote, a fact sheet about Bali and beautiful rose petals. They even pull the corners of the bed sheets back for you! We loved the attention to detail as it made us feel so much more comfortable.

Breakfast is complimentary, but they do not scrimp out on that one! Must try the pastry basket, and the fruit platter. Everything is so fresh, they even freshly blend your fruit juice! The coffee is great, too.

Afternoon tea is complimentary every day, which is a variety of traditional cakes, and can be delivered to your room. They're even different each day!

The shuttle service is amazing, stand out drivers were Wayan and Agung who looked after us really well. The route takes you to all the places you'll be visiting in Ubud, including the markets, Ubud palace and even to Bridges restaurant which must visit!!!

The pool is fantastic, cleaned every morning before most are awake. We spent many hours in the pool and eating fresh pizza in the pool bar. When you order a pizza, a chef comes downstairs, kneads out the fresh pizza base, adds fresh ingredients and cooks it in a wood fired oven right behind you. All with a smile!

Overall we were simply amazed by the royal treatment we received, and were left on an amazing high by the time we'd left.

One word of warning, leaving the hotel is really difficult! We wanted to stay forever!

Room Tip: Views from level 1 are already great, but go higher for a better view of the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beechair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
996 reviews
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
1,746 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Destinology, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing