We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously good hotel”
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #13 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Seriously good hotel”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

There might be better hotels in Ubud but I doubt it. If you're looking for peace and pampering after the bustle and crowds in southern Bali then this is probably the place for you. The suites are beautifully fitted out in local hardwoods and ceramics, the views of the lush vegetation are second to none, service is highly professional and the pool is excellent.
My only quibbles would be: (1) the food, which is okay but frankly not commensurate with a hotel in this price range; and (2) the shuttle service into central Ubud, which can be erratic - all the hotels drop guests off at the same place and as they tend to use the same type of transport, it can be difficult to spot your car when you want to return to the Hotel, not least because the Hotel's cars do not to display the Komaneka at Bisma's name (why?).
One tip: if you agree to take a tour of the local villages around Ubud with a driver from the hotel, make sure you know what you want to do beforehand. Don't be browbeaten into following the driver's suggestions as they may have a different agenda (and tastes) to yours. Ours just wanted to get us into specific shops, possibly because he got commission from them. Further he chose the tackiest paddy field view imaginable - unless you like tourist tat and crowds, avoid the village of Ceking even though it's quite close.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms immediately overlooking the main swimming pool if you are sensitive to noise during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky_Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,623
    157
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
398
1,030
65
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

After staying in many hotels in Ubud,
I personally think that this hotel is the best in many ways.

The location is in the centre of Ubud.
The view is a combination of rice terrace, jungle and river view.
The artworks are superb.
Staff are so friendly and helpful.

Thanks to Dek Sri, our new friend that help us getting everything we needs.
Perfect Double Macchiato, Nice juices and options of combo breakfast.

Will be back here soon...

Room Tip: Ask for the Fourth Floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timjahja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Although the resort is near the center of Ubud, it is hidden and tucked away from the hustle and bustle. The scenery from our balcony was breathtaking, overlooking a private rice terrace. We were pleasantly surprised by the rose petals and plumeria that were arranged on the beds, as well as the beautifully scented wash towels that were offered when we arrived. If you are looking for serenity and some rest and relaxation, this is the place to go. We enjoyed the pool area, listening to the sounds of the flowing creek below and the surrounding birds nearby.

Breakfast was delicious, and the service was great.

We had a lovely experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ListyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our second stay at a Komaneka resort. They do it so well! The location of Bisma is excellent. I preferred it Tangayuda. We stayed in a Pool Villa overlooking the valley and the setting was magical. The staff are extremely helpful and the shuttle bus in and out of Ubud is such a great service. The only thing I would say in the negative it the food could be improved slightly for a hotel of this quality. It isn't terrible but it isn't superb. Luckily all that Ubud has to offer isn't far away so you can dine out most meals.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToTheWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We upgraded to the Bisma for the last 2 days of our stay in Bali. The Bisma did not disappoint. The hotel was everthing we had expected. The staff was very friendly and helpful with our needs. Whenever we returned from a day trip, they greeted us with "welcome home", and that's what it felt like. The rooms were huge and the water pressure in the shower was awesome! We were on the second floor which gave a great view of the rice fields.

The breakfast in the morning was also good, we had the eggs benny every morning. The service was quick and the staff were attentive. The view from the restaurant was great as it gave the feeling of being away from the busy town.

If you decide to walk to the monkey forest or Ubud, it is about 15 minutes from the short cut and you will need to walk down the unpaved farm road. The walk was interesting and we are glad we make the trek. There is also an "alley" that is wedge between 2 buildings that is no wider than 3 feet, just be care ful and watch out for scooters as the road is actively used to get to the retreats.

We did not get to try the restaurants around the Bisma but I am sure they are very good.

We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Bali.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arcticakitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for our honeymoon in a 4th floor bisma suite. Arrived very late (after midnight) and were greeted at reception by name, and still given all the welcoming drinks and towels. Our room and bathtub was filled with rose petals, and there was a wonderful honeymoon cake and personally signed card from the hotel. A wonderful start to a wonderful stay.

The room was well appointed with not a thing left to want. We loved the sunhats, insect repellant, nightgowns, thongs and all the bathroom amenities. The balcony provided full afternoon sun when the pool was in shade and we spent many late afternoons on the loungers reading as the sun went down.
The pool is fantastic, clear and relaxing with the most serene views of the rice paddies and jungle.
We enjoyed breakfast and afternoon tea daily, and service from all staff was impeccable and friendly. There were daily activities for guests and we took up the offer of complimentary 1.5 hr yoga, which was very professional and a nice break from the pool for us.

The shuttle into town was very convenient, and they even dropped and picked up from locations not on the shuttle map if required. I recommend getting dropped at the end of the street (Jl Bisma) and walking across the road and through the rice fields to a little restaurant called Sari Organik. A highlight of our time in Ubud.

The only thing we were left wanting for was a happy hour, as there was a lovely bar at the lobby but not very busy.

I thoroughly recommend the Komaneka hotels for visitors to Ubud. It is very nice to be able to stay in a hotel that is owned and run by a family from Ubud (albeit a very wealthy one), as it offers a much more Balinese and heartfelt experience than a Hilton or Hyatt chain hotel. Entry to the Neka museum was complimentary for guests and we enjoyed learning a bit about the history of the family and Balinese art.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skinnyflatwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We are a couple that have have first booked at Komaneka at Tanggayuda for one week during August 2013.
After the disappointment from our suite there (see my review for Komaneka at Tanggayuda) they have transferred us at Komaneka at Bisma.

(+)Our suite was what we have dreamed of. Very nice view of the forest as well as of paddies. Very spacious and nicely furnished. Very clean, always we had fresh fruits and water in the room. The staff is very polite, the shuttle service is very convenient.
We loved the coffee time in the afternoon as well as the spa service.
We also has a very difficult day from food poisoning from a local restaurant and the staff was very helpful.

(-)The breakfast could be better. We had to select from menu. No buffet so no variety. If you stay there for one week as we did you get a little bored.
The wi-fi connection was not good at the hotel. We could do only basic things.
We would definitely return at Komaneka at Bisma!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Property: Komaneka at Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing