We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and very pleasant”
Review of Komaneka at Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Komaneka at Bisma
Ranked #18 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I wanted to stay away from beach cheers and get relaxed. I chose Ubud for that reason and also chose Komaneka at Bisma to stay away from the busy Monkey Forest street.

My choice was perfect. The staff were extremely friendly and cordial. They remembered our names, room numbers and what kind of allergy reaction I have with food. The room preparation was perfect. We stayed the hotel all the time except optional tours we took.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebinori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,919)
There are newer reviews for Komaneka at Bisma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,919 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

after Tanggayuda Komaneka, we stayed 2 nights at Bisma. Guests have different
views and here is mine:

positive: the view from our one bedroom-pool-Villa was amazing. They view into
the valley directly from your 12-meters long pool. Great. The bed is very comfortable.
The Lobby is of minimalist design and very clean in shapes and design.

negative: the location of the hotel is not as nice as I thought. Actually, behind our
expensive pool-villa are constructions going on and also some other smaller Bungalows
are built not 50 meters away. If you like drum-bass and Techno Sound from one house
not 100 meters away , you should book now our room (I forgot the number...). No sleep
until 3am , great. Next day we told the issue to the reception and they said we should
call them once it happens again. Gladly, the party guy Kind of Drummer was probably
out of town the night then , good for us so we could sleep.
the AC is not strong enough to cool down the huge room.
Komaneka is owned by Balinese managment and owners and I apprecaite what they have
created but you cannot comapre it to maintain a Standard of smaller luxury chains.
From the Restaurant you have a fantastic view towards the valley, the "Hotel Rice-field"
and the nice designed pool and if you look to the left from the Terrasse , you can see all
32 rooms on a 4-storey building (8 rooms per floor) , nicely integrated into the lush green
but it is absolutely not what we expected to see....
Sorry to say, it was not "our" paradise and was built for putting as many people (=tourists) together in limited space. Good for the cash of the share-holders/owners but not for honeymooners....
Oh yes, we had to wait nearly two hours to get the villa after arrival (at least we got a lunch
for free but that is not what we liked as the villa is expensive).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank topofthetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for 4d3n with my wife at this stunning komaneka resort in ubud. We enjoyed the Christmas Eve dinner at their restaurant and special dance performance( the performers are their hotel staffs!! Super talented and amazing performance).

Room: we stayed in the suite room with an amazingly large size balcony (equipped with 2 sun beds, a dining table) the view is stunning. room has large bathroom with separate rain shower and bathtub. Very clean and new room. Apple TV with movies and music preloaded is great. King size bed is comfy the only issue is that the blanket they provided is kinda thin thus it's get pretty cold at night

Location: free shuttle service ( to & fro)every hour to neka museum ( free entry for guest and opposite naughty nuri's warung) , ubud center and komameka monkey forest. Hotel is accessible by 15 mins walk to the main road. Very accessible to ubud shopping and dining area

Service: very good service , deserve 6 stars . All staffs with good command of English and always service with a smile. They will take initiative to ask if they can help us in anything . My wife love their welcome drink and they gave her for free on our second night

Breakfast: stunning view from the restaurant on first floor overlooking pool and fields . Breakfast (several menu to choose from) quality is great the only thing need to improve is guest will prefer to have warmer food being served. Balinese music was played during breakfast - great!

Resort area: they have a jogging trail around the hotel passing by the chapel (for wedding) , villa area, padi field , river , suite room and the main restaurant and lobby block

Spa: good spa with great non-air con couple spa room overlooking the river, it's great for those who enjoy spa treatment in an environment closed to the nature with sound of river water and birds chirping .

Pros: great price with 6 stars service , stunning location and view(the environment has a unique ubud touch and ambience) ,great breakfast

Cons: wifi speed / connection needs improvement , we encounter a few blackout throughout out the hotel but it was dealt with quickly . Swimming pool is noisy in the evening as there are kids jumping into the pool ( it can be kinda disturbing to other pool user)

Verdicts: if you want to experience true ubud resort experience with 6* service quality and prefer to have an option to stay in suite or villa . Komaneka bisma won't disappoint you.

Recommended : couple , small family

Room Tip: All suite room has good view of greenery (padi field) and swimming pool
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satjexon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My stay at Komaneka bisma was excellent and I gotta say it is one of the best hotel in Ubud, Bali. In terms of service, the staff were very coordinated and polite, they also go the extra miles for you to ensure you enjoy your stay there. The rooms (I stayed at the suites) were very nice and the view from the room was just refreshing and breathtaking as you can see the forest and rice fields directly from your balcony. The swimming pool and surrounding were very transquil and perfect for a relaxing holiday. In terms of location, it is very near to Ubud center and you have shuttles that can send you there. I would definitely recommend Komaneka Bisma those you want to stay in Ubud. Certainly one of Ubud's jewel. You also get a complimentary pass to Neka Art Museum.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjl_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Loved the Komaneka at Bisma for its commanding views of the verdant foliage and beautiful sunset, its relaxing pool and the amazingly nice and accommodating staff. The staff gave my son a birthday surprise -- a big chocolate cake and a birthday song -- at breakfast after I told one of the waitresses the night before that we were in Bali to celebrate his special day. They even presented us a framed photo they took of him blowing out the candles. Such a thoughtful gesture. They also accommodate any dietary restriction.The hotel manager, Surya Nata, welcomed our feedback and went out of the way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Probably the best hotel manager I have come across in my travels. The hotel has its quirks and may not be as polished as the Four Seasons or St Regis in Bali, but its uniqueness makes it stand out. You really do feel that you are in Bali -- it's beautiful grounds, the Balinese touches to its design and architecture and more importantly the warmth and hospitality. I have been to Bali more than 10 times and stayed at the Four Seasons and St Regis. Komaneka at Bisma ranks among the best. I would highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChempakaBiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at Komaneka Bisma for 3 nights with our 2 teenagers.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa which was absolutely beautiful!! It was big enough for the 4 of us with the adults upstairs and the kids downstairs. The villa was stunning with a magnificent bathroom upstairs and wonderful views of the surrounding jungle and rice fields. The Area where the hotel is situated is very authentic and just a short stroll along the back road to the main street. This was our favourite place during our 10 day stay in Bali and the attention to detail from all the staff was wonderful. Thankyou for a lovely stay!!

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas are amazing with your own pool and wonderful outdoor area.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonnie2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is my 2nd (and longer) stay at Komaneka, Ubud, Bali. This time, I brought my extended family for 5D4N stay at the 3-room villa in Dec 2013.

If Tripadvisor has a 6-star rating, I wouldn't hesitate much in awarding it.

Consistently over our entire stay, the staff whom we interacted with (even briefly) at the resort - housekeeping, restaurant, spa, reception, porters, kitchen (yes, even that) were obliging, friendly, almost always smiling. What struck me was the unassuming attention they gave to both big AND small details as well as the initiative shown which larger, more sophisticated hotels (even the 5 stars) might not come quite close to. For example, the restaurant staff anticipated what diners needed. All requests we made were quickly carried out. When it started to drizzle, a lady staff nearby offered to get the buggy to fetch us (the 3-room villa is located at the most private, albeit furthest end of the row of accommodation). In a nutshell, I literally experienced the extensive effort invested to help guests feel that the resort is like their "second home".

Three points to highlight:

1. If you are staying at the Ubud resort for more than 2 days, it's a good idea to enlist the reception's assistance to arrange for you to have breakfast at other Komaneka resorts. We had a wonderful breakfast at Komaneka Tanggayuda (a mere 20 min drive away in the free resort shuttle).

2. I don't have negative feedback, except perhaps for the minor problem with the Apple TV console in one of the rooms (for service staff's attention: Room 1013 - could only view movies with titles starting from A to D).

3. For guests with young children or non-swimmers, for safety, please check the depth of the in-villa swimming pool before jumping into one. I'd also have appreciated a standard swimming pool grab pole / ladder (there was none and this made it difficult for me to get out of the pool).

Summing it up: We will be back.

Room Tip: The largest accommodation (3-room villa) is located furthest from the resort lobby/restaurant. About...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 199 in Ubud
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 199 in Ubud
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komaneka at Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komaneka at Bisma

Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Business Hotel in Ubud
#11 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#17 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £151 - £953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Komaneka at Bisma 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komaneka at Bisma Located in the heart of Ubud, The Resort allows you to make the most of your extraordinary luxury stay. Combines with breathtaking spaces and hospitality to create grand moment to makes you feels at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Komaneka at Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komaneka At Bisma Hotel Ubud
Komaneka At Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing